Industrial-Sized Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 Fire TV Stick Beauty Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals Outdoors Gift Guide on HTL

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars78
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on August 31, 2012
Author Lily Lexington does it again with this book. I'm thrilled to find an author who really understands the read-aloud needs of parents, teachers, and librarians.

For many children, the only "fun" poetry they hear is at Christmas when a parent or teacher reads "The Night Before Christmas." (Lucky children are introduced to Dr. Seuss as well, though that rhyming is sometimes lost in the silly fun of those stories.)

"A Firefly Tale" tells a wonderful story about a firefly and the little girl who captures it in a jar. (Don't worry, it's not a "girly" story, and -- as you're reading aloud -- you can point to the many boys in the wonderful illustrations. They're clearly playing an active role in the day's activities.)

Woven through this delightful book are extra features that take it beyond the typical read-aloud book.

Of course, this book contains many good lessons about nature and (of course) why children shouldn't plan to keep a firefly in a jar "forever."

In addition, the story is magical and filled with delight. Typical of Lily Lexington books, this tale is sure to spark a child's imagination.

(This is mostly a read-aloud book. The vocabulary is perfect for that, and the book is filled with everyday words. However, some could be phonetically challenging for early readers, unless they're gifted.)

In addition to the wonderful illustrations, charming tale, and excellent messages for children discovering nature, this book's rhyming shines. The cadence (or rhythm) of this story, read aloud, might inspire early poets. In addition, that rhythm is exactly what some parents look for, if they're working with early learning techniques that -- according to some researchers -- offer the potential to enhance IQ. (I'm intrigued by that kind of research, especially multiple intelligence theories, though they're still in very early stages of development and confirmation.)

Of course, the main reason to own this book is because it's fun. If your children are like mine, they will love hearing "A Firefly Tale" read aloud at bedtime. It's the kind of story that children ask for, over and over again... and become part of happy bedtime memories.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on September 8, 2012
This is a lovely book which my grandchild loves! The way the author has put a beautiful story about Maisy the firefly and created a great flowing rhyme. Children will love this firefly tale as my grandchild has. I love the pictures that tell the story and it is best to view them in color on an app for your PC, phone of on the kindle fire.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on September 12, 2012
A beautifully illustrated children's book, this book really sets a child's imagination free.
My Grand-Daughter was thrilled with whole story of Lucy and Maisy the firefly, will be looking out for more books from this author.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon April 21, 2013
This was a nice story and good for a young child, but I wasn't in love with the ebook. The artwork was nice, but the formating meant that it was displayed as fairly small and couldn't be expanded. I'd have liked this book better if the formatting had been done with greater care.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on December 20, 2013
Enjoyed the rhyming and the words were hard enough to enhance my granddaughter vocabulary cool awesome amazing for children even for me!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2015
Maisy is a firefly, and the end of spring is approaching. Maisy knows this means she has a new job to do: show off her best shine for the children of summertime.

Maisy is nervous. She picked out a child who looked like she could be friends with. Oddly though, the little girl was holding a jar. The little girl wants her to be her friend…forever.

Lucy isn’t sure what’s wrong with her new firefly. She doesn’t seem too happy in her new jar home.

This is a sweet story about friendship. Sometimes children have a hard time distinguishing from the fact that if someone isn’t with you, they are not your friend. This is a great book to use to teach children that difference, especially if a friend is moving away. It’s also a good tool to use to teach children empathy towards animals. Sometimes it is not in their best interest to keep an animal as caged pet, and the end of the book shows this lesson quiet well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on December 10, 2013
My grandaughter loves this book.. she keeps wanting me to read it over and over. Very cute. These books though aren't very long
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2013
This was a charming book that i downloaded at the doctor's office for the kids to read while we waited. My children love it and I see often that it is up on their reader. Great Price.
recommended reading
Wang Mind the Greatest of the Great Pandas
Happy animals
Alaska's ABC Bears
Children Make Terrible Pets
Fancy Nancy and the Delectable Cupcakes
The Knight and The Dragon
Just Go to Bed
I Wear My Tutu Everywhere!
Pete the Cat and His Four Groovy Buttons
Llama Llama Time to Share
Mousetronaut:Based on (Partially) True Story
A Sick Day for Amos McGee
Adventures of Walnut Grove
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2012
This is the second book I have bought by this author and I am loving her style of writing.

In A Firefly Tale Lily Lexington shows off her skills at forming rhyming couplets. And what delight. This style of writing, I think is particularly suited to the young. Perhaps it is because I associate children with music and movement, and when reading this book aloud the pace of the words and the joy of the beat was reassuring familiar.

I'm sure younger children will love the graphics and older children will enjoy the story and the rhythm.

Rosemary Breen
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon November 29, 2012
I liked this book for a couple of reasons. It was fun for the kids and the rhyming words actually rhymed well enough to make sense to a younger child. I thought the illustrations were cute and colorful enough to keep even my young ones happy. This book had a nice message about being kind to all creatures and making friends. I wish it would have been a little bit longer as I used it as a bedtime story and then had to find another story right after it to keep the kiddos happy, but overall thought this was a really good book and would recommend it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.