Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good bye, Indiana. Hello, New Jersey., January 5, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: A Fistful of Fig Newtons (Paperback)
Only the fertile mind of humorist Jean Shepherd could have thought of it. His Hoosier alter ego Ralph Parker reminisces on past events in his life once again, but this time against the backdrop of a rush-hour traffic jam in the famed Lincoln Tunnel connecting New York and New Jersey. In "A Fistful of Fig Newtons", Ralph's memories are not limited to any particular period in his life, as was the case with "In God We Trust: All Others Pay Cash" (childhood) and "Wanda Hickey's Night of Golden Memories: And Other Disasters" (adolescence). Rather, he spans a wider field including summer camp, his first day of high school, Army life, and college. The reader will also enjoy a "critique" of the legendary Johnson Smith novelty catalog plus an amusing look at New Jersey. While still very witty and entertaining so as to earn a 9, "A Fistful of Fig Newtons" is more caustic and saltier than Shepherd's previous two books, mainly when Ralph's adult life is profiled. This book holds its own well as a work by a master satirist. Coming soon, my review of the fourth and last installment in the "tetralogy" of Shepherd books: "The Ferrari in the Bedroom".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not his best, but still better than anybody else., February 13, 2000
This review is from: A Fistful of Fig Newtons (Paperback)
Four stars out of five? By what standard? Well, anything by Shepherd is a five star read, but when judged against "In God We Trust" and "Wanda Hickey", "A Fistful of Fig Newtons" doesn't quite rise to his own very high standards. Still, don't let this turn you off to this fine little book. While the stories (some are really essays) are not as consistantly good as some of his earlier efforts, "Lost at C" is as good (and funny!) a short story as has ever been written. All of us can identify with the poor slobs stuck in the back row of the classroom, (the "alphabetical ghetto") struggling to comprehend algebra. "The Whole Fun Cataloge of 1929" is a brilliant essay which nails American culture better than any Harvard sociologist ever has. Jean illustrated this book with his own excellent and charming line drawings...another talent not many people knew Jean had. So, for dedicated Shep fans, by all means read "Fig Newtons", and for anyone interested in a funny book, you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody likes Fig Newtons, November 22, 2002
By 
This review is from: A Fistful of Fig Newtons (Paperback)
12 hilarious stories about common catastrophes, humiliating experiences, picking on toddlers and tailgating on the Jersey Turnpike. A testimonial for virtually every teen growing up in America today.

Not as good as Shepherd's first two books, but entertaining nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fist Full of Fig Newtons, January 25, 2008
By 
Gary W. Farmer (Greenville, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Fistful of Fig Newtons (Paperback)
a review of early life while setting in a traffic jam. Not on the level of "In God We Trust" but a good lite read and a review of New York traffic and life in general
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fistful of Fig Newtons, January 11, 2007
This review is from: A Fistful of Fig Newtons (Paperback)
Buy all of Jean Shepard's book and settle down to smiling, laughing and rolling around with a belly laugh. Jean Shepard captures pre-television life with all of the hilarious anecdotes of the time and his work brightens even the darkest of days...read them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, January 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I could not put this collection of short stories down because it made me laugh so much. It is full of nostalgia at the same time some very relevant insights to today's world are in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jean Shepherd, a Master of American Humor, February 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Fistful of Fig Newtons (Paperback)
Jean Shepherd didn't just write "A Christmas Story"... Actually he wrote the short story from which the movie was made. But he was a lot more than that, a marvelous radio speaker, storyteller, and lover of Americana. And a hilarious critic of American life as well. Whether it's "In God We Trust, All Others Pay Cash", "The Ferrari in the Bedroom", or "A Fistful of Fig Newtons", Jean Shepherd is worth any American's time and money. You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moment of silence please!, September 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Jean Shepherd is one of the most hilarious authors of all time. Flick and Schwartz two great characters. Maybe you have to be a certain age to appreciate the humor. Laugh out loud funny.
Buy this if you are over 60 and have a sense of humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must read for the 50s aged person, July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Fistful of Fig Newtons (Paperback)
A must read for the 50s aged person
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jean Shepherd is great!!!!!, March 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Fistful of Fig Newtons (Paperback)
First I am from NJ and that is Lucy the elephant from on the beach in Margate NJ. I LOVE Lucy so that was one of the reasons the cover caught my eye. I had read "In God We Trust All others Pay Cash" (the books that became the movies "A Christmas Story") so I pretty much knew this was going to be another good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Fistful of Fig Newtons
A Fistful of Fig Newtons by Jean Shepherd (Paperback - October 12, 2004)
$14.95 $11.94
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.