Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Corny & predictable, but still funny
I think the best way to see this film is to know they had fun making it, producing it and to get something out of it like the commentary says: "...they will be studying this for years to come at USC film school..."

Let's get all of the hate mail out of the way. Yes - the leads are all over 30, yes - it is another dang cheer film, yes - it has nothing new to add...
Published on June 4, 2009 by Steve Kuehl

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stupid, not stupid funny
There's sort of a stupidty meter with movies like this. There's smart funny, where the humor is good, well pointed, some kind of redeeming quality to them (Canadian Bacon, Wayne's World / Wayne's World 2, come to mind). Then there's the movies that are so bad, so offensive, that they are funny (Dude, Where's My Car?, National Lampoon's Van Wilder, for example). Then...
Published on June 14, 2009 by Daniel G. Lebryk


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Corny & predictable, but still funny, June 4, 2009
This review is from: Fired Up (Unrated Version) (DVD)
I think the best way to see this film is to know they had fun making it, producing it and to get something out of it like the commentary says: "...they will be studying this for years to come at USC film school..."

Let's get all of the hate mail out of the way. Yes - the leads are all over 30, yes - it is another dang cheer film, yes - it has nothing new to add to the comedy plate this year, and so on. But I still got some good laughs out of it and plenty of fit people to look at. The main thing that struck me was the chemistry between the two main actors, they were actually believable and funny. The supporting cast had some great moments, especially John Michael Higgins as Coach Keith and Philip Baker Hall as Coach Byrnes - they both showed awesome chops in doing their corny roles.

The film quality was excellent, the sound was a fun 5.1 and the impressive long-takes actually looked good. Whether you love or hate this film, that one take when the crew arrives at camp showcasing the 178 ladies on the steps - was impressive. The unrated is only a few seconds longer and contains some nice (and natural) upper body nudity in the night swimming sequence.

The special features give this 2.5 star film the last 1.5. There is a 15 minute making-of, a 7 minute clip on the "stunting" involved, and 8 minutes of unrated outtakes - which if anything are hilarious because of those damn peacocks. The quick press junket shows Eric Olsen in meltdown mode and the commentary with the director and two leads is worth it. Even if to hear little tidbits on how the main cast got each other sick from the kissing scenes or how everything was actually filmed in LA and not in Hinsdale.

Plenty of people hate this film, but I fell into the category of liking it and laughing. I suppose it will be mandatory for the cheer fans out there, but this will actually keep the guys interested also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oscar Snub, thy Name is Fired Up!, December 20, 2012
This review is from: Fired Up (Unrated Version) (DVD)
Few films rival Goodfellas, On the Water Front, or Raging Bull...

Only one movie blows them out of the water. That movie is Fired Up!

Never before has a director captured the spirit of American film like writer and director Will Gluck does in this underrated tale of teenage angst, the dark side of American cheerleading, the consequences of dating pre-med students, and the hidden code of American cheer.

An instant classic that transcends time and space, Fired Up! is an emotionally charged whipsaw exploring the chaotic lives of high school sports stars Shawn Colfax and Nick Brady. Eric Christian Olson, who plays Brady, mesmerizes audiences with his thespian range, magically evolving into a hormone-charged teenager who questions not only his lot in life, but also the depths of his sexuality when he meets Downey.

The best supporting actor role of 2009 should have definitely been given to David Watson for his epic portrayal of Dr. Rick. This performance was so translucent that the manuerisms and monologues will most definitely be studied by students at Tisch School at NYU for generations.

I wish the universe were larger so that I could give this film infinite stars. Just thinking of the performances by Phillip Baker Hall and John Michael Higgins moves my soul in a way that no touch of another human being ever could. If you don't buy this film for yourself, then you are cheating yourself out of an experience that only sex on a chocolate waterfall with Zues himself could rival.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm not a teenager but I love teen movies., October 24, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fired Up (Unrated Version) (DVD)
This one is a good one! I watched it on a plane and had to buy it so I could watch it properly. If you like 'Bring it on', this is a must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun movie give it a chance., January 13, 2010
By 
Edward Cullen "EC" (New York City,New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fired Up (Unrated Version) (DVD)
Believe me when I saw the commercials for this film I was like "pass", but when it came out on dvd i saw it on netflix and was surprise how good and funny it was and it didn't look like one of those stupid low budget movies,fired up is simple two guys in high school go to cheerleading camp to hook up with as many girls as possible in what results to lots of jokes and crazy cheerleading and thats about it believe this is still a good movie to watch,you'll have fun with it till the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly funny and well-made., June 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My friends and I love this movie. It's really hard to explain why though. How do you "sell" the plot of "2 high school jocks go to cheerleader camp" without making it sound terrible? But the movie is funny, the dialog is sharp, the comedic timing is spot on, and the acting is good. A good movie for some mindless fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectively hilarious, July 10, 2009
This review is from: Fired Up (Unrated Version) (DVD)
This isn't your basic cheerleading movie. This movie pokes fun at cheerleading and show 2 guys doing what ever man dreams of.. pulling cheerleader after cheerleader at a cheer camp. It's a little cliche and pretty predictable but the different adventures that these 2 guys get into within the camp are awesome..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheerleader heaven!, June 21, 2009
By 
D. Roberts "Hadrian12" (Battle Creek, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fired Up (Unrated Version) (DVD)
2 playboy football players decide that they will go to cheerleader camp to have what Maverick in Top Gun (Widescreen Special Collector's Edition) would call a "target rich environment" from which to score with young babes with hot bodies. Plus, they'd really like to skip out on 2-a-day-practices at football camp. So, they "join" the all-female cheerleading squad from their school in order to punch their ticket to the cheerleader camp.

Unfortunately (not to mention predictably), the head cheerleader (Sarah Roemer) guesses their true motivations for wanting to go to cheerleader camp, and she's very distrustful of them. Roemer is not the hottest babe in the flick, but she does have a good on-screen charisma.

The cheerleading scenes in the movie were pretty impressive, especially as they turned actors into cheerleaders, rather than the other-way-around. While they used some stunt personnel from time-to-time, much of the cheerleading is pretty authentic. Eric Christian Olsen & Nicholas D'Agosto are both athletic enough to pull of their roles without coming across as fakers.

There are a few holes in the plot. First off, this is supposed to be a film about high school kids, but the whole flick had more of a college-aged feel to it. For starters, at the beginning of the movie they have a football intra-squad scrimmage. I don't know of any HS in the country that holds Spring football practices! That is 100% a college thing. If they had simply said that they went to a college instead of a HS it would've been far more believable.

The timeline is also off, even if we are to overlook the HS Spring football issue. Ostensibly within a matter of weeks after the scrimmage is the cheerleader camp, and it's supposed to be @ the same time as football camp. Having a cheerleader camp during the middle of the summer is plausible, but having a (team) football camp during the summer is not. Football camp (and I'm not talking about college mini-camps for recruits here) starts in August. Hence, that did not add up.

Of course, this is probably too much nit-picking for a movie that's meant to just plain be fun. On the upside, this was the funniest & funnest party movie I've seen in quite some time. It had 2 of the main characteristics I look for in party movies; it was humorous & it left me with a good feeling when the closing credits started to roll. If it had scored higher on the skin-o-meter (sadly, we only see one cheerleader topless) it would have been a perfect 5 stars! In any case, if you're anything like me & you believe utopia = a universe ruled by omnipotent cheerleaders, then this flick is for YOU!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stupid, not stupid funny, June 14, 2009
This review is from: Fired Up (Unrated Version) (DVD)
There's sort of a stupidty meter with movies like this. There's smart funny, where the humor is good, well pointed, some kind of redeeming quality to them (Canadian Bacon, Wayne's World / Wayne's World 2, come to mind). Then there's the movies that are so bad, so offensive, that they are funny (Dude, Where's My Car?, National Lampoon's Van Wilder, for example). Then there's a whole bunch of movies in the middle, not hilarious, not stupid funny, but just kind of funny - well there's where we land with Fired Up. Middle of the road. There's funny moments, there's some pretty girls, and there's a funny plot.

Two high school football players, who happen to be the school players, are tired of their prospects for chicks. They get the bright idea that cheerleader camp would be a place to score 300 new chicks, all in one place at one time. How cool is that? So they become cheerleaders and go to camp. They score. But really they fall in love with two cheerleaders, and they help the cheerleading squad out. And everyone lives happily ever after. It's that sweet.

What's this unrated monkey business? The theatrical version was rated PG-13. Almost every bit of humor is related to sex in some way. So I have no idea how they dodged the R rating in theaters. At any rate, there is exactly one scene, the skinny dipping scene where a really gorgeous girl removes her swimsuit top (total time maybe 10 seconds), that puts this at R rating. Mind you it's a scene that should have been in the movie to start with, and there actually should have been many more of those kinds of scenes. Actually there's a fairly lame scene of two girls kissing, maybe the MPAA wouldn't have liked that. No there's no shower scenes, no raids in the middle of the night while the girls sleep...none of those things at all.

Production wise - no idea why anyone would really care? It's very poorly shot. The editing is not good. The surround sound - virtually absent or the soundstage was totally flat and lifeless. There is absolutely nothing here that a television hack crew couldn't have accomplished in their sleep. But none of that makes a difference, this is a silly summer movie.

Acting - virtually everyone is an unknown, relatively new actor, or deep on the B/C acting list. It was a little hard for me to beleive that these two dunder heads were that hot and popular with the women. They are OK, they are reasonably funny, but they weren't these amazing guys. The girls are pretty, no question there, well worth watching. Jokes are well delivered and hit punch lines about right.

The bonus features are super lame. No they are down right awful. That 8 minutes of the cast saying the f word, just plain old and dumb. Nothing funny there. That 12th hour of the publicity tour - that was so scripted and lame. The blonde guy going off, totally a scripted and badly acted moment. No skip them completely, no reason to stop there. I think there are about 100 trailers for other films.

Not a strong recommendation. Not a stinker. You know who you are that will enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe it or not, I really liked this movie! NO SPOILERS, February 13, 2012
This review is from: Fired Up! (Amazon Instant Video)
I watched this movie right afterCollege which I thought was a terrible movie. I expected the same out of this one. Boy was I wrong! It is a little predictable, but actually funny! There are a lot of classic and very funny quips and lines, I was laughing hysterically in some parts. The humor to me is slightly above pre-teen "potty and sex" comedy which is so prevalent in movies like this (American Pie 3 Movie Pie Pack: The Franchise Collection (Unrated) comes to mind as a good example of a series which I found atrocious). The acting is very good for some unknowns, the comedic timing top notch, and you could tell that the actors were having a really good time and lots of fun making the film. There is very little in the movie of what I call "raunchy" humor, and I wouldn't be averse to letting my kids watch it because the context of it is usually "pun-ny" or in laughable taste. You can enjoy this movie as a family, as the adults and the kids will both find things to laugh about; the situations and the lines display elements of both slapstick and intellectual comedy! So, park yourself in front of the TV, pop in the DVD and enjoy! You will definitely feel better after watching this movie, which to me is what makes a movie worth watching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I am fired up about this movie, September 16, 2009
I was not expecting a lot when I rented this movie, but I was pleasantly surprised. It was a light and very funny comedy and I highly recommend it for a fun hour and a half.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fired Up!
Fired Up! by Will Gluck
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.