Customer Reviews


141 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hot Mutt
This is a good old fashioned family movie about a boy and a dog, and of course, like all shaggy dog tales, the mutt is the star. Celebrity dog Rexxx (note the x's) chucks in his glamorous poodle-filled life to become a firehouse dog, the only fringe benefits being that he can chase the fire-engine and investigate a lot of hydrants.

He adopts a young boy named...
Published on September 1, 2007 by Amanda Richards

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lame but Lovable 'Dog'
Critics will undoubtedly have a bone to pick with `Firehouse Dog'. I can hear all sorts of comments coming to roost: "Lame and predictable 'Dog' ,...What a dog!...too doggone routine,...you can't teach these screenwriters new tricks...let this one roll over and play dead." I have to admit that this movie is often dumb (and I usually don't like dumb movies), but it...
Published on September 23, 2007 by "Rocky Raccoon"


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hot Mutt, September 1, 2007
This is a good old fashioned family movie about a boy and a dog, and of course, like all shaggy dog tales, the mutt is the star. Celebrity dog Rexxx (note the x's) chucks in his glamorous poodle-filled life to become a firehouse dog, the only fringe benefits being that he can chase the fire-engine and investigate a lot of hydrants.

He adopts a young boy named Shane, who is rather unwilling at first, but after some aerial acrobatics, a few search and rescues and a lot of canine flatulence, Shane finally gets around to appreciating Rexxx, even though he mistakenly believes his name to be Dewey. "Dewey" soon rises to the rank of mascot, and is duly appreciated by the humans, especially the inhabitants of the Dogpatch Fire Station, who although friendly enough, don't seem to be the sharpest tools in the shed.

There are two other stories filling out the movie, one being the relationship between Shane and his firefighter father, and the other being the mystery of the curiously contagious conflagrations in the Dogpatch area.

Corny and cheesy in places, but never whiny, this is a movie you can watch with small kids (your teenagers may be otherwise occupied), but as you will see, the star of this movie is undoubtedly the hot mutt.

Amanda Richards, September 1, 2007
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rex with a Triple X, November 13, 2007
Being an adult, the first few minutes almost made me turn it off. It came across as another low brow kids movie. But shortly after that it became a family movie and I was glad I stuck it out. When Rexxx becomes Dewey we see a unusual dog become a great pet and firehouse mascot. That transition changes the lifes of all he touches. Fans of dogs should definitely catch it as it truly shows how dogs are one of man and woman's best friends. I have to say one as I think cats are too. This is a good family dog movie that starts out a little pretentious with Rexxx as a toupee wearing movie star, but then pretty much settles into a realistic story about a lost dog becoming a treasured pet and friend. I recommend it to anyone that enjoys dog movies or family movies. The DVD quality was good and includes several extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reviewer from Sweden - 5 star film!, June 22, 2007
I'm a 25 year old boy and I'm a Josh Hutcher fan, and this film is one of the best. First of all - I really enjoy when animals, like this dog, has the leading part! Everyone who like those kind of movies (like Air Bud) like this film too. Its a very fun film for anyone, age 7-100! Thanks for reading my review & Greetings from Sweden :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lame but Lovable 'Dog', September 23, 2007
Critics will undoubtedly have a bone to pick with `Firehouse Dog'. I can hear all sorts of comments coming to roost: "Lame and predictable 'Dog' ,...What a dog!...too doggone routine,...you can't teach these screenwriters new tricks...let this one roll over and play dead." I have to admit that this movie is often dumb (and I usually don't like dumb movies), but it often contains some decent family entertainment. The jokes are nearly all dumb, but at least they are effective nearly half of the time. While there are enough "spots" to tarnish this film, it has some solid components and redeeming qualities.

The premise isn't unusual. Prima donna canine movie star Rexxx has an implausible accident during a stunt in a scene for a recent movie. Stray from the cast and crew, he hits the road and comes into the company of "Rescue 26/Engine 55," a neighborhood fire station whose existence is teetering on the contingency of budget cuts of all things. Following him is his ambitious and greedy agent who all but gives up the diva dog for good. Above the fire station is an administrator who has a plan of his own for the firehouse.

While the plot sometimes makes one want to howl, the acting is laudably in prime shape. Josh Halverson (of 'Bridge to Terabithia' fame) ably plays Shane Fahey, a hapless son of the fire chief, who is scarred by the deaths of his mother and his uncle, whom his father replaced. Coming across a self-willed stray is hardly compensation for the pre-adolescent who only has a girl love interest and a concerned, but stern father to help him commiserate his inner wounds. Bruce Greenwood gives us a laudably earnest performance as his father, Connor, who must wear his badge warily with all the problems set before them.

Whether campy or serious, the flashback scenes are particularly well done, and the dangers presented have enough direness without being a hazard to young psyches. At its meatier times, they get tongue-in-cheek as they bolster the formula even with Rex's portfolio. Having starred in 'The Fast and the Furriest' and 'Jurassic Bark,' Rex's fate lies whether he chooses the primrose path and the red carpet treatment or keeping it real where he's needed at the fire station. There's also a mock funeral scene that pokes fun of everyone involved. 'Firehouse Dog' is just ridiculous and real enough to work to keep the family satisfied, even if too many of the jokes remind one of the slick slapstick scenes when fire fighters slide down the firehouse pole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Effective blend of comedy drama / action comedy / animal fun., August 4, 2007
Firehouse Dog won't go down as one of the greatest family films in history (like A Dog of Flanders or A Tree Grows in Brooklyn), but is good solid family entertainment, with the kind of effective blend of comedy, action, and drama found in more successfull action comedies (The Goonies) and comedy dramas (The Courtship of Eddie's Father).

Josh Hutcherson, who proved his diverse acting skills starring in films ranging from Little Manhattan to Bridge to Terabithia, plays 12-year-old Shane, who's father is the Captain of the firehouse housing Fire Engine 55. We learn through dialog that the Captain is a widower who succeded his own late brother to the job, leaving Shane with very little parental supervision. While ditching school Shane runs into Rexxx, a lost Hollywood movie dog. Shane is caught due to the dog jumping on him, and resents the dog for a while. Rexxx was lost wearing a prop collar so they think his name is Dewey, and can't find the owner; but while trying Shane learns how good Dewey is at tricks and gradually decides he wants to adopt him. So you have a typical dog movie situation, the dogs presence improving the boys character while you wonder if the boy will have to lose the dog if the Hollywood owner ever turns up.

But wait there's more: meanwhile Shane learns his father is investigating a series of fires that might be arson -- including the one in which his uncle died. So the plot builds up to a more serious situation with suspense, firefighting action, and a dramatic conclusion. Fortunately this is developed gradually from the more humorous first half of the movie, so it works on both levels, and never gets too scary for kids, but never gets dull, with some firefighting action for Dads, animal stunts for everyone, humor that's never more crude than a couple dog flatulence jokes, and a moderately poignant story to hold it all together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Family Film, June 25, 2007
By 
Gina Kershaw (Newport Beach, CA USA) - See all my reviews
My family saw this movie two times and really enjoyed it - all of us (ages: 44, 40, 15, 13, 11 and 7). There are some very funny moments and the film has a great message about family. I highly recommend the film for your DVD collection - it is one that will be watched over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great and fun movie, August 10, 2007
By 
bought this film for my 90 year mother but I was very please that it told a story and a moral my mom love it my children and grandkids love it. it is easy to say age 1 to 90 will like this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film for everyone with a funny bone and a heart!, August 8, 2007
By 
Carmen Fabella (St. Louis, MO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My kids loved it. They are boys age 6 and 11. The film has great animal stunts, rousing fire-fighting drama, and a pretty good script, too. Just rent or buy and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Family fun, February 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Enjoyable family movie that all can watch and enjoy. Not ground breaking but puts a smile on your face. Enjoyed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great family movie, January 3, 2014
Good movie for family night for kids. Clean language. Themes include family, importance of studying for school and the responsibility of owning a pet. Emotional scenes between father and son. Like most kid movies, adults understand an underlying theme or remember past memories which usually cause a faint tear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Firehouse Dog
Firehouse Dog by Todd Holland
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.