Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars First Act 8 Piece Drum Set
Purchased this drum set for my 13 year old son from a Thrift Store for $65.00. All parts where there just needing assembly and tuning. Not bad for the price and the drum heads can be purchased if needed. Good set for a beginner who thinks it is an adult set. Cyballs are crap, but they can be replaced. Over all satisfied with the purchase and quality of the set.
Published on June 24, 2012 by Stephen R. Hei

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars do not get this...really
When i was 14 i wanted to get a drum set and i was looking for something that was reasonably priced (under 450 maybe), and this was recommended to me, mostly because of its free shipping. Even for the price amazon is selling this thing for, its waaaaaaaayyyyyy to much. The heads are not all that good, the drums in general sound bad. Sure, its a beginner set, but this is...
Published on February 7, 2008 by Diane Kapustka


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars do not get this...really, February 7, 2008
This review is from: First Act MD590 8-Piece Drum Set (Electronics)
When i was 14 i wanted to get a drum set and i was looking for something that was reasonably priced (under 450 maybe), and this was recommended to me, mostly because of its free shipping. Even for the price amazon is selling this thing for, its waaaaaaaayyyyyy to much. The heads are not all that good, the drums in general sound bad. Sure, its a beginner set, but this is largest drum kit i've seen on the net that First Act sells. Spend 100 more dollars and get an HB Drums kit. A kit with the same finish (wine red) and same size diameter toms (though thickness is much more) runs 100 bucks more than this, and you get free shipping from HB Drums with orders more than 50 dollars. Not to mention the cymbals for the First Act kit are complete crap, the HB Drums cymbals will at least last, though they aren't the greatest thing in the world, they are at least tolerable.
Seriously, reach an inch deeper in your wall and get something thats ALOT more bang for your buck.
I started with this kit and then added a 22"x18" kick and 14" power tom from HB drums, the kick and tom in a wine red finish, and they stand out in my kit alot because they sound alot better than the first act ones. Also, first act doesn't give the options HB Drums does. You might not want 12" 13" and 16" toms. Maybe you want 8" and 10" toms with the 16" floor. or you want 15" ansd 16" rack toms with an 18" floor, whatever floats your boat...HB Drums lets you buy individual drums, not so with first act. If they are really young, and JUST starting out, get the HB Drums junior drums, or maybe just a 10" tom or something. First Act definetly not worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BUY THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, May 27, 2008
By 
N. Wade (Chesapeake, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: First Act MD590 8-Piece Drum Set (Electronics)
My son paid for this drum set pictured. Amazon sent the wrong set, and is junky!! The cymbals are small,
the set is not made well. This set at best might work for a small child, but it will not last long. If you want a good set look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars First Act 8 Piece Drum Set, June 24, 2012
By 
Stephen R. Hei (Springville, Alabama United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: First Act MD590 8-Piece Drum Set (Electronics)
Purchased this drum set for my 13 year old son from a Thrift Store for $65.00. All parts where there just needing assembly and tuning. Not bad for the price and the drum heads can be purchased if needed. Good set for a beginner who thinks it is an adult set. Cyballs are crap, but they can be replaced. Over all satisfied with the purchase and quality of the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not A Bad Little Set!, January 16, 2012
By 
Ray Phillips (Decatur, Alabama) - See all my reviews
This review is from: First Act MD590 8-Piece Drum Set (Electronics)
I bought this set of drums "very" used. I mean really poor condition. I was planning to put in the drum isolation booth in my studio. I already had 4 really great cymbals. I bought Evans black hydraulic heads all the way around and put 40 years worth of tuning and tweaking. They sound great!! Who cares how it looks in a booth???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Set, March 5, 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: First Act MD590 8-Piece Drum Set (Electronics)
I bought this set off of craigslist for pretty cheap and it came with remo heads and a different base pedal. Thats probably a good thing, seeing how all the other reviews said the hardware and heads needed replaced right away. I also got a bunch of new cymbals too. It sounds find now after getting cymbals, heads and a base pedal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This drumset is Worthless and STUPID!, January 10, 2009
This review is from: First Act MD590 8-Piece Drum Set (Electronics)
I have this drumset, and I've are broke 4 skins and had to replace the cymbals. I recommend Pearl or DW. But this drumset is worth $10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

First Act MD590 8-Piece Drum Set
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.