Customer Reviews


308 Reviews
5 star:
 (269)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HUGE hit with my son and tons of fun
My five year old received this castle today and he absolutely loves it. It is massive but folds up to a more reasonable size. I love the fact that it can be unfolded and configured in different ways - it has a more 3-D sort of feel than most Imgainext sets that just have a front and a back. This can be set up with more of a courtyard feel with sides all around...
Published on August 4, 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars imaginext 2 bad toys out of 5
i got Imaginext Eagle Talon Castle on valentines and it,s wing armor broke today and the Imaginext Eagle Talon Castle battering ram,s sounds stopped around ten minutes after receipt.
Published 10 months ago by Joe Ferraro


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HUGE hit with my son and tons of fun, August 4, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
My five year old received this castle today and he absolutely loves it. It is massive but folds up to a more reasonable size. I love the fact that it can be unfolded and configured in different ways - it has a more 3-D sort of feel than most Imgainext sets that just have a front and a back. This can be set up with more of a courtyard feel with sides all around.

There are TONS of fun actions which can be activated by the figures. The castle transforms, lights and sounds are activated, and all sorts of other actions are triggered. Coolest of all, playing with certain accessories will cause the castle to make noises and react! My son loves this aspect and it adds a huge sense of realism to the play experience.

The castle comes with a lot of accessories (my son especially liked the treasure chest that really opens) and there are also a large variety of accessory sets available for purchase separately.

The castle is elaborate with a lot of different rooms and things for the figures to do. I'd say that with this castle, Fisher Price has come very close to a "dollhouse for boys" that will have a lot of play value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good toy for young-school age children, August 23, 2012
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This toy is a bit bigger than I expected! I know they put the dimensions on the product description and also explained that it expands, but it's very big!

Pros: Bright colors, good seemingly durable plastic, on/off switch on the bottom of the castle for the lights/voices, large variety of actions/activities that can be done (windows can be opened or closed, 2 small doors and one drawbridge that activates the sound effects, a separate cannon that when shot makes sound effects from the castle...they interact from up to 12ft away), a hiding place for the treasure chest, a breakaway wall, balconies, 2 detachable ladders, 4 interchangeable flags, 3 knights that have interchangeable weapons, shields, and armor, 8 circular discs for shooting out of the castle or being flung from one of 2 catapults, and the cannon I mentioned earlier with 2 things to shoot out of it. Overall, 32 extra pieces besides the castle and...

This toy also comes with a DVD! I was not expecting that. It says on the DVD sleeve 14 minutes, but the main movie which has to do with the castle and characters was over 15 minutes long. Also, there are 8 other shorter movies on the DVD that have to do with the knight from the castle or other imaginext toy characters. The movie was pretty cute. Your basic knight in a castle with a dragon trying to get in. The morals at the end were to not be bossy, working together to solve a problem is better than working alone, and trust others whose outward appearances might be different. The movie features a dragon and ogre characters that the castle doesn't come with, thus you are encouraged to buy those for your child :)

Cons: all of the pieces to keep track of...pieces are good to add to the adventure and play, but then you also have to keep track of them all :)
Also, I'm not sure how long the expanding and contracting of the walls of this castle will hold up. The parts that expand are flimsier (so as to fold up nicely) and seem like they might snap easily...I don't know. This hasn't happened yet.
The window on the right of the front of the castle has a circular kind of closing mechanism, pieces come down like a fan in front of the window when someone turns a piece on the top. On our toy (this might not happen with everyone's) the "fan" never really closes all of the way unless you push really hard to snap it into place. This seems like a flaw somewhere in the design as this toy is made for 3-8 year olds...I could see even a 7-8 year old having trouble snapping it into place, then trying to unsnap it to close the window again.
The eagle's head that comes out of the top of the castle doesn't really lock into place. But, the button to shoot the disks is on the side of his head. So you spend a moment getting a grip on the eagle's head (since it moves and doesn't lock) then try to push the button which is a little tricky.

Overall, I think this is a good toy. I can see both girls and boys really liking it and enjoying the DVD then wanting to play with it more. I also like the fact that this came with knights to interact with...not just the castle shell where you have to then go out and buy more stuff to play with. There are additional characters to buy, but a child would be happy just playing with the included pieces...at least for a little while :)

**UPDATE** 11/7/12 - My 2-year-old nephew has been playing with this toy regularly over the past few weeks. My brother-in-law added these comments to review the toy.
1) Price: 4/5 stars - Compared to other similar toys, $50 seems like a reasonable price, more than that is a bit too high.
2) Storage: 2/5 stars - The castle folds up to a compact unit, however it doesn't have any type of locking parts to keep it together. The 32 parts have no place to be stored. You need to use a zip lock back to keep all the 32 parts together.
3) Use of imagination: 5/5 stars - The castle is great for one child or 2 children and it is great for their imagination with the features of: talking draw bridge, the cannon fire audio, the shooting eagle, the launching cannons, and the launching catapults. The 32 parts further help keep the imagination going.
4) Instruction manual: 3/5 stars - The major flaw in the instruction manual is there is not an inventory list of all the 32 parts. The manual only highlights the mechanical parts and battery changing instructions.
5) Overall rating of the castle: 4/5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots to discover, good value, August 31, 2012
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I'm always surprised by how far we've come in terms of toys for children that provide endless entertainment while encouraging learning, for an economical price point. The imaginext eagle talon castle falls in this category since it has so many secret compartments, walls, windows, a drawbridge, cannons, and people to explore. What's even more entertaining is that you can fit the people and weapons into various areas of the castle and when you trigger them, it will activate lights and sounds of men in battle. I'd say that overall the castle looks like a plastic castle, but overall it's pretty durable. The only attribute that is out of place is the sticker in the front of the castle that depicts an Ogre and a Dragon that look rather Pokemon-ish that inspires one to look for additional accessories. Apparently there is a separately sold Ogre, Dragon, and catapult that are available which would be great for older children, especially since one of the sounds is "Dragon, Look out!" The younger 3-5 ages likely wouldn't need the additional components, but I think the 6-8 year olds would have fun with the full battle. Last, but not least, it comes with a cute dvd about what is apparently a popular knight and a dragon that's popular with kids with other Fisher Price toys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ****UPDATED ***OCT 26/12*****5 Stars All The Way!!!!!, August 27, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
=================================================================================================

***UPDATE OCTOBER 25, 2012***

After owning Fisher-Price's Imaginext Eagle Talon Castle for two months I wanted to post a quick update. My son will be quiet so I'll peek into his room to see what he's doing and nine times out of ten he will be playing with his eagle castle (with his Toy Story or superhero guys). We have not bought any additional items to go with the castle to date but plan on getting the big green ogre as a Christmas present because that is the one extra that he really wants. Great play value with this toy!

=================================================================================================

This is a quality toy castle that I highly recommend. My three year old is totally engaged with it and all the things that it can do right out of the box. But it is not limited to toddlers / preschoolers as evidenced in our home by the fight over ownership between my three year old and his nine year old twin brothers who wanted to use the castle as a base for their Halo MegaBlock action figures.

The castle comes with enough extras that I don't feel the need to buy this or that not included piece to allow it to be played with as it was designed to be. Three Knights, a canon with spear type ammo, two small disk catapults, the catapults themselves and lots of interactive operation on the castle along with sounds, phrases etc. Really a very well thought out/designed toy. The castle is quite large when fully extended and can be folded back into itself when needed.

Can't rave enough about it. A++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A TON of Fun!, September 12, 2012
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Wow! This was much more than I expected. It is so much fun watching a child's eyes light up as this toy interact with them. The sound effects as certain parts of it interact with the castle and how you can configure it make this a unique toy. It has a lot of parts and will require some clean up when done but this is a lot of fun. Even girls have a great time with it but for sure, this is a boy's toy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great toy, August 23, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Great toy. My 4 year old daughter is sooo into princesses that even though this is a boy toy, I thought she would really like it and let me tell you, she looooves it. I told her that she had to supply her own princesses which is was not a problem given the size of her collection.

This toy is big. It folds out to about 3 feet wide. It comes with 3 nights, 2 of them are blue and the other one is grey. There are lots of moving parts in the castle like the draw bridge, trick doors on the balcony, and parts of the walls are actually doors that when opened look like the enemy has busted through the castle wall. At the top center of the castle is a stand for a knight. When it is twisted, the castle transforms as wings come out of the sides and a birds head out of the middle. It also makes quite a bit of noise like an eagle cry and a voice saying 'TRANSFORMATION COMPLETE'!. But my favorite part is the cannon. It is a separate piece to accompany a knight that is attacking the castle. When you press the button on the cannon, the castle lights flash, a siren sounds, and it says 'WARNING, WE ARE UNDER ATTACK!'. Its very cool. It can all be cleaned up somewhat easily as there are compartments in the castle for all of the weapons, shields, and armor that come with it. Overall I think this is a great toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great toy, August 21, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a great toy for imagination play. I have to say it is huge and comes with lots of fun for kids. I brought some of the other figures to go with it. My son also added his own figures and played with this for hours. It does take up a lot of room, but on a kids table as well on the floor.This folds easy and the parts move great from the door to the ladders and cannon. The wall will cave in like someone threw a boulder at it,to funny.This is very durable and was built to last. Great toy ........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertainment for hours, May 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fisher-Price Imaginext Eagle Talon Castle (Toy)
I generally avoid "large" toys like this that are so very detailed that you can only use them for one thing. But, I bought this on a whim when Amazon had the price very low, and have not regretted it. My son plays with it quite a bit -- at least a few times a week. He also has the big Batcave from Imaginext, but rarely plays with that. In fact, he uses the superhero characters with this castle instead of with the Batcave. Imaginext gets a big thumbs up from me on making all of the characters from the different sets the same size so that Superman can wear knight clothes :)

The castle has a hidden area to hide the treasure chest, removable ladders, and can fold up a little bit when you're not playing with it. It can also interact with other Imaginext castle toys like the Ogre and some of the weapons. This part is nice, but my son doesn't really seem to care about that aspect of it.

I would recommend this for kids 3-7 or so. My son is almost 5 and enjoys it, and has had friends over that are 6+ that enjoy it as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Castle for Boys and/or Girls, August 29, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
We've been big Imaginext fans for years. Stuff I bought my now 9 year old is still being played with by him, as well as his 2 year old brother. This line by Fisher-Price is well built and fun.

The Eagle Talon Castle reminds me a lot of the Batcaves we've had in size. Lots to do and play with. There are a few small parts to lose, like the little red shooting disks (similar to the yellow shooting disks used in the Batcoptor or Batplane (can't remember which)). Cats love to chase them as well. :) Still, it doesn't matter. Your kids will play hours and hours with this.

We got it maybe a week after seeing "Brave", so that definitely added to the appeal. We had also bought these two characters, one was Imaginext Black Ninja and Horse and the other Imaginext® Archer and Horse, a few months before which they used with it.

My one wish is that Fisher-Price and others would realize that often people have kids of both sexes and they play with each other's toys. Adding a few girl figures would be a great way to add appeal to both (and no, they don't just need to be princesses).

Also comes with a DVD that my kids enjoyed. (Kids are 9, 7, 5, and 2).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hours of fun!, November 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Purchased as a Christmas gift for my son. He was getting all the accessories from other family members. We ordered close to last minute, still got it earlier than expected. It is so cute and my son still enjoys playing with it almost a year later. All the little nooks, trap doors, lights and interactive noises make this comparable to, or better, than any doll-house I ever could have had as a little girl:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fisher-Price Imaginext Eagle Talon Castle
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.