Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First Anthrax.....
Before Joey, there was Neil Turbin (lead singer). A lot of people talked about this, why? because some people said that Neil Turbin was a Judas Priset rip-off singer. But, despite what those people said, they were wrong. You really can't compare anyone to Neil. On the other hand, Anthrax the band had a style that no other metal band had at that time, speed, a double...
Published on February 15, 2000 by exodusone

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrid Remaster
The reviewer James Prosser stated that it sounds like mp3's were used when doing this reissue. I have been thinking the same thing the past year or so that I've owned this.

It makes me think that we are truly living in a sad age when music is done on the cheap, and that fans seem to be just as apathetic as the musicians themselves.

Not all is...
Published on June 27, 2007 by Mattowarrior


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First Anthrax....., February 15, 2000
By 
exodusone (San Bernardino, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fistful of Metal (Audio CD)
Before Joey, there was Neil Turbin (lead singer). A lot of people talked about this, why? because some people said that Neil Turbin was a Judas Priset rip-off singer. But, despite what those people said, they were wrong. You really can't compare anyone to Neil. On the other hand, Anthrax the band had a style that no other metal band had at that time, speed, a double bass drum and some fast guitars that kicked. Before they were polished and went hardcore. They sounded like something straight out of a heavy metal club with much heavy metal spirit. Favorite songs off this album are "Deathrider" and "Metal Thrashing Mad". This is a heavy metal classic for all headbangers that are true to metal. Remember your roots of metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Other (forgotten) Anthrax, July 13, 2004
By 
This review is from: Fistful of Metal (Audio CD)
The only way to put it is there were three Anthrax bands: 1) Fistful of Metal here with Neil Turbin 2) The Belladonna years 1985-1991 3) John Bush Years 1991-current. The point is that all three of these Anthrax's sound different from the others.
The first here is actually better than you might think. Don't expect to pick this up as a regular Anthrax album of the era. The drumming (Benante) is overall a little slower than in later albums and the constant double-bass speed sounds like something off a Motorhead album. The vocals (Turbin) are the most striking feature -VERY HIGH PITCHED. The guy has one of the highest screams that I've ever heard. (Just listen to the 10 second scream on "Metal Thrashing Mad" where he goes from high to higher.) The guitars are rather generic for the time (Exodus like) and the bass (Lilker) sometimes kicks up some cool lines but is otherwise just as ordinary.
This album also contains a classic song that Anthrax still plays at all their shows "Metal Thrashing Mad". This song is definitely of the top five.
In short, what this album sounds like is a mix between 70s style Judas Priest, Motorhead, Exodus (Bonded by Blood), and something else. The album is original nonetheless and if you like Anthrax then you will like this album. Even if you're not a fan of Anthrax but you like stuff such as Slayer's "Show no Mercy", Megadeth's first album, Metallica's first, and other albums of the 1982-1984 period, this is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Screamin' Classic, November 6, 2000
By 
Peter (Glendale, N.Y.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fistful of Metal (Audio CD)
I've listened to Anthrax for years, but it was only recently that I heard FISTFUL OF METAL for the first time. I wasn't expecting much. I had assumed that since the first singer, Neil Turbin, was let go, that he was probably nothing to write home about. How wrong I was. That guy was amazing. His vocals were very Priest-esque, but unique at the same time. I wonder why he didn't go on to become one of the greats. Anyway, this album is full of excitement and power. Anthrax, the band, were already very tight and professional sounding, which is amazing since they were probably just barely out of their teens. Great debut. I love 'Metal Thrashing Mad' the best. Order this today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Their 1st and their best..., April 3, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Fistful of Metal (Audio CD)
Pioneering early 80's thrash metal from Anthrax that, while lacking in the production department, exudes energy, excitement and power. Original singer Neil Tubin's only disc (before being replaced by Joey Belladonna), his vocal performance ranks up their with the genre's best. Also in the band was bassist Dan Lilker, who went on to to form S.O.D. Nuclear Assault and Brutal Truth. The disc is a thrash metal classic with balls to the wall tracks "Deathrider", "Metal Thrashing Mad" and "Anthrax". Maximum damage done despite the terrible, hide-the-guitar production from Carl Cannedy (who at the time was fronting his own band called The Rods). Without question, this was Anthrax's finest hour ("Among The Living" running 2nd) and an essential disc to have in your thrash metal collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrid Remaster, June 27, 2007
By 
Mattowarrior "Mattowarrior" (Madison, WI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fistful of Metal (Audio CD)
The reviewer James Prosser stated that it sounds like mp3's were used when doing this reissue. I have been thinking the same thing the past year or so that I've owned this.

It makes me think that we are truly living in a sad age when music is done on the cheap, and that fans seem to be just as apathetic as the musicians themselves.

Not all is terrible, at least metal is on the upswing again, but its releases like this that are truly showing its a scary time in music.

The album? Its classic early thrash seasoned with some incredible hooks and vocals.

This "remaster"? It seems like they took the original songs, compressed them into mp3 format (or similar) and smooshed them onto the cd.

I am 100 % serious with this assumption. As someone who has downloaded thousands of mp3s, but also owns thousands of cds, tapes and records, I know the difference between the two.

Too bad the people behind this rerelease pulled a fast one with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Beginnings of True Thrash, June 23, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Fistful of Metal (Audio CD)
This is one of several albums that started the thrash metal genre. Along with Metallica "Kill Em All" Slayer "Show No Mercy" Overkill "Feel the Fire" and Megadeth "Killing is My Business" this was a revolutionary style in 1983-1984. I was in high school at the time of these releases, and they influenced me and millions of others to become diehard followers of this music. This is not Joey Belladonna singing. It is the raw voice of Neil Turbin who gave Anthrax a true edge. Even though I prefer the Belladonna Anthrax, this album deserves a place in metal history. "Deathrider" and "Metal Thrashing Mad" are classics. 20 years later, and I still listen to these songs with the same passion that I had when I first heard them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I FINALLY FOUND IT!, YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!!!!!, September 25, 2004
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Fistful of Metal (Audio CD)
why is it that this album is so hard to find? i have been searching for anthrax's first album for years and could never find it, until to day when i found it by accident in a second hand record store! my discovery of this lost treasure was like when indiana jones finds the treasure in the lost temple, or when ben franklin got zapped by lightning though his kite. i listened to it and it (...) kicked me (...)!!! its the best anthrax album period! and this is after years of listening to "amoung the living" and thinking that was there greatest achivement. neil turbin owns, he blows joey away, why did scott ian give him the boot? this album has the same feel to it like "kill em all" from metallica, it is raw and unpolished, driven by anger. it also has the best album cover i'v seen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metal Thrasing Classic!, December 12, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Fistful of Metal (Audio CD)
Fistful of Metal is undeniably among the first Thrash records to ever break through. Highlights include Death Rider, Metal Thrasing Mad, Soldiers of Metal, and Death From Above. The band's best songwriting occured during this era, which was of course the Neil Turbin era. Neil offers the most towards this effort, as his vocals are truly wailing, reminiscent of Judas Priest's Screaming For Vengeance. Anyone who is a fan of this intensity, should go pick up Neil's new cd "Threatcon Delta" which kicks so much ass! I got it off his website ([...]) and for 15 bucks, I was brought back to when Anthrax was still capable of delivering the goods!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The origin of the New York thrash metal movement, April 26, 2005
This review is from: Fistful of Metal (Audio CD)
This is not only a classic album, but one of historical importance to 80's metal. There is some great material here and in my opinion, it has stood the test of time. Thrash is both heavy and fast and we find that here. I believe some of Charlie's greatest drumming is found right here and Scott Ian was a hungry axe slinger who was out to show the west coast that New York was down. 'DeathRider' and 'Metal Thrashing Mad' are standouts that are classic tracks in the metal genre. Throw in a blazing cover of Alice Cooper's "I'm Eighteen" and you got a well rounded album that is fit for the pit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Metal Masterpiece!!, July 20, 2003
By 
"demonhead" (San Jose, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fistful of Metal (Audio CD)
I have this big, fat book full of reviews on every single metal album made. The range of stars were 1 to 5. "Fistful of Metal" got only 3 stars! I bought it anyway and it blew my mind. Neil Turbin's vocals were a lot like Rob Halford from Judas Priest. The whole entire band is tight and "Metal Thrashing Mad" is probably the best song on the whole album. If you want to get into Anthrax for the first time, this is the album to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fistful of Metal
Fistful of Metal by Anthrax (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.