Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Women's History
So many history books are dry and difficult to read. This was the exact opposite. Carol Berkin breathes life into the dim periods of early Colonial American history. Although she often has little more details than land records, birth, marriage, and death dates (and in some cases, not even that) Berkin is able to paint a vivid picture of what it might have been like...
Published on August 21, 2000 by J. Meegan

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting information; narrowly focused text
This book was a required text for a course at my University on the social history of American women. While the information contained in this book was interesting (there isn't a lot out there about women during the Colonial period, though there is plenty about men), it was very narrowly focused. A significant portion of the book talks about the women of the Chesapeake,...
Published on July 14, 2012 by C. Ellwood


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Women's History, August 21, 2000
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: First Generations: Women in Colonial America (Paperback)
So many history books are dry and difficult to read. This was the exact opposite. Carol Berkin breathes life into the dim periods of early Colonial American history. Although she often has little more details than land records, birth, marriage, and death dates (and in some cases, not even that) Berkin is able to paint a vivid picture of what it might have been like for the strong women who, willingly or not, helped to create America. Berkin is an equal opportunity historian -- each chapter of her book focuses on a particular strata of female colonial society: Native America women, African American women, poor white immigrant women, and wealthy women. In this way, the reader gets a full picture of the diverse cultural groups that existed from the earliest days of Colonial America. There are also some real surprises (I wont spoil them for you) which leads the reader to believe that life in Colonial America was much more complex and unpredictable than you might have thought. This book was both educational and entertaining and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Study, Encompassing Many Regions, Groups, March 23, 2000
By 
Brian O'Malley (Atlantic Beach, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: First Generations: Women in Colonial America (Paperback)
Carol Berkin offers informative essays on women in different ethnic and regional cultures of colonial America. The life story of a woman from each of the groups considered lends character and definition to this excellent scholarly work. African-American women, Native American women, and Anglo-American women in New England and the Chesapeake are among those considered. As New Amsterdam became New York, women of Dutch descent experienced major changes in their legal rights. Berkin's treatment of this transition from Dutch to English law exemplifies her fascinating and informative style.
The study ends with a discussion of women's lives during the American Revolution, including the moving stories of women who lost their fortunes or their lives in that struggle. The biographies of martyrs, however, do not eclipse a good discussion of the everyday lives of women during the conflict. Berkin also examines how the logic of democratic revolution, strangely, did not extend to women's rights.
Berkin has made an indispensable contribution to colonial history, women's history and ethnic history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting information; narrowly focused text, July 14, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: First Generations: Women in Colonial America (Paperback)
This book was a required text for a course at my University on the social history of American women. While the information contained in this book was interesting (there isn't a lot out there about women during the Colonial period, though there is plenty about men), it was very narrowly focused. A significant portion of the book talks about the women of the Chesapeake, which is interesting, but not as comprehensive as I would have liked. I understand that this is because more information survives about women of that area, but it still felt like that should have been taken into account in the title of the book, so readers would have a better idea of what they were getting.

I did enjoy the discussion of Native American women included in the text, though some passages felt dismissive of the culture and quickly returned to white women. The Native Americans seemed included only as far as they contextualized the lives of whites.

All in all, it was an interesting book with good information, though the tone and density of the text was sometimes difficult to slog through. I found myself skimming and skipping pages oftener than I did other texts on the same subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars First Generations: Women in Colonial America, November 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: First Generations: Women in Colonial America (Paperback)
First Generations: Women in Colonial America - So far I have only completed the first two chapters, but I found it to be very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read., August 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very interesting book. I like that it has information on African Americans, Native Americans, and different type of immigrants. Good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, September 26, 2014
By 
Jeffrey W Fiore (South San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Had to get it for US History class. Its an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: First Generations: Women in Colonial America (Paperback)
required reading for my son - fast shipping
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, September 30, 2014
This review is from: First Generations: Women in Colonial America (Paperback)
Great at the beginning of each chapter. Y
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality, February 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Although I wish the book had come in sooner, that's just something that I can't complain because it's out of my control, but when the book did come in, I was delighted to see what great condition it was in! Absolutely perfect and brand new! Thank you for packaging the book so nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars womens studies primer, March 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: First Generations: Women in Colonial America (Paperback)
the book which i didnt even need to use was a waste it was a womens studies primer and should have been titled as such.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

First Generations: Women in Colonial America
First Generations: Women in Colonial America by Carol Berkin (Paperback - July 1, 1997)
$16.00 $15.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.