Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: First Dinosaur Encyclopedia
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 20, 2007
My 5 year old son enjoys this book, but I wish it had a better resource for learning about individual dinosaurs. Great pictures and information on the time periods, but he's too young to learn (or not interested) in the time periods, we want more information on each individual dinosaur. Bits of information on each dinosaur is scattered throughout the book, so it's hard to find all the facts of the T-Rex for example.
11 comment|58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
For quite some time, my 4yr old's favorite dinosaur book was My Big Dinosaur Book. Recently, however, he asked me to find him "a serious dinosaur book." So, I searched our public library, and found First Dinosaur Encyclopedia. My son loves this book.

It begins by disucssing how different the Earth was when dinosaurs existed. Illustrations show the changes between the Triassic, Jurassic, and Cretaceous periods. Not only are dinosaurs from each period featured, but details about plant life and fossilization are included.

Both the drawings and photographs remind me of the Discovery Channel shows like When Dinosaurs Roamed America. The actual information is extremely well-organized, making it very easy for any young student to write a report or essay using this book, on his or her own. Pages also, include "buttons" that have either a reference to another selection in the book, or some unusual fact is highlighted. In addition, the glossary contains words that would make a great vocabulary list.

I recommend this dinosaur encyclopedia to anyone interested in the subject; keep in mind this is intended as an introductory encyclopedia.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2010
Bought it book intended to give it to a 5 y/o for xmas. I looked through the book and found the info to be too scattered. It's arranged by: intro, info about dinosaurs, and time period. Each page has bits of info here and there. Personally, I just did not like the arrangement of info. If you are looking for a book with a different dinosaur on each page with some info about them, this is not the book for you.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2009
This book is well worth the money. If you have someone that likes dinosaurs, this is a must!! Great colorful pictures. I purchased for 6 year old grandson. I liked it so well, I have ordered another for 4 year old granddaughter that loves dinosaurs.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2009
DK have gone through a whole array of information books in its series this next book in the series is a information knowledge factual learning tool reference on prehistoric earth and its inhabitants on earth the incredible dinosaurs! Ancient large and small powerful beasts that no longer exist in a wide variety of bright and dark colours but have still captured the fascinating creative skillful imagination of palaeontologists and readers to come in a lifetime of these amazing weird colourful creatures.All in all a must have basic information learning tool resource with the only let down being that it is too bloody and gory in some of its pictures of prehistoric wildlife.Still it is nonetheless a start for young readers to get interested into prehistoric wildlife and its abundance of educated learning knowledge in it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2015
My granddaughter, a budding paleontologist at the ripe old age of ten, creates her own Dinosaur populated world; many fanciful notions of what she perceives to be what we know as Dinosaurs. However, she needed, I felt, a more realistic base. I purchased First Dinosaur Encyclopedia, primarily to encourage her appetite in the sciences, and in particular paleontology. The response I got from her was more than I expected, especially from someone so young. She loved it. It is fair to say the book has exceeded her expectations. DK has put together a fine encyclopedia on Dinosaurs. An A to Z tome on every conceivable Dinosaur (along with illustrations) that has ever been unearthed from the geologic record. I highly recommend this book, not only for young students of science, but anyone of any age unfamiliar with a world that once was that has its own story to tell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2013
The 2007 edition of this book, like all DK books, is packed with hundreds of full color photographs. Although there are no chapters per se, the volume is divided up by first a close look at dinosaurs, then by the eras that certain groups of dinosaurs existed in. This is followed by a section on how dinosaurs became fossils. Thus, it well organized and a thorough examination of the various groups and species is represented.

Although the tome is classified as a children's book, many adults interested in the subject would find it enthralling. There are several color photos on every page, and though the text is brief, it relays quite a bit of information to the reader. There is a glossary and an index, so finding any particular animal will be easy. The pages are made from very heavy stock high quality paper. There is 128 pages, which is substantually more than on most of these thin DK volumes.

Also on the market, are numerous volumes written by Ham and Gish and a number of other christian writers that present the same material from a creationist's standpoint. This work presents the facts from a scientific point of view and the Bible is not mentioned. Evolution is the mechanism explaining the variety of animal life forms listed.

As a whole, the First Dinosaur Encyclopedia is a masterful work about the wonders of ancient animal life on earth and any child would learn a great deal about dinosaurs from reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2010
My 4 year old daughter is obsessed with Dinosaurs and we purchased this book to learn more about them. It has been helpful in recognizing a lot of them and determining whether they are herbovoir's or meat eaters. As she gets older, this will be a fantastic reference for her.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2015
My 3 year old daughter loves this book. We pull it out many nights to learn about a different dinosaur! No problems so far with the quality of the book itself, and the format is great for any kid under 10 or 12 - and even over that age as a basic reference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2014
I purchased this book as a gift for my 7 yr old grandson. This is a perfect Dinosaur book for younger children who are fascinated with dinosaurs. Plenty of factual information to help them learn plus great colorful illustrations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse