Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume One
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
70
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$13.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 24, 2006
"Firefly" is simply the greatest television show of all time. Created by Joss Whedon -- the genius behind "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" (the second greatest TV show of all time), and "Angel" -- "Firefly" is both brilliant and unique: It is a sci-fi western, with wonderful characters, compelling storylines, and (of course) Joss Whedon's trademark witty dialogue. "Firefly" is one of the few shows that I love watching over and over again; and never seem to get tired of. If you've never seen "Firefly" you owe it to yourself to check it out on DVD. Of course, if you HAVE seen "Firefly" then you already know just how amazing the show really is. So, you're definitely going to want to get your hands on the "Firefly Official Companion, Vol. 1".

This full-color, glossy book is packed with photos from the show; as well as photos and sketches of props and costumes. More importantly, it has the full shooting scripts for the episodes "Serenity", "The Train Job", "Bushwhacked", "Shindig", "Safe", and "Our Mrs. Reynolds". It also includes comments from the cast and crew, and profiles of the main characters and actors; as well as interviews with series-creator and executive producer Joss Whedon, and costume designer Shawna Trpcic. Plus, it has features on the design and creation of Mal's pistol and browncoat, and Zoe's pistol and vest.

"Firefly" fans will not be disappointed with this book. And, if you've never seen "Firefly", go ahead and get the book anyway: It's a great introduction to the show. (Of course, don't forget to order the DVD boxed set, too. And then be sure to check out the movie "Serenity" -- the motion picture finale to the "Firefly" series -- which is also available on DVD.)
33 comments| 111 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2007
Just to let future buyers be aware....this book (and Vol. 2) are basically just the scripts to the (REALLY FUN) shows. As my husband put it, "It's just the lines, without the wonderful delivery the actors achieved in the shows." I thought it would be more like the various other "about" books that exist about popular movies/TV shows - full of pictures and other fun "about" stuff. In my opinion, these two books were not that.
88 comments| 120 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2006
Fantastic companion to the show. Love the interviews, the insight, the production art...absolutely first rate. Truly a testament to the greatest TV show ever made. Can't wait for Volume Two...bring it on Joss!

And to the clueless TV networks that refuse to open their eyes and bring this gem of a show back to life: listen to the sound of my coin dropping for yet another piece of Firefly merchandise...
0Comment| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2006
The Firefly Companion Vol 1 is well worth every penny (and makes ordering Vol 2 when it comes out a "no-brainer").

Six scripts are included, but the real gems are the articles on the characters. These are in "light brown" in the table of contents so easily overlooked in your rush to see what is included. All through the book are excellent, clear close up photos of many props.

This is really a must have for the serious Firefly fan.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2006
Since we can no longer have Firefly, the series, except what we were able to get on DVD, this is a "fix" for a longtime fan of this wonderful story. I would have like to have had even more comments from the cast, maybe even a full-fledged interview with each of them, as they did with the creator of the show, Joss Whedon. I look forward to the next volume and still am ever hopeful that at some point in the near future, one of the networks will realize what a great series this was and still could be. My family misses this show to this day. What terrific casting and storytelling.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2006
Beautiful book with a wealth of juicy, behind-the-scenes detail. I especially recommend this volume if you are interested in creating Mal or Zoe costumes. It practically has a how-to guide on Mal's gun, as well as info on his holster and coat, and Zoe's gun, holster, and vest. Lots of detailed pictures of props (money, weapons, badges, licenses) as well.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2016
The Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume One was a wonderful purchase for me. It is 176 pages of detailed information on heavy glossy color pages. The photos, sketches and diagrams in the book are wonderful. It is a full size paperback book about 8 1/2" x 11". The companion book is a very nice quality. And, it is heavy.

It contains the scripts of several episodes which include Serenity, The Train Job, Bushwhacked, Shindig, Safe, and Our Mrs. Reynolds.

There are a lot of commentary by the cast and crew. There are profiles of the actors and characters which detail a lot of information. There are a lot of drawings and pictures of props and costumes. There are also a lot of scene info and photos. There is also a lot of information of the ship and the crew's gear especially Mal's gun and coat and Zoe's weapon and her vest.

Joss Whedon did a great job with the show. And, so did his team. Fox screwed up, and they should have let Whedon do what he knew how to do and to allow the show to stay on a decent night than to mess with things and mess with the episode order.

This is definitely a must book for the Firefly fan and any Browncoat for sure.

I recommend this book because it is so fully detail with information and color photos, and you get a lot of behind the scenes knowledge about the show and what the actors, writers and directors thought.

This companion book tells so much that you are not able to find and gather in one place and be able to have available in front of you in your hands.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2007
For fans of the the Firefly television series, this book is a wonderful way in which to hold onto the experience. All of the characters, the stories, and the dialogue for the first half are here. It reminds of what has been lost and what can be good about television. It makes us wish for more like this when we look through the wasteland of reality TV.

The book is full of color photos of scenes from the series, drawings of costumes, and other photos of the crew at work. The dialogue on the show was always pleasing to hear, if not exactly the king's English, and reading it in the scripts reproduced here is just as much fun. An interview with Joss Whedon in the first part lends another aspect.

The book itself is nicely produced, all glossy and heavy. I will eagerly pick up Vol. 2 now that it is out.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2009
Why do I need to read the scripts now? I can not give this more than 3 stars because of that. I wanted much more behind the scenes and making of information than this "companion" offered. What was there was great. But, I'm a fan, not a film student. An interview with Joss was great. How about with all the actors too? Anyway, what was there was good. Just needed to be a lot more of it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2006
I know- that tag line is SO cliche', but it's true. I wasn't sure why it said 'volume one' when I prebought it- but incase you didn't read that part- it's only the first 7 episodes. The good part is, they went through the process of getter GREAT photos on and off set and you get the entire script, not just the parts they shot. The cover is the beautiful cast shot we've seen over and over, but Volume Two has a new and brilliant cover featured in back as a Coming Soon.

If you're a Firefly fanatic- or you've never seen the show before (I don't think there's any inbetween) this is a great coffee top book
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.