Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing! John Lurie approaches Genius status!
Wow - well, having all the episodes on one DVD is helpful as it gives you a chance to really study them. John Lurie's unique, subtle, sophisticated, and nearly indescribable brand of humour is present in each one. The convenience of DVD, combined with crisp sound and image quality and the completeness of this package are easily enough to justify this purchase alone...
Published on September 11, 1999

versus
8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rent it first
It is a interesting DVD to watch once. If you love fishing and that's the main reason you bough this dvd, you will probably be disappointed. Rent it first befor buying it.
Published on December 9, 1999


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing! John Lurie approaches Genius status!, September 11, 1999
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fishing With John (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
Wow - well, having all the episodes on one DVD is helpful as it gives you a chance to really study them. John Lurie's unique, subtle, sophisticated, and nearly indescribable brand of humour is present in each one. The convenience of DVD, combined with crisp sound and image quality and the completeness of this package are easily enough to justify this purchase alone. What really made it for me though, was having a separate audio track of Lurie's own commentary through each episode. I found myself watching an episode and then watching the same one again immediately following, this time while listening to Lurie. His commentary is often humorous, but at times often revealing of himself as an artist and person, not to mention the technical insights of the production of the show - its as if he's sitting in the room with you while you watch it. The disc closes with Lurie's fabulous "Big Heart" video with the Lounge Lizards which I hadn't seen since VH1's old "New Visions" show in the late 80's.

John Lurie is surely one of the most gifted, and soulful artists of the 80's and 90's. Thank you John, for sharing your humour and perspective with all of us...please do more episodes...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare treat . . ., June 21, 2006
By 
Billy Pilgrim (A terrarium on the planet Tralfamadore) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fishing With John (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
. . . that is both stupid as hell and screamingly funny. The Dennis Hopper episodes are the best.

In actual fact, whether or not Fishing With John is really funny at all, life is beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you kidding me?, August 10, 2004
By 
Snookfish (Seattle, Washington) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fishing With John (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
I just have to say that this DVD may be the funniest thing I have ever seen in my entire life! If you aren't into creative humor, or you are looking for a real fishing documentary then forget it. If you appreciate the unusual however, go for it. Just make sure you have a couple of hours to devote to floor-rolling laughter. When you are done watching it, invite some friends over and watch it again! It's even better the second time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest television show EVER., March 15, 2006
This review is from: Fishing With John (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
I caught one episode of this show yeeeeeeeears ago on Bravo. Didn't realize it was regular program. Just thought it was one of those offbeat Bravo things. Only saw about 20 minutes of it, but it was so freaking ODD that I remembered it. Years later, I was at my library and saw the vhs tapes for the series as I was browsing the shelves. Took them home and thoroughly enjoyed them. John Lurie is an excellent host and he picked superb guests and the vistas are incredible. And the guy who does the voiceovers? Insane. Positively insane. "Oogly boogly" is now in my permanent vocabulary.

THEN, just a few years ago, I saw them on dvd and bought the set. The commentary had me CRYING with laughter. I hadn't thought the shows could be improved upon. They can. They were.

This is the most hilariously twisted show I've ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fishing With John, August 12, 2005
This review is from: Fishing With John (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
"Fishing With John" makes fun of fishing shows while still actually being a fishing show. It mocks itself as much as it does the form. It is aimless and yet knows full well what it is doing. It is brilliant in that it never really tries to be. These contrasts are just a few reasons why "Fishing With John" is such a great watch. Six episodes may not seem like much, but really it's just enough, and at any rate, the price is certainly right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now THIS is entertainment, March 5, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fishing With John (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
When I watched this DVD I found it neither to be a Fishing show or even a "mock-u-mentory" of a fishing show. "Fishing with John" actually defies specific classification. For me this was simply John Lurie trying to bond with other, and better known, celebraties. What was fascinating was the hybrid between scripted and unscripted material. My favorite scene was the ice fishing with Willem Defoe (mostly scripted) but hilarious. Original, silly, simple and brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an odd choice for Criterion, December 15, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Fishing With John (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
I have often resisted Criterion DVDs because of their stratospheric recommended retail prices; while they do endeavor to put some very good films into circulation and the prices may be justified by the obvious care taken with their packaging and the relatively small target office, many times their choices have been on the safe or conventional side -- like the stuff you would find in the encyclopedia under "landmark cinema." If there were such an entry, which I'm sure there isn't. But they really stepped off that path with "Fishing with John," the totally off-the-wall series from IFC some years back. This is like that roadtrip with your college roommates 10 or 15 years after graduation -- aimless wandering around, good companionship, with most of the wild and crazy stuff a thing of the past. There's a wonderful home movie sweetness about these encounters. They are so ordinary they could almost be your own home movies. Lurie's masterstroke was the idea of the narration -- with a voice that's straight out of every nature documentary you've ever seen on PBS, the narrator will say portentious things like "The eyes of a fisherman" as the camera gives us a closeup of Lurie's gaze.
This is one Husker Du DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compellingly weird...or weirdly compelling..., January 31, 2000
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fishing With John (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
If you're looking for a good old fishing vid, this is not it. Rather, it's a series of short films in which John Lurie and a friend (Tom Waits, Jim Jarmusch, Dennis Hopper, Willem Dafoe) go fishing and manage to do everything but catch fish. It's a brilliant series that's probably not going to appeal to anyone who lacks a sense of play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Lurie at his best, July 2, 2003
By 
Doug (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fishing With John (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
From the improvised scenes to the incredible shots of foreign lands, this is the most entertaining DVD I have watched in a long time. John Lurie teams up with such strange bedfellows as Dennis Hopper to catch the "elusive giant squid" in Thailand and Willem Defoe in Maine with whom he went ice fishing. John is able to coax the most sincere moods from his guests while forcing them to act out his often child-like adventures.
The DVD includes the commentary with John Lurie which fills out the experience with the tales of how he came up with such interesting shots, the locals that helped (and sometimes didn't) and most of all the not-so-behind the scenes look at what his guests are really like. It was also surprising to see how well John is at editing the film to make a specific impression of time or mood.
Everyone should watch! Always will be a DVD I come back to on a rainy day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop laughing, August 12, 2001
By 
Bruce Goldstein (Knoxville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fishing With John (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
"With eyes the size of volleyballs, it is believed the giant squid has the power to hypnotise most mammals."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fishing With John (The Criterion Collection)
$24.95 $16.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.