Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The second half of our official look at Joss Whedon's "Firefly"
I am of the opinion that of all of the late, lamented series in television, the fans of Joss Whedon's "Firefly" are the most unwilling to let things go, especially after "Serenity." After all, they only shot fifteen episodes of the series (I count the two-part pilot as two), and not all of those were aired. Of course, those that were aired were not aired in the right...
Published on June 5, 2007 by Amazon Customer

versus
23 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Basically just the scripts -- not what I expected.
Just to let future buyers be aware....this book (and Vol. 1) are basically just the scripts to the (REALLY FUN) shows. As my husband put it, "It's just the lines, without the wonderful delivery the actors achieved in the shows." I thought it would be more like the various other "about" books that exist about popular movies/TV shows - full of pictures and other fun...
Published on September 18, 2007 by H. Keimig


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The second half of our official look at Joss Whedon's "Firefly", June 5, 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (COMMUNITY FORUM 04)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume Two (Paperback)
I am of the opinion that of all of the late, lamented series in television, the fans of Joss Whedon's "Firefly" are the most unwilling to let things go, especially after "Serenity." After all, they only shot fifteen episodes of the series (I count the two-part pilot as two), and not all of those were aired. Of course, those that were aired were not aired in the right order in another classic example of a network killing a series with their meddling (when you hire a Joss Whedon just get out of his way and let him do what he wants the way he wants to do it). Fans of "Firefly" might be bitter, but loyalty and persistence are even stronger traits. Their support of "Serenity" at the IMBD was such that you would have thought the film was the second coming of "Gone With the Wind." Benbella books is coming out with a second volume of essays on the show, and there is even a DVD, "Done The Impossible: The Fans' Tale of Firefly & Serenity," devoted the phenomenon.

"Firefly: The Official Companion, Volume Two" is another fine example of what such books should be, as fans of Whedon's television series have come to expect. What you get here is more of what we found in Volume One. The fun begins with the second part of an in-depth interview with Whedon and then the volume is organized so that you have a script, with one-page looks at one of the characters opposite of a full-page candid shot, and then afterwards you will find either an interview with a key member behind the camera (e.g., producer Tim Minear, production designer Carey Meyer, cinematographer David Boyd) or other topics of interest (e.g, "You Can't Stop the Signal: The Fans," "'I call it Vera': Jayne's Weapons"). This time around we get the "full, uncut shooting scripts" for "Jaynestown," "Out of Gas," "Ariel," "War Stories," "Trash," "The Message," "Heart of Gold," and "Objects in Space." That means between "Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume One," which has the scripts for the first seven episodes, and "Serenity Official Visual Companion," which includes the screenplay for the motion, picture.

So the good news is that we now have all of the scripts for the adventures of Mal Reynolds and his mutely crew (we only got up to season 3 with the "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" script books, but then they had 144 episodes). The bad news is that there is no real reason to have a third volume, but let us keep the focus on the glass being half full at this point. Besides, one of the sections, "'Firefly'-That-Wasn't: Unused Story Ideas," will give you food for thought. Throughout the scripts you will find not only choice examples of Whedon's stage directions but also sidebars providing insights into actors and various aspects of production, and most every page has "rare and previously unpublished images, including behind-the-scenes shots, production art, costume designs and original 'Firefly' props photographed especially for this book." I could go on, but all that really matters is that Volume Two is as good as Volume One, and if you have Volume One all I really need to tell you is that Volume Two has been published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a hoot! Get this if you just "liked" Firefly, September 9, 2007
This review is from: Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume Two (Paperback)
I missed Firefly, the first time around, and didn't discover the series until after I'd rented Serenity. I can't call myself a confirmed browncoat, though I really *really* liked everything about the show.

But when I saw this book on the library's New Books stack, I grabbed it. I think you should grab a copy, too, even if you're no die-hard fan. Because this book is _fun_.

Most of the book is episode scripts (half of them; the other half are in Volume One). That's worth the price alone, because the scripts are immensely readable. Like other intelligent shows, the dialogue is both fast and thoughtful, and you might not have caught everything when you heard it the first or second time around. In particular, the scripts include the translations from the Chinese expletives, and most of them are _very_ funny.

And the "stage direction" is not the dispassionate descriptive sort ("Man enters, wearing a hat"). It reflects the entire mood of the show:
INARA walks towards them, heading for the stairs up to the shuttle catwalk. She's dressed with stunning elegance.
KAYLEE: Hey there, 'Nara. Heading off for some glamorous romance?
Simon turns, momentarily stunned by her elegance.

If you're a screenwriter, this is absolutely a must-have.

The book is also peppered with cast interviews, stories about the creation of Firefly's theme song, production explanations on how, for example, they created Niska's Skyplex. In this book, you can spend an enjoyable few hours investigating how a show can be done *right*...even if the network screwed it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book for Every Browncoat, May 14, 2007
This review is from: Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume Two (Paperback)
Every Browncoat should have this book -- and of course Volume 1 as well. Together they provide all the scripts of the TV show, interviews, and "insider" information. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific book for Firefly fans, May 9, 2007
This review is from: Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume Two (Paperback)
As with volume 1, this book is beautifully illustrated and contains a wealth of interviews and scripts. It has many photos of props and remarkably detailed descriptions of Jayne's weapons, as well as articles on some of the fan efforts. Sure to thrill any fan of the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Firefly - still flyin', June 11, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume Two (Paperback)
As a confirmed Browncoat, I was always going to buy this when it came out. It is excellent - and makes me wonder even more how such a brilliant TV programme can get canned. The second part of the official companion, this focuses on the scripts for the last episodes, including the wonderful Out of Gas, and War Stories, as well as the last episode - Objects in Space. As well as marvellous photos that haven't been seen before, there are articles on all the main actors, as well as on the music, the cinematography ... and lots more.

Take some time out to read this, and I guarantee that you'll be buying the boxset of DVDs, and the special edition of Serenity (the film that came about because of the fans' amazing support) ... and you too will start to call yourself a Browncoat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another warm fuzzy for any Firefly fan, March 7, 2008
By 
Toby Minton (Lexington, KY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume Two (Paperback)
If you're reading this review, then you must not own volume one of Firefly: The Official Companion. If you did, then you wouldn't need a review to sell you on this one. So I have a piece of advice for you: buy both books. If you have a place in your heart for Firefly, then make a place on your coffee table for these books. Each one is overflowing with behind-the-scenes information about every episode of Firefly. There's sure to be something to interest every fan. I particularly enjoy all the prop info. You get detailed views of props and weapons, along with insight from the prop team as to how they made or modified each item. Fascinating stuff, and indispensable if you're a gamer.
Treat yourself to these books. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Outstanding Look Behind the Scenes., July 16, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume Two (Paperback)
This second edition of the companion is every bit as good as the first. I've thoroughly enjoyed both of them. If you enjoyed going into Whedon's verse, you will love these companions. The scripts have scenes in them that didn't make it on screen, there are great interviews with the cast, directors, producers... it's a lot of fun. I highly recommend this book along with the first companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Basically just the scripts -- not what I expected., September 18, 2007
This review is from: Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume Two (Paperback)
Just to let future buyers be aware....this book (and Vol. 1) are basically just the scripts to the (REALLY FUN) shows. As my husband put it, "It's just the lines, without the wonderful delivery the actors achieved in the shows." I thought it would be more like the various other "about" books that exist about popular movies/TV shows - full of pictures and other fun "about" stuff. In my opinion, these two books were not that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have for Fans of Firefly, December 29, 2007
This review is from: Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume Two (Paperback)
Great resource for the true Firefly fan. The show scripts are fun to read, especially with the chinese words translated, so you know what the gorram they were really saying. I loved the section: Jayne's Weapons, with a detailed look at Vera, one of the most notorious guns ever to grace the small or big screen. They discuss how they designed Vera, where the original gun came form, and how they added the special touches to make it unique to the Firefly 'verse.
A plethora of inset comments from the actors, and production crew, throughout the book, add insights into the action behind the scenes of making the show. Floor Plans of Serenity, and displays of various prop models of the ship, and many other props used make a nice addtion to the wealth of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shiny!, August 23, 2007
This review is from: Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume Two (Paperback)
This is the follow-up and completion of companion books to the cancelled-but-still-growing-its-fanbase Firefly television series. It provides the shooting scripts ans photo stills from the remaining episodes, as well as numerous sidebars featuring backstories and insights into the actors, crew, props, and the inner thoughts of series' creator, Joss Whedon. This glossy volume is heavily laden with color photographs, costume concept designs for the various characters, and pre-production sketches. If you have a love for the series and the Big Damn Movie ("Serenity"), you will feel compelled to buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume Two
Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume Two by Joss Whedon (Paperback - May 8, 2007)
$24.95 $19.13
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.