Customer Reviews


182 Reviews
5 star:
 (132)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Ingediant CB is a 5 Star!
I have a very fussy eater in my family(DH), but of all the things I have made(` 20)- he has eaten them all! I appreciate the ease of assembly and the fact that most of the ingrdiants are things that most of us have in our pantries- no trips to the store for some exotic ingedient! Some of the best money I've spent in a long time ! Sue in Northern NV
Published on February 6, 2007 by Suzanne M. Banholzer

versus
60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You can only eat so much cream soup!
I noticed immediately that any recipe that could be made a meal contains AT LEAST one can of cream soup. Some needed even 2-3 cans of coup and especially when you are only using 5 ingredients, thats alot! not to mention you dont need a cookbook to give you 30 variations of cream soups, chicken, salt and pepper!
there just isnt anything creative at all, just recipes...
Published on April 21, 2009 by Alexandria Albrecht


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Ingediant CB is a 5 Star!, February 6, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have a very fussy eater in my family(DH), but of all the things I have made(` 20)- he has eaten them all! I appreciate the ease of assembly and the fact that most of the ingrdiants are things that most of us have in our pantries- no trips to the store for some exotic ingedient! Some of the best money I've spent in a long time ! Sue in Northern NV
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Newlyweds!!, April 20, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fix-it and Forget-it 5-Ingredient Favorites: Comforting Slow Cooker Recipes (Paperback)
Since I have been married I have fallen in love with my Crock-Pot! We both work and it is just the most wonderful thing to come home in the evening and already have dinner ready to go. Sometimes it just doesn't seem worth the effort to cook for just the two of us, but the Crock Pot always makes it just SO easy. Using my Crock-Pot has saved us SO much money by not eating out, and the ingredients that this book calls for are very inexpensive for the most part. It is also much healthier than eating out several nights a week. The best part of this book is that you can always find a recipe that sounds great and you have all the stuff that you need for it in the house. Really, all it takes is five minutes in the morning to throw it all in the Crock-Pot and then you have a great dinner! I almost always just put the meat in there straight from the freezer and just add an hour or so of cooking time. This would be a great gift for a shower or housewarming. Overall, it is a very simple book that always produces tasty and healthy dinners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You can only eat so much cream soup!, April 21, 2009
This review is from: Fix-it and Forget-it 5-Ingredient Favorites: Comforting Slow Cooker Recipes (Paperback)
I noticed immediately that any recipe that could be made a meal contains AT LEAST one can of cream soup. Some needed even 2-3 cans of coup and especially when you are only using 5 ingredients, thats alot! not to mention you dont need a cookbook to give you 30 variations of cream soups, chicken, salt and pepper!
there just isnt anything creative at all, just recipes very close to the ones on the back of the soup cans (but with less ingredients) altered for the slow cooker instead of the oven. everything needs a great deal more seasoning as well.
The recipes are somewhat tasty and filling, but they are all so similar that I never use the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love easy recipes., February 6, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fix-it and Forget-it 5-Ingredient Favorites: Comforting Slow Cooker Recipes (Paperback)
I have a newborn, and time isn't easy to come by, but this book takes a few seconds just throw your ingredients in the Crock Pot and set it! There are recipes for everyone in here, even if you are a picky eater!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 63 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not necessarily for seniors/older boomers, July 3, 2011
This review is from: Fix-it and Forget-it 5-Ingredient Favorites: Comforting Slow Cooker Recipes (Paperback)
I'd love to critique the recipes, but I cannot. The text is a pale brick color, with pale blue highlighting, and my aging eyes simply cannot read it. Note to cookbook designers: people are multi-tasking when referring to recipes (Task #1: read recipe; Task #2: cook), so for heaven's sake design the book so that the recipes are legible for eyes of most ages. For this reason alone, sadly, this book was a waste of my money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My dream come true!, May 16, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fix-it and Forget-it 5-Ingredient Favorites: Comforting Slow Cooker Recipes (Paperback)
I am not one who enjoys the kitchen. I have a few other five ingredient cook books which are very well used and then I came across this one and it is my new favorite! It has about 400 recipes and is very well organized. If you want beef, pork, ham, vegies, whatever.... it's in it's own section. There are no pictures, but it's all very well wtitten with basic ingredients. Not to mention the recipes are very tasty! If you don't have the time for the kitchen, or you just don't enjoy cooking, this is the book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 113 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Big Help for the Slow Cooker Challenged, March 14, 2007
This review is from: Fix-it and Forget-it 5-Ingredient Favorites: Comforting Slow Cooker Recipes (Paperback)
Fix-it and Forget-It:

5-Ingredient Favorites/

Comforting Slow-Cooker Recipes

By Phyllis Pellman Good

Reviewed by: Marty Martindale

This is an interesting collection of more than 700 recipes gathered by Good from home cooks all over the country, said to be, "flexible, forgiving and absolutelyt scrumptious." It's a great book for busy young people who've never really learned to cook and need to stick to a budget.

Good has set herself up with firm ground rules for the use of the term, "5 ingredients." First water doesn't count as an ingredient, salt and pepper count for only one, optional ingredients do not count against the 5. Also things "served with" do not count, as well.

She hastens to offer the fuller the slow cooker, the longer the cook time, so also is it this way with densely-packed contents and large chunks.

Each recipe has a heading which includes home cook's name, number of servings, preparation time, cooking time and ideal slow cooker size for amounts given.

* Mountain Bike Soup: Chicken broth, V/8, barley, pepperoni and green beans

* Chili-Taco Soup: Stew meat, stewed tomatoes, taco seasoning mix, pinto beans and whole-kernel corn

* Greek Chicken Pita Filling: Chopped onion, chicken thighs, lemon pepper, oregano and yogurt

* No-Peeking Beef Tips: Stew meat, onion soup mix, lemon-lime soda and cream of mushroom soup

* Reuben Casseroled: Corned beef, Sauerkraut, Swiss cheese, Thousand Island dressing and stuffing mix

* Fruity Meatballs: Frozen meatballs, brown sugar and crushed pineapple with its juice

* Pork and Sweet Potatoes: Loin chops, Salt and pepper, sweet potatoes, onions and apple cider

* Tangy Port Tenderloin: Add honey, Dijon mustard chili powder and salt

* Creamy Cooker Dinner: Shredded cheese, uncooked macaroni, milk mushroom soup and cooked meat

* Corn Pudding: sugar, cornstarch, beaten eggs, evaporated milk and cream-style corn

* Flavorful Fruited Rice: Onion, long-grain rice, chicken broth, dried cranberries and dried apricots

* Mushrooms in Red Wine: Garlic, onion, olive oil and red wine.

* Hot Ground Beef Dip: Beef, Velveeta, tomato sauce, Worcestershire sauce and diced green pepper

* Mexican Cheese Dip: Velveeta, taco seasoning and canned tomatoes with green chilies

* Revved-Up Chili Dip: Salsa, canned chili with beans, ripe olives and American cheese

* Peanut Butter Cake: Yellow cake mix, crunchy peanut butter and water

* Old-Fashioned Rice Pudding: skim milk, long-grain rice, sugar, salt, melted butter and raisins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy recipes, great variety, May 6, 2007
By 
Liz C (Chattanooga, TN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fix-it and Forget-it 5-Ingredient Favorites: Comforting Slow Cooker Recipes (Paperback)
It's so easy to find a great recipe using only ingredients you have on hand since ALL the recipes are 5 ingredients or less. Other books I've seen that promised recipes with few ingredients filled half the book with regular, longer recipes. If you want to use your slow cooker and not spend a lot of time pre-planning and shopping, buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much Velvetta, January 6, 2009
This review is from: Fix-it and Forget-it 5-Ingredient Favorites: Comforting Slow Cooker Recipes (Paperback)
I bought this for my graduate student daughter along with a slow cooker she wanted. I thought this would be the perfect companion for the slow cooker since her time is so limited. While there are many very good sounding recipes quite a few use Velvetta - not the healthiest of choices. In retrospect I think I should have gotten the "Fix-it & Forget-it Healthy" cook book instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It!!, November 6, 2007
This review is from: Fix-it and Forget-it 5-Ingredient Favorites: Comforting Slow Cooker Recipes (Paperback)
I have a newborn, a two year old, hate to cook and am a picky eater. Because of all of these things I love this book! I just do not have the time to make meals that take up a ton of time to prepare with a newborn on my hip and a two year old tugging on my pant leg. I love this book because it makes everything so simple yet delicious. We usually have leftovers with these recipes which is a double bonus! If you do not like "simple" meals as opposed to elaborate meals that involve numerous ingredients then this book is NOT for you. Five out of Six meals have been a hit with my family and friends. Not bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fix-it and Forget-it 5-Ingredient Favorites: Comforting Slow Cooker Recipes
$15.95 $12.60
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.