Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is Rich Storytelling By A Fine Author
I loved this short story. Extremely fulfilling. I haven't read a short story for a long time that was as effective as Fire In The Sky, by Joel Goldman and I do a lot of reading. This is highly recommended for readers who want to leave behind their daily grind. A +
Published on October 13, 2011 by glen cantrell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a short quick read!
This short stirs up the feelings of a young man within that wants to break free and run in glorious freedom!
A challenge to what life could be!
Published 19 months ago by John Churchill


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is Rich Storytelling By A Fine Author, October 13, 2011
This review is from: Fire In The Sky (Kindle Edition)
I loved this short story. Extremely fulfilling. I haven't read a short story for a long time that was as effective as Fire In The Sky, by Joel Goldman and I do a lot of reading. This is highly recommended for readers who want to leave behind their daily grind. A +
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joel Goldman can write!, May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fire In The Sky (Kindle Edition)
Whether it is a full-length novel or a short story, Joel Goldman can write. This is a short tale of two teenagers in depression-era Kansas City who go to the Electric Park every night to see the girls pose in the fountain. This particular night a fire breaks out and the question is posed as to who has the balls to do something. The writing is crisp and this is no more than a ten minute read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good!, January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fire In The Sky (Kindle Edition)
24 pages of excitement. By no means Goldman's best work, but a solid story nonetheless. Set in the depression, it's a quick but purposeful tale of youth, chance taking, and repeated mistakes. While a bit predictable, it's worth the read and the dollar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROSE colored glasses, December 28, 2013
This review is from: Fire In The Sky (Kindle Edition)
This was very entertaining reflection on the young at heart with a youthful vision. Some think that their hopes & dreams can be fulfilled through love and money.....that is until both run out! Left me with a void because I wanted more!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fire In The Sky by Joel Goldman, December 19, 2012
This review is from: Fire In The Sky (Kindle Edition)
The book makes an interesting read, having it seem like the two young men are out for a good time. But then comes the page-turner. The suspense builds when the shooting starts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to a new-to-me author, November 1, 2014
By 
col2910 (Bedfordshire,UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fire In The Sky (Kindle Edition)
My take......

In case it has escaped anyone’s attention, I am shamelessly padding the numbers with a lot of short fiction in order to try and hit my year end reading target of 120 books of various lengths and types. Another new author then in Joel Goldman, a three time Edgar Award nominee and the co-founder of Brash Books.

Fire in the Sky………is a short (obviously) tale set in a small town in America during the depression. Goldman packs a lot into this tale…….. friendship, lust, desire, fair-grounds, stunted prospects, bank robbers, a children’s home, fire, panic, gun play, hospitals, death and in a satisfying conclusion, a seizure of opportunity and the prospects of a brighter future as our adolescent hero takes a giant step towards manhood.

Possibly a missed chance here by Goldman as I kind of feel there was enough of a storyline going on that it deserved a longer treatment. That said a great introduction to another new-to-me author.

4 from 5

Joel Goldman’s website is here. http://www.joelgoldman.com/

You can acquire this story free by signing up to his newsletter, which is how I happened by it. Definitely an author I’ll read more from in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fire in the Sky, February 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fire In The Sky (Kindle Edition)
The story was fairly entertaining and managed to hold my interest enough to read it in two afternoons! I might recommend it to friends who like mysteries!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a short quick read!, May 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fire In The Sky (Kindle Edition)
This short stirs up the feelings of a young man within that wants to break free and run in glorious freedom!
A challenge to what life could be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, January 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fire In The Sky (Kindle Edition)
Exciting and well-written story. I enjoy the author and he presents the story characters well. Looking forward to more of the author's imaginations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fire In The Sky (Kindle Edition)
Love this author and am always intrigued by the story lines. Would definitely recommend if you like detective stories and suspense
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fire In The Sky
Fire In The Sky by Joel Goldman
$0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.