Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cute and fun
This rocking giraffe is an instant hit with our 12 month old. He enjoys climbing on and off - a bit of a developmental challenge but he can do it - and rocking. While I can't tell that the music changes as he rocks harder, the lights and music do seem to make it more fun. He's just barely big enough to climb on, which seems about right since he's at the bottom of the...
Published 13 months ago by lainibug

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rocking Giraffe
I received this item today, having ordered it for my 13-month old boy. The toy looks very much like its picture. It is plastic, fairly light and easy to assemble (Philips head screwdriver required). The battery compartment was a slight pain to get off due to recessed screws; I had to find a second, skinnier screwdriver for this. No batteries were provided (3 AA required),...
Published 15 months ago by J. Stewart


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rocking Giraffe, August 20, 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fisher-Price Rockin' Tunes Giraffe (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I received this item today, having ordered it for my 13-month old boy. The toy looks very much like its picture. It is plastic, fairly light and easy to assemble (Philips head screwdriver required). The battery compartment was a slight pain to get off due to recessed screws; I had to find a second, skinnier screwdriver for this. No batteries were provided (3 AA required), but I have plenty at the house so this wasn't an issue (and I got the toy for free so I can't complain too much).

The toy itself is bright with blinking lights and music/phrases that seem to respond when the baby rocks or hits it. He seems to like spinning the little wheel at the top of the neck (the giraffe responds with "that tickles"). The only negatives I can readily see are 1) the giraffe seems kind of small (my boy is smallish for his age at 19 lbs and fits on it nicely but he is also on the lower end of the 12-36 month recommended age for the toy), and 2) the toy is somewhat easy to tip (the baby is always bracing himself on things when trying to stand up) since it is light and narrow. Other than that, my boy seemed happy to play with it for 10 minutes or so and that is about the attention span he has for most toys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cute and fun, October 16, 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fisher-Price Rockin' Tunes Giraffe (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This rocking giraffe is an instant hit with our 12 month old. He enjoys climbing on and off - a bit of a developmental challenge but he can do it - and rocking. While I can't tell that the music changes as he rocks harder, the lights and music do seem to make it more fun. He's just barely big enough to climb on, which seems about right since he's at the bottom of the recommended age range and on the smaller side for his age. Our older son is about the size of the average two-year-old and can still fit on it just fine, but the recommended up to age 36 months would be pushing it for many children.

This does require a bit of assembly with a Phillips head screwdriver - and it will need to be on the small side to access the battery compartment. Assembly is pretty easy to figure out and relatively quick, but if you're giving this as a gift you probably want to put it together before-hand. Also remember you'll want to have the 3 AA batteries that are not included.

Overall I think this is a great gift for a one year old. At that age they should be able to enjoy it for awhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tons of fun!, September 11, 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fisher-Price Rockin' Tunes Giraffe (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
My son (15 months) absolutely loves this toy. He started to play with it even before I had it put together. Assembly was easy - phillips head screwdriver and 3 AA batteries. He rocked on it right away even though he had never been on a rocking horse before. He especially loves the music and the phrases that the giraffe makes! There is a volume control button in case you just can't stand to hear that music any more. The toy also has lights that respond to the child's rocking motion. The toy seems durable and easy to clean and hopefully will be used by other children in the family. Seems like a winner at a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great rockin' toy for toddlers!, November 9, 2014
By 
P Kellett (Oak Point, Texas) - See all my reviews
The Rockin' Tunes Giraffe has quickly become one of my 14 mo grandson's favorite toys. He's a very active little boy, running and climbing and jumping all day, but after easily swinging a leg over the giraffe's back, he's content to sit quietly for several minutes at a time and just rock back and forth. He immediately knew what to do with the spinning music and light activator situated between the giraffe's ears, and loves the cute music. He is about 31 inches tall and 24 lbs. and is just the right size for this rocking "horse". His feet can rest flat footed on the ground or on the rockers, and he prefers to hold onto the ears rather than the handle pegs.

The pros about this toy:
The rockers are long enough to prevent tip-overs, even with vigorous rocking.
Assembly was easy, about 15 minutes.
The music is pleasant for adult ears, not too loud or obnoxious. There are several recognizable children's tunes that are fun to sing along to.
The 2 level volume control is located under the belly, within easy reach for adults, but hidden from little fingers. There is also an off position that completely turns off the lights and music without affecting the rocking.
The saddle area is curved to help prevent sliding off the back and helps stabilize little bodies for more confident rocking!
The colors coordinate well in our Jungle-theme playroom. It looks exactly like the pictures.
The construction is sturdy, molded plastic with few edges. The solid surfaces are easy to keep clean.
The handles are big enough for the kid's hands to fit comfortably without pinching.

The cons are few:
I wish there was a set of footrests on the front legs. Sometimes his toes seem close to getting under the rocker, but no pinches so far.
It would have been cute to manufacture the giraffe with rollers on all four legs, so it could be used as a ride only toy. There is a rocking horse that has the option of rollers or rockers, and that would extend the use of this toy.

Overall, this is a great activity toy for 12 months to probably at least 30 months, possibly longer if the child isn't too tall. Very cute!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple but effective, September 1, 2013
By 
This review is from: Fisher-Price Rockin' Tunes Giraffe (Toy)
Just got this today for my 17 mth old but wish I would have found it 6 mths ago. We have a rocking horse similar to the Happy Trails Plush horse and while we like it, it is probably more appropriate for a 2 1/2 yr old as she can't get on or off by herself due to it being so tall. The giraffe rocker is short and skinny which allows my daughter to get on and off by herself. It lights up and plays catchy tunes which she loves. Supposedly the music changes the faster they rock but I haven't found this to be true. Overall we like it and considering the cost of things now days I think $40 is not too bad considering it will last a good two years before out growing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun!, November 1, 2013
By 
carol kois (Evanston, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My 1 yr. old granddaughter instantly fell in love with her giraffe. She hasn't quite figured out how to get him rocking but
is delighted to just sit on it, everyday! Easy to assemble and very sturdy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute rocking toy (but how many giraffes live in rainforests?), August 27, 2013
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fisher-Price Rockin' Tunes Giraffe (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Is it a sign of the times when it's not enough for a rocker to be a horsey? Now we have any number of rocking animals. Granted, this giraffe is a cutie, but, still, the words "rocking horse" trip off the tongue easier than "rocking giraffe". But my 11-month-old grandson doesn't care what animal he's on. I just plop him on the giraffe and he has a great time.

The rocker comes in parts but it's easy to put together (assuming you have 2 sizes of Phillips screwdrivers on hand) and once 3 AA batteries (not included) are in, your child is off and rocking, with flashing lights and music to entertain him/her.

This seems pretty stable but since my grandson is not walking yet, the rocker's stability hasn't really been tested. When he starts getting a bit rougher and more active will be the moment of truth.

The music is pleasant and varied. There's one calypso tune that's catchy and several others that are tried and true kids' songs. The more you rock, the more active the giraffe's lights and sounds are. There's also a rollerball at the top of the giraffe's head which activates more sounds and phrases when the child bats at it.

I can see that the older my grandson gets, the more fun he'll have on this. He's not yet one and the recommended age is 1-3 years. I imagine that as the child gets taller, he may need to rest his feet on the rails of the rocker rather than setting them on the floor. Rocking could be more fun that way anyway.

BTW, there's a volume-control button which adults will appreciate for those moments when that calypso tune doesn't sound quite as catchy as the first hundred times you heard it.

(Edited on 9/17 to note that since I wrote my review, the name of this rocking toy has been changed. There's no "Rainforest" to be seen in the name anymore. Now what am I supposed to do with the title of this review?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 16 month old Grandson loved it., January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Rockin' tunes and the light up mane kept my grandson laughing and enjoying the Giraffe. He was rocking away on it in no time and kept him amused for quite awhile. The toy is well made and easy to get on and off. i would recommend this for any young child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It does the job for a reasonable cost., September 9, 2013
By 
Atomicwasteland (Rockville, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fisher-Price Rockin' Tunes Giraffe (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This rocking-giraffe is a good enough value, and of well enough construction, and interactive enough that it may be an entertaining purchase for your 1 year old.
Positives:

++ WHEN ROCKING, THE GIRAFFE IS MUSICAL. If ever there was an incentive to young children to do something, it is the cause and effect of `my actions cause electronic noises'. This horse, sorry, this GIRAFFE, is no exception. It does its noisy job well.

+ MULTI-VOLUME CONTROL. There is a switch on the bottom which turns the volume off, or to loud, or to very loud. (Not sure when you'd ever need the very loud setting, but my sympathies to you if you are forced to listen to it for minutes on end).

+ EASY TO SET UP. Yes, this requires a Phillips head screwdriver, and about 10 minutes to assemble and put in 6 screws, but there was nothing difficult about it.

+ THE MANE LIGHTS UP. This is a neat feature. When the child moves the rocker the entire mane lights up in bright red -definitely something that will catch the child's eye.

+ ROLLERBALL IS INTERACTIVE. Not a big deal, but if you spin the rollerball at the top it makes various noises. So, not only can the baby rock, the baby can spin the heck out of the roller and make even more of a racket.

Negatives:

- HARD TO GET AT THE BATTERY COMPARTMENT. You can get it with a thin Phillips head screwdriver, but both screws are deeply recessed, and there are two of them. They could have done the same thing with a single screw (like many other toys), or no screws at all. This makes it a pain to change batteries unless you have the screwdriver handy and five minutes.

- BATTERIES NOT INCLUDED. Not a big deal, but many toys these days come with the batteries pre-installed.

Overall, it seems decent and will entertain the little ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, December 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
BOUGHT THIS FOR MY GREAT GREAT NEICE AND SHE DEARLY LOVES IT. SHE WILL BE ABLE TO PLAY ON THIS TOY FOR SOME TIME AS SHE IS ONLY 15 MONTHS OLD. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SUCH A GREAT TOY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fisher-Price Rockin' Tunes Giraffe
$39.99 $23.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.