Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Women's Murder Club
This NBC Event Movie is a very close adaption of a James Patterson novel of the same name following the police investigation of the "Bride and Groom" murders led by Det. Lindsay Boxer, a cop with major problems of her own. This is a very good adaption, featuring a strong performance by Tracey Pollan as Lindsay in a twisty mystery. The only problem is the mis-casting of...
Published on January 17, 2005 by Mark Chrisco

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Angie Harmon was a MUCH better Lindsay Boxer.
I loved how this movie stayed so close to the novel. James Patterson is an amazing writer, and the movie did some justice to his writing. My issue however was the casting, it was HORRIBLE. Bad acting was served all around, from Tracy Pollan's stiff, rigid interpretation as Boxer to the critique of the woman playing her friend Claire (which I'll save for another day, just...
Published on February 20, 2010 by Matthew A. Clark


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Women's Murder Club, January 17, 2005
By 
Mark Chrisco (Essex County, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: First to Die (DVD)
This NBC Event Movie is a very close adaption of a James Patterson novel of the same name following the police investigation of the "Bride and Groom" murders led by Det. Lindsay Boxer, a cop with major problems of her own. This is a very good adaption, featuring a strong performance by Tracey Pollan as Lindsay in a twisty mystery. The only problem is the mis-casting of Robert Patrick as Nicholas Jenks. The part called for a less intense personality.I had hoped for another film, adapting the second book in the series, 2nd Chances, but, the plot perhaps was too similar to recent tragic events and may have been passed over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-done Sleeper, August 20, 2004
This review is from: First to Die (DVD)
I agree this film was a sleeper, constantly keeping the viewer guessing throughout an intricate plot. There were several conflicts to follow (two detectives who are former lovers, police investigation vs. persistent journalist, life-threatening blood disease of heroine, extremely clever murderer vs. an imposter, etc.). Another pleasure was the beautiful Seattle coastline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First to Die, August 7, 2004
This review is from: First to Die (DVD)
This movie is a real sleeper. It is outstanding!

Just like all of Patterson's books. It is a true

mystery thriller. It keeps you on the edge of

your seat for the whole movie. It is really, really

good! You won't be disappointed. See it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Angie Harmon was a MUCH better Lindsay Boxer., February 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: First to Die (DVD)
I loved how this movie stayed so close to the novel. James Patterson is an amazing writer, and the movie did some justice to his writing. My issue however was the casting, it was HORRIBLE. Bad acting was served all around, from Tracy Pollan's stiff, rigid interpretation as Boxer to the critique of the woman playing her friend Claire (which I'll save for another day, just know its some of the worst acting I've ever seen.) Pollan was horrible timing in her acting, inserting pauses and talking so slowly that if the director had sped her up, they could have shaved half an hour off the movie. Carly Pope is ALRIGHT, but nothing could save this movie. It does keep moving, and since I'm a huge fan of James Patterson, I stuck it out through the end in respect for him, but it was hard. If you can, find the Women's Murder Club series on the Internet starring Angie Harmon. Although it doesn't follow the storyline of the novels, I actually BELIEVE that these women could be the Women's Murder Club. If you're going to buy it, find a used copy for less than a dollar, that's what I did. The acting was impossible to come back from.

Also, I've never laughed as hard as when you see any clip of Jacobi, the guy who plays him is so horrible it's hilarious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, September 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: First to Die (DVD)
I really like the Women's Murder Club and Lynsay( the San Francisco policewoman) is one of my favorite characters in this series. This is the ony one of the series they apparently put on video. I wish they would do the entiere series on video. I have read them all(about 9 or 10 in the series)!!! Waiting for more to come. So, James Patterson please add more to the Women's Murder Club and let us know what has happen with Lynsay's new marriage and the other characters(her other lady friends).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First to Die, August 1, 2013
This review is from: First to Die (DVD)
Couldn't stop reading until the ending. Patterson classic with suspense, human interest, sharp intelligent plot leads, and intriguing characters. Love, love Patterson!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patterson books and films, June 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: First to Die (DVD)
Stayed with the book. Patterson can't be beaten and this film and the others I have purchased are great. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The books are extremely enjoyable, March 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: First to Die (DVD)
And the movie is loyal to the book but the movie, which is long comes off just average. I had hoped for more, the actors don't click
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First to Die DVD, December 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: First to Die (DVD)
DVD couldn't be read by one of my DVD players but I got it to work on another, quality very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First to die, August 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: First to Die (DVD)
This movie was a great murder mystery and held my interest with new facts ever time you turned around. You just couldn't pause this to get a drink you had to keep watching. Great detective work also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

First to Die
First to Die by Russell Mulcahy (DVD - 2004)
Used & New from: $6.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.