Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's fun and you can dance to it...
I had real high hopes for this band when I was a 15 year old in 1970.Being a devoted Small Faces and Jeff Beck Group fan I truly believed the musical marriage of McLagen,Lane and Jones with Mr. Stewart and Mr. Wood would result in a "supergroup" that was actually both super and a group.I guess what I ended up with was more like a minor league Stones without all...
Published on January 13, 2001 by David Kinney

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First Step Indeed
Anyone whom is familiar with late sixties British Blues/Rock knows fairly well the interchanging circles within various musicians of the time period. Steve Marriott had left the Small Faces and formed Humble Pie with Peter Frampton(ex-Herd) and Greg Ridley(ex-Spooky Tooth). Rod Stewart and Ron Wood had served their formative time with Jeff Beck and due to the guitarist's...
Published on January 11, 2012 by Thirty-Ought Six


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's fun and you can dance to it..., January 13, 2001
By 
David Kinney (San Francisco, Ca. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: First Step (Audio CD)
I had real high hopes for this band when I was a 15 year old in 1970.Being a devoted Small Faces and Jeff Beck Group fan I truly believed the musical marriage of McLagen,Lane and Jones with Mr. Stewart and Mr. Wood would result in a "supergroup" that was actually both super and a group.I guess what I ended up with was more like a minor league Stones without all the drama and baggage those guys were totin' around at the time. But it's okay because, just as attending a minor league baseball game can be a more intimate and enjoyable experience than watching the big leagues sometimes,The Faces are just out to entertain you here.No serious messages(not even the Meher Baba inspired "Stone" should be taken too seriously).They're just four very talented journeyman musicians and one soon -to- be- superstar peacock havin' some laughs and lager. Listening to the CD these days makes me very nostalgic for those innocent first days of this band ,and truth be told, nostalgia probably made me add a star to the rating. But I can wholeheartedly recommend the following cuts on the record ;"Wicked Messenger","Three Button Hand Me Down" "The Monkey and the Pineapple"(as close to Booker T. as any limey band ever got), and the aforementioned Ronnie Lane ditty "Stone".The rest of the album is merely good early seventies British rock which means it is better than 90% of the stuff coming off of of that island these days...so Faces fans, Stewart fans(this is when he was good ya'll)...buy this record and take that first step with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Step, August 6, 2004
This review is from: First Step (Audio CD)
Around the Plynth alone makes this disc worth the purchase price. Suggested companion disc: Rod Stewart's Gasoline Alley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent and a half, August 30, 2010
This review is from: First Step (Audio CD)
Long before Rod Stewart sold out with disco singles like "Do You Think I'm Sexy," in fact long before disco at all, he was making fantastic British Rock with first the Jeff Beck Group, than the Faces, which he hooked up with as they grew from being the Small Faces.

You probably won't recognize any of this wonderfully organic, blues based rock. But the organ, biting guitar, and fantastic bass work made this music some of the most genuine and sincere rock and roll of the very early 1970s. If Serpent Power and the Doors and Lothar And The Hand People were the dark tunnels of 3am early FM radio in America, the Faces were the daylight, for the daytime. Too ambitious for Top 40 AM.

I came to this not knowing any of this music and that is a great advantage. With "classic rock" being great music that has been played out, it is wonderful to know there is still that which flaked off as free form FM became playlisted AOR.

It is there to be discovered all over again. Start here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First Step Indeed, January 11, 2012
This review is from: First Step (Audio CD)
Anyone whom is familiar with late sixties British Blues/Rock knows fairly well the interchanging circles within various musicians of the time period. Steve Marriott had left the Small Faces and formed Humble Pie with Peter Frampton(ex-Herd) and Greg Ridley(ex-Spooky Tooth). Rod Stewart and Ron Wood had served their formative time with Jeff Beck and due to the guitarist's unfortunate auto accident, JBG had ceased operating as a functional unit. Enter Ronnie Lane, Ian McLagan and Kenney Jones whom were looking for a guitarist/singer to replace the hole left by Marriott; what they got were a pair of erstwhile, kindred spirits whom actually transformed the group into something a bit different from Steve's tenure within the group. Holding onto the old moniker of "Small Faces" for this debut(mostly out of respect for the former incarnation, coupled with possible record company pressure for projected album sales), from the opening organ strains of Dylan's Wicked Messenger through onto the album's rockin' groovin' closer Three Button Hand Me Down, First Step is, in fact, quite something different from the Small Faces of old.

With the new guard of Stewart and Wood coming into the ranks, Ronnie Lane suddenly has yet another angle to work his songwriting ideas into shape and tracks like Devotion, Nobody Knows and Flying are testimony to this newfound chemistry. Rod Stewart's vocal style is a catalyst not only for his budding parallel solo career, but provides a totally unique style for this band to project their own sound and the ability to move forward artisically. Shake, Shudder is a gritty blues rocker and allows Wood to show his guitar wares while exposing Stewart's powerful pipes and thus proves the power of this Faces sonically charged musical machine. Around the Plynth is a slide guitar showcase for Wood and makes one wonder of his time period with Jeff Beck as a catalyst as well for building up his guitar chops and creating a voice and style all his own. Of the two instrumentals featured here Pineapple and the Monkey and Looking Out the Window, Pineapple is a tad more interesting in delivery, melody and arrangement; even though both tracks are merely filler for this release, regardless. Lane's Stone is a folksy/minstrel-like track that lyrically ponders the idea of reincarnation(Lane, like Pete Townshend was a follower of Meher Baba, a spiritual guru of the time period), and is seemingly the oddball track featured here.

Closing with Three Button Hand Me Down(an early classic), First Step can be seen as a promising debut for a group that has reinvented itself and moves forward from its previous past. This release is certainly not the strongest one from the Faces, but it is an important outing regardless. 3 and a half Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sound That Launched the 70's, February 9, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: First Step (Audio CD)
When Rod Stewart joined the Small Faces on this album, who would have guessed what was to come. This is the mixed birth of Honky Tonk, Blues, early Funk and a smidgen of Folk music. There are heavy riffs, honky tonk piano's and a gravely blues voice that would become as big a part of rock music as any has so far.
Anyone who loves to shimmy and shake across the floor to later Rod Stewart " Hot Legs" or Ronnie Wood and the Stones needs to score this CD and see where it originated. A must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Faces find Ron and Rod, December 13, 2011
By 
J. Bynum (the southwest) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: First Step (Audio CD)
Small Faces (Faces) / First Step: This is the first album that Small Faces (who would soon change their name to simply, "Faces") had finished with Ron Wood and Rod Stewart in the lineup. Their version of Bob Dylan's "Wicked Messenger" is amazing. The rest of the album is good, but never rises above the first cut. A nice four-star release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The legit 1st "Faces" album!!!!, September 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: First Step (Audio CD)
The cover says Small Faces but make no mistake this is the "Faces" line up, their first album in fact. As Steve Marriot left the "Small Faces" to form "Humble Pie" the remaining members were in turmoil, it just so happened that "The Jeff Beck Group" had broken up leaving Rod Stewart & Ron Wood available to join the group! Thank God for that!!! This album is often referred to as "First Step" in reference to the First step in learning to play guitar book held ironically in Ron Woods hands. When they made this album the members in the band were nervous about playing with each other not realizing the chemistry they had & that only putting out 4 studio albums would earn them a spot in "The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame"!!! They may have been nervous but you can hear the chemistry & energy that would bring fame to the band in this first album! They sound like they had been working together for years & in a way they had been, only in different bands! Think about it 4 studio albums that put you in "The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame" that is a strong testament to the quality of those 4 albums & the 5 guys that forever carved their niche into the world of Rock & Roll & from reading the liner notes from their Anthology had a lot of fun doing it ! That is until Rod Stewart was starting his solo career while being an active member of the "Faces", this had little effect on Ron Wood as he had already gotten invited to join "The Rolling Stones" at this time. But it spelled doom for the remaining members who had already went through this when Steve Marriot left! If your a fan of the "Faces" you already know how incredible their music is & how strong all 4 albums are!! If you haven't heard them you are in for a treat !!! If you love classic rock I am confident that you can buy all 4 "Faces" albums or I should say C.D."S & you will have no regrets. This band is just that good!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware of monaural NOT stereo reproduction of this CD, June 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: First Step (Audio CD)
The original LP had a sound engineer playing with the controls to show the listener how wild he could be using sliders and knobs to bounce guitar riffs from one ear to the other, especially when listening on headphones. If you ever listened to "around the plynth" as originally recorded on the LP you will know what I mean. It gave new appreciation for stereo studio mixing as great as that from Led Zeplin early albums. The notes bounce from side to side(l to r and then "circular")so often it will get you dizzy. Unfortunately I can't find a CD with these stereo effects. All 3 CDs I've purchased are remastered in MONO. All purchased from different sources. If you have a friend with the LP a listen with headphones is an experience likened to true "quadraphonic" (4 track reproduction)during its shortlived intro in 1973.
So I guess I'll have to hook my old dual turntable to the computer and clean up the 33 1/3 hiss and crackle and transfer to CD via software. Yes, it will be worth ALL the extra time. If you are able to hear the original I know you will agree.
robert michael
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Well-Titled Album, September 15, 2011
This review is from: First Step (Audio CD)
After Steve Marriott ditched the Small Faces, the three remaining members (Ronnie Lane, Ian McLagan, and Kenny Jones) joined up with Rod Stewart and Ron Wood, formerly of the Jeff Beck Band, to make this record.

Though credited to the "Small Faces," it's best understood as the first record of the new band, the Faces. And it is an appropriately-titled record, for it is a first step for this new band. Classic Faces tunes like Three Button Hand Me Down and their kick-butt remake of Dylan's Wicked Messenger are diluted by some obvious filler, like Pineapple and the Monkey. On the next two records -- Long Player and A Nod's As Good As A Wink -- the filler would go and all that would be left is essential rock-and-roll.

If you're new to the Faces, get those discs first then circle back to First Step.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars first step, August 22, 2011
This review is from: First Step (Audio CD)
This was a First Step indeed. The First step the Faces took after dismantling the Small faces and rock n Roll was all the better for it. This was the first of a string of great faces and Rod Stewart solo records. It didnt last long. Both were basically gone from the rock n roll scene by 1974, but it was great while it lasted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

First Step
First Step by Faces
Buy MP3 Album$9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.