Customer Reviews


176 Reviews
5 star:
 (162)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


121 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't stop the Signal.
This book is one long love letter to a series that has changed people's lives so much over the past ten years that it has gone beyond a simple fandom and become in many cases, a philosophy, a way of life. Despite lasting only thirteen episodes and one movie, the name Firefly has become synonymous with beautiful things struck down before their time, with an enduring love,...
Published 23 months ago by Ghavranek

versus
15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Content, bad construction
While the information and images in the book are exactly what I was hoping for, Within an hour of having the book, the cover fell off.The book is far too large for the way the cover was attached (it seems to only be glued on). I am seriously considering contacting Amazon or the Publisher to request a replacement....

But in regards to being the "Browncoat...
Published 17 months ago by steve


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

121 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't stop the Signal., October 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Firefly: A Celebration (Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
This book is one long love letter to a series that has changed people's lives so much over the past ten years that it has gone beyond a simple fandom and become in many cases, a philosophy, a way of life. Despite lasting only thirteen episodes and one movie, the name Firefly has become synonymous with beautiful things struck down before their time, with an enduring love, and most of all, with a want to live life simply, unfettered by unjust authority.
The book itself is amazing to see. With it's look-a-like leather binding, its large, glossy, full color pages, it looks and feels more like an encyclopedia than a book dedicated to a TV show ten years gone. The physical beauty however is far out-shined by the content contained within. I had never previously seen the three books that have been collected into this one volume, and I have to say, all the information within them is amazing. Having all of the episodes scripts is amazing, made even better by the little side bars in each detailing little know facts about a certain character or scene. They truly make you want to watch all the episodes while following along in the scripts, and seeing if you can spot this or that. The list goes on and on, from closeups of all the shows weapons, props and costumes, to interviews with the cast, and discussions of the inspiration behind certain episodes or scenes, this is now the de facto Browncoat bible.
This book is an amazing addition to any Browncoat collection, be them a hardcore collector, or someone new to the 'Verse who's never flown on a Firefly before. This book is proof that we have done the impossible, and continue to do so, even almost a decade after the airwaves have forgotten Serenity and her crew, and the pitter pater of tiny feet in huge combat boots has since faded into the black; After all, you can never stop the signal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shiny!, October 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Firefly: A Celebration (Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
This book is a must have for anyone who considers themselves a serious Firefly fan.

It's bound in a sort of brown leatherette. It looks like the Browncoat Bible! This book is a re-working of 3 books; Firefly: The Official Companion (volumes 1 and 2), and Firefly: Still Flying, plus additional material. But having them altogether like this is really special. It's over 500 heavy pages of script, production photos, incredible promotional photos, archival quality images and closeups of props and costumes, development sketches, interviews and quotes from Joss, all of the actors, and many of the production team. And as a bonus in the back pocket a collection of fantastic photos of the stars and even a replica of the Chinese currency as used in the show.

These people really put a lot of thought, time, and dare I say love into creating this book. I am a huge fan of science fiction, as well as film making, conceptual art, prop creation, etc. My favorite coffee table books from my personal collection include From Star Wars to Indiana Jones: The Best of the Lucasfilm Archive, the Art of Star Trek, the 3 Art of Star Wars books, The Art of The Matrix, the Battlestar Galactica: Creating the Legend prop auction catalog by Propworx, and Star Wars: the Magic of Myth. This new Firefly Celebration ranks right up near the top of the list for me.

This book is beautiful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most Gorgeous Book Ever, October 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Firefly: A Celebration (Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
If you call yourself a fan of Firefly or Serenity, this book is a MUST HAVE! Packaging together the official firefly companions vol 1. and vol 2., plus Joss Whedon's Keep Flying, this book is absolutely gorgeous!
If you already have all 3 of these books, you won't get much more from this one. However, they tend to be hard to find and can get pricey, so getting them all together for this price is an amazing deal!
Each glossy page is filled with cast photos, scripts from the TV episodes, and more.
I've seen each episode of the show (short lived season as it was...sigh) and Serenity more times than I can count, but holding this book in my hands, made me want to watch all of the episodes over and over again!

Take my love, take my land, but you WONT rip this book from my hand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Through space she floaty, January 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Firefly: A Celebration (Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
This is a book with a very specific audience and designed so that audience would surely love it. In other words, if you're one of the so-called Browncoats, this book is for you (assuming you don't already have the three companion books already since this is somewhat of a repackaging of those three).

The book is done in beautiful brown faux leather and definitely brings to mind one of those great, old world books with the gold embossing, so it's a book you won't be embarrassed to see this on your coffee table, even by your snobbiest of friends. The back of the book is packaged with some exclusive photos and a reproduction of a bank note. The bank note feels cheap yet somewhat like real money, which is odd but kind of makes it my favourite item. The "exclusive" photos have the feel of standard publicity headshots - nothing wrong with these (rather like them, myself) but there's nothing special about them either.

The content is a collection of scripts (where the title of this review was pulled), production content such as costume sketches, interview snippets, various photos, and other bits of interest, all done in glossy paper. It's the sort of thing that, as mentioned, appeals to a very specific target audience, and I can't imagine a Browncoat being unhappy with the amount of depth this adds to a very short-lived show.

Overall, I have nothing bad to say about this except that Amazon can't seem to keep it in stock (my order was almost cancelled before a new shipment came in and the book is now out of stock again). If you don't have the other Firefly companion books, then don't hesitate to get this. If you have the other companion books, the few extra bits aren't worth the cost of the book, and I would not recommend getting this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great for fans, but mostly scripts, February 19, 2013
By 
This review is from: Firefly: A Celebration (Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
This book is essentially a compilation of volumes 1 and 2 of the Firefly companion, as well as the Firefly: Still Flying: A Celebration of Joss Whedon's Acclaimed TV Series released three years ago. The two companions are essentially annotated scripts for all 14 episodes. The celebration book includes more behind-the-scenes comments and interviews, as well as four new stories by writers from the series.

Overall, this is a beautifully produced book. For the price, it's a quality production. However, it's not for everybody, but rather only for hardcore Firefly fans. For fans who don't really care about the scripts, I'd recommend just purchasing Firefly: Still Flying: separately.

One thing I found odd is that this collection does not include the Serenity Official Visual Companion. That seems like a glaring absence. You can still buy that separately, but it would have made the book even more complete had it been included here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Content, bad construction, March 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Firefly: A Celebration (Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
While the information and images in the book are exactly what I was hoping for, Within an hour of having the book, the cover fell off.The book is far too large for the way the cover was attached (it seems to only be glued on). I am seriously considering contacting Amazon or the Publisher to request a replacement....

But in regards to being the "Browncoat Bible" it was everything I had hoped for and more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars beautiful book, great for any Firefly/Serenity fan, August 29, 2013
By 
This review is from: Firefly: A Celebration (Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
I received this book for my birthday. Even though I had both of the Firefly paperbacks, I wasn't mad. This book is beautiful. I especially love the stills of the cast that are nestled inside the back cover. If I ever get the chance to meet the cast again, I want to get them autographed. Only negative thing about this book is the cover gets easily damaged that's one reason why I'm hesistant to use it as a coffee table book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful photos / Nicely bound / Substantial coffee table book ~ Very Nice!, March 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Firefly: A Celebration (Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
I purchased this as a gift for a rabid Firefly fan. He LOVED it.

The back cover has a little pocket with lovely cardstock photo's of the main stars of the show and also a copy of the currency. The whole book has tons of pictures. It is really a lovely book, meant to be a collectors item for a fan.

There is a lot of information from behind the scenes and many candid (as well as promotional) photos. The book has excerpts of scripts from different episodes. There are drawings of costume designs for each of the main characters as well as the weapons and the floorplan / pictures / layout of the ship, Firefly. There is probably tons I'm missing as this is just what I noticed as I glanced at his book (over his shoulder as he was determined to be the first to go through it).

The book came shrink wrapped, so it was in pristine condition.

It's about 540 pages of lush photo's, sketches, images and information.

All in all, if you're a fan of the series, this is a MUST have book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bound well, February 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Firefly: A Celebration (Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
I was a bit disappointed in the binding. Like another three star reviewer stated the binding on my book ripped also. The book is beautiful, very heavy and needed a stronger binding. Putting the three companions in one volume was a great idea. Because there was no new material in the book( and the binding issue ) I only rated it 3 stars. It could have had material from the intervening years of cons. More cast interviews, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I aim to misbehave., December 31, 2013
By 
Troy Pickett (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Firefly: A Celebration (Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
If you love the series, this is the book for you. It simply has everything.The only thing missing is the letter from Fox apologizing for canceling one of the best shows ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Firefly: A Celebration (Anniversary Edition)
Firefly: A Celebration (Anniversary Edition) by Joss Whedon (Hardcover - October 2, 2012)
$49.95 $33.52
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.