Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, unique resource for sevillanas
I became interested in Puela Lunaris's DVDs through World Dance New York, which is better known for its bellydance instructional videos. And while Lunaris has done work on the Zambra (the style of flamenco most closely associated with oriental dance) it is important to note that this video has nothing whatsoever to do with bellydance. In fact, the sevillanas are not even...
Published on December 9, 2007 by atisheh

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reviewing Sevillanas
The instructor does not have a male partner so the man's part is never shown with the womans.
The counting rythm marker is very hard to read on the backround (grey on white).
The instructor describes the cultural and historical significance of the dance during the instruction. When you want to keep practicing one part you have to fast forward to get through the...
Published on February 8, 2008 by Laura G. Reinhold


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, unique resource for sevillanas, December 9, 2007
By 
atisheh (Bonn, Germany) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Flamenco: You Can Do It! - Sevillanas, featuring Puela Lunaris. Flamenco dance classes, Flamenco dance instruction, Learn flamenco dance, Flamenco performances (DVD)
I became interested in Puela Lunaris's DVDs through World Dance New York, which is better known for its bellydance instructional videos. And while Lunaris has done work on the Zambra (the style of flamenco most closely associated with oriental dance) it is important to note that this video has nothing whatsoever to do with bellydance. In fact, the sevillanas are not even flamenco. They are an old, very strictly structured Spanish social dance which is sometimes performed in flamenco shows, but is also done socially in Spain. This DVD not only introduces the dance, but does an excellent job at showing how it can be performed alone, in a pair in a relaxed, social manner, and in a more showy performance style with fans.

The good:
As much as I generally do not like choreographies, this is the dance for them, since every sevillana is the same. The first choreo section is an extremely lengthy breakdown of all the movements necessary for all four sections of the sevillana dance. Lunaris is painstaking in demonstrating the steps, repeating them many times over, and then adding arms. There is instruction on posture, arm movement and placement, arm variations, the different styles of hand floreos.

Lunaris often also shows variations that can be introduced, not in the steps per se, but in the upper body styling or arm movements. This is where the dancer can express his or her individuality, since the steps are fixed. She also briefly describes how men's arm and handwork differs from women's.

In the second choreography, Lunaris has mini workshops on fanwork and on dancing with a partner, and runs through the entire choreography again using the fan. She uses her partner to show not only how dancers move around each other during the sevillana, but also more stylistic variations.

It should be clear by now that this DVD is a treasure, an absolute treasure. I am currently taking beginner flamenco classes and learning the sevillana as part of these. They are quite complicated, at least at first, and any online reference material has not been very good at explaining the dance part of it. To have a DVD at this price not only run down the entire choreography but also show variations is truly exquisite. The two performances at the end are an extra treat.

The bad:

As well-organized as WDNY DVDs generally are, I find myself wishing for more, especially when it comes to Lunaris' videos. The current organization allows you to watch a demonstration at full-speed with music, then have a lengthy breakdown, then have choreography and practice with music. This is great, but it bothers me that some of the basics of the dance, like how to do floreos for example, are hidden away in a long choreography, with no way to guess at where they might be. There should be an easy way to jump to the descriptions of a few basic techniques, if not have them in a different section altogether.

More specifically to this DVD, since the sevillana is such a repetitive dance, all of the instruction would make much more sense if the dance were broken down in table form and available as a screen or even for printing. It would make the choreography much easier to learn.

(These two points are the only reason I took off a star, and if I could only have taken off half, I would have!)

How to use this video:

First, watch the first choreography all the way through. Just watch it. Watch the performances to see how it all fits together. Then start doing it, but take it slowly. In a normal class, this is material covered over months -- the fact that it is all on one DVD makes this video valuable, but it is also unrealistic to expect to learn it quickly. Just focus on the feet at first, and only later practice adding the arms, and then, slowly, the hands.

That said, the sevillana is more approachable than flamenco dance. I.e., it's easier to look good dancing the sevillana. Lunaris' is a great introduction for those with no experience of it, and a wonderful reference work for those who are learning it in a live class. She has a charming on-screen persona, and she is careful to give you a sense of the culture, attitude, and context of the dance as well, so you understand the spirit as well as the movements. If you are willing to practice a little, you will not regret buying this video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skillful dancing, footwork, fan, April 23, 2007
This review is from: Flamenco: You Can Do It! - Sevillanas, featuring Puela Lunaris. Flamenco dance classes, Flamenco dance instruction, Learn flamenco dance, Flamenco performances (DVD)
This is the third learning program that I review from Puela Lunaris and it has been abundant in benefit to my belly dancing. There is an elegance and natural flow lent from one to the other that places a signature of the dances yet there are similarities involved. In this program I am intrigued by the careful skill of both fan and footwork executed during the performance by Puela and partner. I learned that the Sevillanas dance is either by self image with a partner or mirroring with a partner.

The choreograpy was initiated by moving from left shoulder to left shoulder diagonally, or heart to heart, left to right.

There is a precise technique for beautiful flamenco hands taught by Miss Lunaris which has embellished my belly dancing tremendously.

Brasello por fuera, pasadas,careo were interesting to learn where partners almost have a face off in skillful dance.

There is mini workshop on arm work-How to use the arms in turning for momentum and stopping,2 different turning techniques with different arm combinations

11 combinations loaded with elegant footwork and embellished by beautiful hands and arms

This program is very well described and executed.

There is an excellent fan technique and its merging into sevillanas choreography which is skillful and beautifully presented by Ms Lunaris and dance partner. Ms Lunaris is so pleasant and easy to learn from. This expressive and bold dancing will definitely build you as a dancer, be it flamenco or as for me, belly dance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful video; jumbled instruction, October 14, 2007
This review is from: Flamenco: You Can Do It! - Sevillanas, featuring Puela Lunaris. Flamenco dance classes, Flamenco dance instruction, Learn flamenco dance, Flamenco performances (DVD)
The Sevillanas is a very complicated dance but Puela Lunaris performs it beautifully. Her instruction has one major flaw: During the instructional sections, she will be facing 1 direction, then when she goes on to demonstrate that section, she will be facing the other direction. Actually, in one of the instructional sections, she switches directions in the middle of the section (she starts in one direction then continues (i.e the next step in the combination) in the opposite direction), without there having been a transition or turn. I wish these things would have been caught by the editor.

In the same bent, she will sometimes say one thing and do another (she will say "flat" but do a "ball"), a sign of poor editing or laziness. The dance can be learned by mirroring her, but there will be times when you have to make your own decision on how you are going to do something because the instruction conflicts with the demonstration.

Though the video containing the Farruca contains some of the same discrepancies that made the Sevillanas video difficult to follow, I found it much easier to pick up (though be prepared for several weeks or months of practice for either one!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any Flamenco or fusion bellydancer!, September 21, 2007
By 
justme (NW part of the world) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flamenco: You Can Do It! - Sevillanas, featuring Puela Lunaris. Flamenco dance classes, Flamenco dance instruction, Learn flamenco dance, Flamenco performances (DVD)
In my discovery of Gypsy bellydance, I noticed there were alot of flamenco moves and hand gestures. I went on to Amazon and checked out reviews of flamenco DVDs finding that Dance Today and Flamenco You Can Do It (both demonstrated by Puela Lunaris) had great reviews- many from other bellydancers!
After quickly receiving the DVDs, I was very impressed on the step-by-step instruction and the enthusiasm and charm of Ms. Lunaris .
I would certainly recommend these two DVDs to learn this beautiful art.
I'm pretty sure clips of these DVDs can be reviewed on YouTube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sevillanas fan dancing!, July 28, 2008
This review is from: Flamenco: You Can Do It! - Sevillanas, featuring Puela Lunaris. Flamenco dance classes, Flamenco dance instruction, Learn flamenco dance, Flamenco performances (DVD)
Puela is beautiful, teaching a beautiful dance! I'm so excited! I've always loved fan dancing and flamenco! Puela demonstrates the steps very clearly and provides wonderful performances! Now I have to go buy some fans! One very good thing about her instruction is that she teaches the footwork, then adds body position and arms, so that you can get the footwork down first and not be overwhelmed if you are new to dance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, You Can Do it, January 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flamenco: You Can Do It! - Sevillanas, featuring Puela Lunaris. Flamenco dance classes, Flamenco dance instruction, Learn flamenco dance, Flamenco performances (DVD)
I am a beginner flamenco student and I am enjoying this DVD very much.
It gives you some basic steps and also explains it in simple steps.
I highly recommend it for basic and beginning students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reviewing Sevillanas, February 8, 2008
By 
Laura G. Reinhold "LAGR" (Gaithersburg, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flamenco: You Can Do It! - Sevillanas, featuring Puela Lunaris. Flamenco dance classes, Flamenco dance instruction, Learn flamenco dance, Flamenco performances (DVD)
The instructor does not have a male partner so the man's part is never shown with the womans.
The counting rythm marker is very hard to read on the backround (grey on white).
The instructor describes the cultural and historical significance of the dance during the instruction. When you want to keep practicing one part you have to fast forward to get through the history lesson.
Overall the insturctor breaks down the steps and is easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpfull, March 18, 2007
By 
This review is from: Flamenco: You Can Do It! - Sevillanas, featuring Puela Lunaris. Flamenco dance classes, Flamenco dance instruction, Learn flamenco dance, Flamenco performances (DVD)
Paula Lunaris method is clear and to the point.Her version of the sevillanas is one of simplicity, grace and versatility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flamenco: You Can Do It Sevillanas, September 17, 2009
This review is from: Flamenco: You Can Do It! - Sevillanas, featuring Puela Lunaris. Flamenco dance classes, Flamenco dance instruction, Learn flamenco dance, Flamenco performances (DVD)
Sevillanas Flamenco style is a little different. She breaks it down into simple steps. I have a little more difficulty with it due to all the turns and being a senior citizen who is by the way in good physical shape.

Try to practice the hand movements which are very graceful. In time with a lot of practice I should get better at the hand movements.

She demonstrates the use of a fan as well which is very informative and helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice, April 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flamenco: You Can Do It! - Sevillanas, featuring Puela Lunaris. Flamenco dance classes, Flamenco dance instruction, Learn flamenco dance, Flamenco performances (DVD)
This DVD is good for a beginner to get an idea for the dance. The instructors dark clothes contrasts nicely with the stark white background during the teaching portions so that the footwork is highly visible. The performance sections are entertaining without being intimidating. The instructor has a heavy Spanish accent to her English but not too difficult to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Flamenco: You Can Do It! - Sevillanas, featuring Puela Lunaris. Flamenco dance classes, Flamenco dance instruction, Learn flamenco dance, Flamenco performances
$18.99 $12.39
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.