Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Three of the Better Ones
Judge "Wild in the Country" on your own where Elvis is involved with 3 women (but it was the early 60s so no big deal). They should have noted that "Lonely Man" on this package was cut from the film. It was a hit single however and the movie clip appeared at a special Elvis event in Las Vegas years later. Over the years various critics have given Elvis high marks for...
Published on February 18, 2005 by Eclectic Revisited

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stay single and save a dollar.
What we have here are three Elvis soundtracks on one CD. The songs were recorded in 1960 and 1961. None of the movies are Elvis "formula" pictures, and they feature less songs than a typical Elvis movie.

Flaming Star only had four songs recorded for it. "Flaming Star" and "Summer Kisses Winter Tears" are very good songs. "Britches" and "A Cane and a High...
Published on August 16, 2005 by Johnny Heering


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Three of the Better Ones, February 18, 2005
This review is from: Flaming Star / Wild in Country / Follow That Dream (Audio CD)
Judge "Wild in the Country" on your own where Elvis is involved with 3 women (but it was the early 60s so no big deal). They should have noted that "Lonely Man" on this package was cut from the film. It was a hit single however and the movie clip appeared at a special Elvis event in Las Vegas years later. Over the years various critics have given Elvis high marks for his acting chops in "Flaming Star" and "Follow That Dream", perhaps because the scripts were better than usual. Elvis is effective as the not-too-bright peace officer of the peapatch territory he and his family have homesteaded for themselves and no Presley film surpasses the obligatory sing-his-girl-a-romantic-song as when he sings "Angel" to the lovely-from-head-to-toe Anne Helm. It's always been my favorite. The other songs are more-than-usual memorable too. In "Flaming Star" (almost called "Black Star") you forget Elvis' unlikely blue eyes as he effectively plays a half-breed Injun with seasoned actress Dolores del Rio as family and rides awkwardly into the sunset. (They shoulda given him a different horse). This package though is worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Elvis tunes, January 1, 2002
By 
Gerald R. Boothe "Jerry" (Lakewood, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flaming Star / Wild in Country / Follow That Dream (Audio CD)
Three Elvis movies with great songs on all three. Flaming Star has some songs that really show off Elvis' early talents as does Wild In The Country. Follow that Dream is my favorite with every song a hit. This CD has to be in your collection, if not, get it. You will not be dissapointed if your an Elvis fan like myself. Of course if your an Elvis fan, you would already know these songs from other albums, thats what makes this triple feature so great all in one CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the "Follow That Dream" tracks, April 25, 2003
By 
jon sieruga (Redlands, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flaming Star / Wild in Country / Follow That Dream (Audio CD)
"Angel" is a stirring, haunting ballad, "Follow That Dream" and "What a Wonderful Life" are jubiliant and the outtake "Whistling Tune" is very nice. Those are all near the end of this uneven CD that concentrates on unreleased material(that stayed unreleased many years for fairly good reasons). "I Slipped, I Stumbled, I Fell"(two versions!)from "Wild in the Country" is a nice one to own, but the rest of the tracks are more interesting on a historical-Elvis level than as a good listening experience. B-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stay single and save a dollar., August 16, 2005
By 
This review is from: Flaming Star / Wild in Country / Follow That Dream (Audio CD)
What we have here are three Elvis soundtracks on one CD. The songs were recorded in 1960 and 1961. None of the movies are Elvis "formula" pictures, and they feature less songs than a typical Elvis movie.

Flaming Star only had four songs recorded for it. "Flaming Star" and "Summer Kisses Winter Tears" are very good songs. "Britches" and "A Cane and a High Starched Collar" are not very good songs.

Wild in the Country had five songs recorded for it. All the songs are good. In particular, "Lonely Man" is a great ballad and "I Slipped, I Stumbled, I Fell" is a fun, goofy rocker.

Follow That Dream had six songs recorded for it. The songs are good, although "Sound Advice" is somewhat weak. "Follow That Dream" is the best song, but "Angel" and "What a Wonderful Life" are almost as good.

Elvis fans should enjoy this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun music, May 11, 2001
By 
Christopher Herron (Hayden, Alabama USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Flaming Star / Wild in Country / Follow That Dream (Audio CD)
I love this music especially the WIld In The Country and the FOllow That Dream songs. From WIld in The Country,, I always like the song SLip Stumpled and Fell and the beautifull Lonely Man song. OF course the classic songs Follow That Dream and Angel are two of my favorite and when I was 19 the song "IM not the Marrying KInd" was my song, but that was many years ago and much has changed but the music is still very beautifull to listen too. So take a listen to a more simpler time of Life,The early 60's! and a young Elvis who has just been out of the Army a year or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loving it, July 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flaming Star / Wild in Country / Follow That Dream (Audio CD)
I am a Elvis groupie from way back and this c.d.c did not disappoint. I found as his movie soundtracks as possible and I love the combining of more than one soundtrack. Saves time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Presley collection., May 27, 2000
This review is from: Flaming Star / Wild in Country / Follow That Dream (Audio CD)
Three soundtracks to three of Elvis' best ACTING and singing roles, with fascinating prev. unrel. tracks from "Flaming.." and "Wild..". The '60 Western has strangely endured more as a successful acting performance than a popular soundtrack - ofcourse the tunes were not "commercial". But the title track has merit as a well-produced and effective opener; although the long-awaited "Britches", with a wierd line which has Elvis quoting a girl, and another unused song, the deleted film version of "Summer KIsses, Winter Tears", speak volumes as to why RCA was probably not in a hurry to issue them, as finely sung as they are. "WITC" was the follow-up SERIOUS mvie and the music is also serious and sombre, with the exception of the rhythmic but somewhat embarrassing "I Slipped, I Stumbled, I Fell" - I can't help but visualize its unnecesssary, incongruous scene from the movie. Ofcourse "Follow That Dream" has the now-classic title tune, sounding greater with every play, and "What A Wonderful Life", a bouncy number used during the opening credits. Elvis' voice soars on this under-discussed number. The songs reflect the happy feeling of the fine, low-key comedy. (Rating is a 4-minus, if you will).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 7, 2014
This review is from: Flaming Star / Wild in Country / Follow That Dream (Audio CD)
Loved this cd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Flaming Star / Wild in Country / Follow That Dream
Flaming Star / Wild in Country / Follow That Dream by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.