Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Community"
The book provides an excellent introduction to Kwanzaa that parents could use to increase their understanding of the holiday. In addition, the book evokes the theme of community throughout the pages, an enduring aspect of African culture. For example, the extended family becomes involves in celebrating Kwanzaa in the story. Also, as the family celebrates Kwanzaa,...
Published on December 8, 2008 by Steven C. Thedford

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good book
This was a good book. It was an easy read for my students and helped them understand the holiday. Thanks!
Published 24 months ago by barbi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Community", December 8, 2008
This review is from: My First Kwanzaa Book (Paperback)
The book provides an excellent introduction to Kwanzaa that parents could use to increase their understanding of the holiday. In addition, the book evokes the theme of community throughout the pages, an enduring aspect of African culture. For example, the extended family becomes involves in celebrating Kwanzaa in the story. Also, as the family celebrates Kwanzaa, candles are lit on the kinara at the bottom right of the book. At the end, the book provides a nice summary of the Dr Maulalna Karenga the founder of the book and provides additional information on the principles and symbols of Kwanzaa.

The Kwanzaa Coloring Book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kwanzaa Books are hard to come by it has help me with Kwanzaa greatly, April 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My First Kwanzaa Book (Hardcover)
Kwanzaa Books are hard to come by!!!!!!!!!!!! And this book it has help me with Kwanzaa I love it its apart of my celebration
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grammy's Gift for a little girl., September 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My First Kwanzaa Book (Paperback)
We are working on teaching my granddaughter about different cultures and traditions. This book was on target, on time, and in super condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, August 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My First Kwanzaa Book (Paperback)
I just want to say I just love this book so much. And I have learned so much fro, it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book for young children, July 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My First Kwanzaa Book (Paperback)
I purchased this book for my 5 year old granddaughter. Her Kindergarten class discussed Kwanzaa during the month of December.
She shared with me what the class discussed concerning Kwanzaa, and asked me do we celebrate Kwanzaa?. I decided to purchase a book for her to build her library. The book is very helpful in explaining what Kwanzaa is to a young child and also others who would like to learn about Kwanzaa in an abbreviated way. Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good book, February 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My First Kwanzaa Book (Paperback)
This was a good book. It was an easy read for my students and helped them understand the holiday. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kwanzaa Keeper, December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My First Kwanzaa Book (Paperback)
I liked this book to help understand this holiday from a families' perspective. The text and illustrations are great to really connect with how and why Kwanzaa is celebrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very well, November 15, 2000
By 
"iodacsc" (Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
This review is from: My First Kwanzaa Book (Paperback)
It was About Kwanzaa. The Seven candles and the kinara, mishumaa saba, and lots of cool stuff. I celebrate Kwanzaa every year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

My First Kwanzaa Book
My First Kwanzaa Book by Deborah M. Newton Chocolate (Paperback - October 1, 1999)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.