Customer Reviews


228 Reviews
5 star:
 (213)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


159 of 165 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEXY and mysterious and she stars in a crime series
A stellar Season 1; Season 2 is as Deco-delicious as the first.
Self-indulgent flapper Miss Fisher and her world are Hotsy-Totsy. Nifty! Kerry Greenwood, who's novels are adapted, calls this TV series "Perfect". Sets -locations- costumes -props, all the Bees Knees. Worth more than 5-stars, like Poirot, Downton Abbey, and Midsomer Murders. Ritzy 1920s Jazz...
Published 11 months ago by Harold Wolf

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Secondary Characters Now Star Here
Firm plots and grand costumes but Detective Fisher is showing age around her neck. Is this what drives her to exchange increasingly smoldering looks with Detective Jack between her increasingly frequent sexual bouts with any Dick or Tom whose scent she detects with her lascivious nose? Increasingly tiresome describes this series. By the time Miss Fisher beds Jack -- if...
Published 9 days ago by Nana of Three


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

159 of 165 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEXY and mysterious and she stars in a crime series, December 21, 2013
By 
Harold Wolf "Doc" (Wells, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
A stellar Season 1; Season 2 is as Deco-delicious as the first.
Self-indulgent flapper Miss Fisher and her world are Hotsy-Totsy. Nifty! Kerry Greenwood, who's novels are adapted, calls this TV series "Perfect". Sets -locations- costumes -props, all the Bees Knees. Worth more than 5-stars, like Poirot, Downton Abbey, and Midsomer Murders. Ritzy 1920s Jazz included.
Flapper Period Bliss! I'm hoping for a ten-season run.

Phryne Fisher was a dame, brisk, but also innately kind, wealthy but hasn't lost the memory of her past poverty. She was heartwarming, sexy, funny, gutsy, intelligent, and late 29s modern-lady perfection. This arrogant, brash, flirt carried a .38, a diaphragm, and was a kleptomaniac with crime scene evidence items. Phryne (pronounced Fry-nee) was spiffily played by Essie Davis (Girl with a Pearl Earring). A PI, always a step ahead of the local cops, not unlike Poirot, Miss Marple, and Sherlock. Cops DI Jack (Nathan Page) and Constable Hugh (Hugo Johnstone-Burt -`Cloudstreet'); both deserved "Hugo" accolades. The last of the every episode cast was Dot (Ashleigh Cummings) a darling maid. All Aussies, like the production, but it was NOT Outback stereotyped.

SDH SUBTITLES FOR 13 new episodes as well as nearly an episode-length of bonus.
1 Murder Most Scandalous -PI Phrynbe's undercover fan dances while the Dep.Comm. is investigated for floozy murder.
2 Death Comes Knocking -A seance is 1st clue to 2 WWI murders but Phryne asks vets for 1916 battlefield accounts.
3 Dead Man's Chest - Burglary case turns to triple homicide and secrets beyond 'who-dun-it.'
4 Deadweight -Fight throwing and illegal bets is sure to lead to a murder. See it ringside.
5 Murder a la Mode -More to it than just murder via hairpin at a high fashion salon. Like "House of Elliot" a must own series.
6 Marked for Murder -Is football captain hanging death suicide or foul play?
7 Blood at the Wheel -When a female dies in a race car, Phryne gets behind the wheel.
8 The Blood of Juana the Mad -A professor joins his anatomy class as the cadaver
9 Framed for Murder -Silent movie leading man's death on-set in Phryne's own film investment. Can she direct too?
10 Death on the Vine -Local town objects to Phryne's look into a pair of vineyard deaths.
11 Dead Air -Another 3JH Radio Station incident--choked to death--but this time Jack's undercover.
12 Unnatural Habits -What's happening at the convent that gets a wayward girl bound & drowned?
13 Murder Under the Mistletoe -July Christmas in a chalet, but Father Christmas turns into the Grim Reaper; and a partridge in a pear tree.

Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sexiest Detective is back (even sexier) and even better jazz score this time. Review includes Bonus Features but NO SPOILERS, May 11, 2014
First a note: If you are coming to this review but have not watched Season/Series One, PLEASE go back to Season One and watch that first. It will put things in a better perspective to enjoy what has become my favorite mystery series (among many!). Really. Trust me. You can see my review of Series One here: http://www.amazon.com/review/R314SAGWHSEPCE/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B00A27O5AW and I promise - ”NO SPOILERS” (I hate them!)

Now that I’ve encouraged you to start with Series One, I’ll turn my attention to this product – I don't see the BD version listed on Amazon yet - The actual release date is May 27th - I was provided a review copy by the distributor - but Amazon usually combines DVD and BD versions anyway. The Bluray of Series Two. There are a few reasons to get the BD versus the standard DVD and watching it on Amazon Instant or one of the streaming services. The BD has great images and you’ll probably hear the great 20s jazzy score better via BD. But, if you need to settle for the DVD, that’s fine too. I know a lot of folks stream, but in this case you will miss nearly an hour of bonus material on the DISC version. More about that in a minute.

As for the murders in the 13 episodes this season, they really take a back seat to the relationships of the main characters. Each episode starts by showing a murder. Then comes the opening credits and then it’s time for Phryne Fisher to get involved. And is every case the screen writers have had Phryne be “connected” to the victim or their family. This year there are murders in fancy dress salons, at a race course, at a vineyard and- my favorite – a radio station. (I don’t consider the previous sentence a “spoiler”.

This Australian Broadcasting Company series takes a few more liberties than US broadcast TV so there are some pretty violent murder scenes (but they are quick) and, there is no nudity shown , there were a few scenes with Phryne and some men where he double-entendres put her “on top”, so to speak. (You’ll understand when you watch the series).

The bonuses include 21 short (most are 3 minutes or less) featurettes on the production techniques (vintage cars, sets and costumes) and some clever “promo spots” for the series with the lead actors in character. A lot of fun.
If you loved, Season One, you’ll love season 2. If you haven’t seen Season One, (as I said) go back and start there.

I hope you found this review both informative and helpful.

Steve Ramm
“Anything Phonographic”
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


122 of 132 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's a Mrs. Peel for the 21st Century. Also: Louise Brooks with a gun., January 4, 2014
Swear to god, if the Australian Broadcasting System doesn't renew this show for a third season, I'm gonna take a hostage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please don't let it end!, May 23, 2014
The charm of this delightful series can be summed up by the following dialogue:

"There's been a murder, Mr. Butler."
"Does that mean there'll be one less for dinner?"

or how about:

(referring to Phryne [that's FRY-nee] on the telephone)
"It's Miss Fisher. She's on holiday again."
"Any murders yet?"
"Just one, sir."

I love it.

The first series of MISS FISHER'S MURDER MYSTERIES was an absolute delight. The Greta Garbo/Jean Harlow hybrid that IS the ineffable Essie Davis as Miss Phryne Fisher is back and in this reviewer's opinion, Series 2 is even better!

This outstanding Australian series is a breath of fresh air in the Detective/Mystery genre for a number of reasons: the acting, the scripting, the wit and taste in every aspect of production. If I had to single out one element that is perhaps the defining feature of this program, it would be the absolute perfection of the costuming, particularly the endless display of style and elegance that comprise Essie Davis' wardrobe. This might seem like an unusual emphasis when discussing a mystery series but it is apt in this case. Clothes define the character and the period (remember, this series is set gloriously in the 1920s). It also helps that the wonderful Ms Davis is a natural clothes horse, with the perfect figure for '20s fashion, matching her sexy, fine china-like beauty.

Of course there is plenty of action, too, with Phryne's reliable colleagues on the police force, namely Detective Inspector Jack Robinson and Constable Hugh Collins, both providing plenty of testosterone when needed (as do Phryne's two reliable "gofers", Bert and Cec--a great pair). As well, Series Two has a great variety of settings and backgrounds to the inevitable murders which helps to keep things interesting. One episode features a small town built around a winery and has background music that calls to mind an Ennio Morricone Spaghetti Western score (the music throughout the series is truly outstanding). Another features a race with beautiful vintage 1920's cars. Another a boxing match where Constable Collins demonstrates his pugilistic prowess. Another features a film set where Phryne's investment in an early Australian motion picture provides a real change of pace when she has to take over as the film's director! Another is set in a small radio station. Another in a house of high fashion. The list goes on.

And of course the relationships grow. Miss Fisher is a progressive, modern woman who, although elevated to the upper class through the acquisition of vast sums of money explained in Series One, maintains a "family" about her rather than a collection of servants. She is an advocate for equality. For example, her trusty sidekick Dot, (technically her maid) continues to charm and assist with even more blossoming confidence than before. But will Dot's inevitable engagement to Constable Collins threaten her commitment to Miss Fisher? Will Detective Inspector Robinson succumb to his growing attraction to Phryne? It's all absolutely delicious.

The series is expensive to produce, with Series One being budgeted at a million dollars per episode. Series Two looks to have had the same investment. The producers insist on the money being visible on screen, in other words no expense is spared to provide all the authentic trappings of the period: the cars, the steam trains, the ships, and of course the aforementioned clothes.

It is this attention to period detail that is one of the show's strongest features.

At the time of this writing, it is apparently up in the air whether there will be a Series Three of MISS FISHER'S MURDER MYSTERIES. The ratings are there, but there is a plethora of good mysteries coming out of Australia at the moment and period dramas, especially this one, as referenced, are very expensive to produce. It would be a crying shame if MISS FISHER was "murdered" because of cost-cutting cupidity.

So enjoy it while you can, folks. And hope that the wonderful team behind MISS FISHER gets to do it again. This show has legs (and I don't just mean Ms Davis!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun!, December 28, 2013
By 
V. Fleming (Baltimore, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A lady sleuth in the tradition of good British TV drama but with more style and pizazz. Aussies did this one right. Can't wait for the release of season 2. Season 3 in doubt but you can sign a petition at change.org.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerizing production,,Miss Fishers Mysteries., February 16, 2014
I will be getting series 2 of Miss Fishers Mysteries. I just received my first series. How wonderful Miss Phrynee is. Essie Davis is a superb actress, so very adorable as Phrynee. The acting from all characters is mesmerizing. The mysteries are uniquely written, the plots are the product of great writers and the costumes are classic perfection. Thank you for giving us something worth while to enjoy. I have always enjoyed Agatha Christi, Poirot, other mysteries, but none are as captivating as Essie Davis in Miss Fishers Mysteries. If there were 6 stars, Miss Fishers Mysteries would get all 6 from me. Cookielady903@mail.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Women with a great cast - a wonderful Series, January 2, 2014
I saw this on New Years Eve and Day - and was so impressed that I searched until I found it on NetFlix - I watched the first series and now want more! I find that the second series is not yet available in the US. This is refreshing and really entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!, January 12, 2014
Absolutely adore this show. It would be a crying shame if it doesn't get renewed for a third season. Cannot wait until this is released on DVD. Come on season 3!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out BBCs the BBC for the quality of the presentation and the fidelity to original writings, much as Granada to Doyle!, February 12, 2014
This review is from: Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries, Series 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Fresh, exciting, so well done in all ways visual, with subtle verbal jousting throughout, a gem of a company obviously enjoying their first class production environment and endearing themselves to us with every episode!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still amazing!, March 5, 2014
By 
Jody (Northwest Ohio) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I loved Series One. Series Two not quite as much--the truly inventive plots are gone, replaced by some fairly made for TV stories. I don't care. This series is worth watching for the truly amazing wardrobe, sets, and for Miss Phryne's insouciance. I think I want to be Phryne when I grow up. There's some adult subject matter, but not as much as in the books. BTW, if you like the TV series, you should SO read the books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries, Series 2 [Blu-ray]
Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries, Series 2 [Blu-ray] by Nathan Page, Hugo Johnstone-Burt, Ashleigh Cummings Essie Davis (Blu-ray - 2014)
$59.99 $37.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.