Fistful of Feet and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$11.95
Qty:1
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 5 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Fistful of Feet Paperback – October 5, 2009


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$11.95
$11.95 $13.36
Year-End%20Deals%20in%20Books


Frequently Bought Together

Fistful of Feet + Squid Pulp Blues + Tentacle Death Trip
Price for all three: $34.85

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together
If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle edition for only $0.99 (Save 67%). Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.


Holiday Deals in Books
Holiday Deals in Books
Find deals for every reader in the Holiday Deals in Books store, featuring savings of up to 50% on cookbooks, children's books, literature & fiction, and more.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 228 pages
  • Publisher: Eraserhead Press (October 5, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1933929898
  • ISBN-13: 978-1933929897
  • Product Dimensions: 5.5 x 0.5 x 8.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 9.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (52 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,819,070 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From the Author

This is my tribute to the Spaghetti Western and the giallo genres. It is quite weird so if you tend to scratch your head at strange literature....You've been warned. --This text refers to the Kindle Edition edition.

From the Inside Flap

"Krall has quite a flair for outrage as an art form." - EDWARD LEE, author of The Bighead

"Jordan Krall is a bit like Jonathan Lethem meets the Coen Brothers with an H.P. Lovecraft fetish. His tales will quickly grow on you. Read two books and you'll be addicted." - CARLTON MELLICK III, author of Satan Burger

"Krall's vision of bizarro is not only dark and full of mystery, but guaranteed to entertain as well." - JOHN EDWARD LAWSON, author of Sin Conductor

"Jordan Krall's writing takes you places you never knew you wanted to go." - JEREMY C. SHIPP, author of Vacation


More About the Author

Jordan Krall writes horror, weird fiction, crime fiction, apocalyptic literature, bizarro, and non-genre fiction.

His newest books include PENETRALIA and NIGHTMARES FROM A LOVECRAFTIAN MIND.

He has had four books published by ERASERHEAD PRESS including SQUID PULP BLUES which has been praised by horror authors Edward Lee and Tom Piccirilli.

His book FISTFUL OF FEET was called "a great homage to the spaghetti western" by the SPAGHETTI WESTERN DATABASE.

One of his most acclaimed books BEYOND THE VALLEY OF THE APOCALYPSE DONKEYS was recently published by COPELAND VALLEY PRESS and is an enigmatic descent into murder, infidelity, rare films, and a bizarre identity crisis. Think David Lynch meets Russ Meyer. .

Jordan Krall also runs the cult fiction small press DYNATOX MINISTRIES and its many imprints where he publishes limited edition chapbooks by many talented authors such as Jonathan Moon, Gary Shipley, Seb Doubinsky, Nicole Cushing, Wilum Pugmire, and more.

http://dynatoxministries.wordpress.com
http://dynatox.storenvy.com

Contact him at http://jordankrall.wordpress.com

Customer Reviews

He may be my favorite character in a book I've read so far this year.
Robert Beveridge
Many of the characters lack depth, which is one of my only real criticisms with the book.
Andersen Prunty
Highly recommended for fans of Bizarro, Spaghetti Westerns, or a weird thrilling ride.
Eric Robinson

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful By David W Barbee on November 24, 2009
Format: Paperback
I'm going to be honest and say that I'm a huge fan of Jordan Krall and he's one of my favorite bizarro writers. I once heard Krall mentioned as the Quentin Tarantino of bizarro, and I think it's true in that he has a perfect mastery of genre fiction. Squid Pulp Blues paid homage to crime noir, and now with Fistful of Feet, Krall is entering one of my personal favorite genres: the western.

So of course I love this book, but I'm also going to tell you why. Fistful of Feet is a bloody love song to all the cool Spaghetti Westerns made back in the 60's and 70's, full of superhuman gunplay and a moral code enforced by graphic violence. The setting is the town of Screwhorse, a bubbling cauldron of corruption and mischief. The frontier of the west was a brutal and lawless environment, where everyone is just trying to survive. In this sense, Krall has stayed true to the roots of the western, giving it the proper atmosphere and the sort of characters we've come to expect. The cast is large and varied, with all the classic western characters represented. There's the stand-up-for-justice hero, the whores-with-the-hearts-of-gold, the corrupt mayor, the incompetent sheriff, the scum-of-the-earth thugs, the mystical Indians, the con man, and even a few psychos. That's a large cast, but I wasn't put off by it, as I felt that Fistful of Feet was just that kind of western. Westerns like this are like operas. There needs to be a large cast in order to produce as many corpses as possible.

Jordan Krall proves that he knows the western like the back of his hand, but at the same time, he's created his own brand of bizarro over the years. Fistful of Feet has tentacles, bodily fluids, deformed feet, weird drugs, sucking, screwing, hermaphrodites and much more.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By mikedoeseverything on December 22, 2010
Format: Paperback
First things first, Jordan Krall is an amazing writer. His Bizarro literature is unique and quite fantastic. When someone tells you, "this author has a voice," Jordan Krall is one of those. I say this because after having read everything by Krall (save for Piecemeal June,) there definitely is an authorial voice hidden behind the Bizarro curtain that is this book. If you enjoy the type of writing found in pulp novels, then you will enjoy FISTFUL OF FEET. There's dialogue, fantastic imagery, memorable heroes, crazy villains, strange fetishes, stunning one-liners and tons of superb spaghetti western-worthy moments. If I were asked to describe the best thing about the book, I would have to mention the characters. Though they are quite zany and out-of-this-world, no character would be complete without dialogue and as I have mentioned before, Krall has a talent when it comes to writing believable dialogue. Where Palahniuk has failed (repeatedly,) Krall shines. FISTFUL OF FEET reads like a spaghetti western written by Quentin Tarantino (for the dialogue and violence) and directed by Stanley Kubrick (for the truly bizarre and unexplainable moments.)

Now don't get thrown off by my description of the novel. Yes, it is bizarre and it definitely has its fair share of "odd" moments but Krall manages to nail the Western feel. It could have been very easy to create a Bizarro story situated in the West with no real semblance of the Western genre but somehow, and I applaud him for this, Krall succeeds. There are dozens of unforgettable characters and as David W Barbee puts it, "Westerns like this are like operas. There needs to be a large cast in order to produce as many corpses as possible.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Andersen Prunty on October 30, 2009
Format: Paperback
Jordan Krall's third release and first full-length novel is a must for spaghetti and weird western fans. I've never actually read a western novel but I find many of the movies to be plodding and dull to the point that most of the characters and plots are nakedly obvious in the first few minutes, thus beginning an endless barrage of the protaganist asserting his masculinity. Krall brings something new. The framework still draws heavily from the tried and true formula of the western film but is presented with such a love for the outre, weird, and fetishistic, that I found myself wanting to read on just to find out what happened next. And like the best spaghetti westerns, there are gems of existensialism like this: "Maybe there isn't a Heaven and Hell like they tell you in church. Maybe you end up spending eternity riding on the back of a giant scorpion that keeps going in circles and you can't tell him the right way to go because your mouth is full of dust."

Calamaro is the hero in the book. He enters the trippy town of Screwhorse, Nevada, dragging a wooden donkey behind him (an homage to the film Django). Calamaro has a hazy past and an extremely chivalrous disposition. The town of Screwhorse is a wreck. It contains a legendary whorehouse where customers can come and indulge their sickest, strangest fantasies. The mayor is corrupt. The cattle have tentacles instead of udders. The drugstore sells a powerful hallucinogen. These things are just the beginning. Part of the thrill of reading Fistul of Feet is discovering the odd characters and situations and picking up on all the winks and nudges.

Many of the characters lack depth, which is one of my only real criticisms with the book. One of the reasons for this is that Krall introduces A LOT of characters.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?