Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


112 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Treasure Trove of Flannery
Robert Ellsberg has come through again. He provides us with a marvelous review of the spiritual writings of Flannery O'Connor, most famous for her short stories but neglected, up until now, for her deep analyses of the Catholic faith and salvation.
Ellsberg selects the best from the voluminous collection of her letters, "The Habit of Being," and arranges...
Published on February 24, 2004 by James E. O'Leary

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars O' Connor Would Never Have Sanctioned This Collection
Flannery O' Connor wrote over 20 stories stories and two novels. She would have wanted her work to be published clean as a razor-sharp knife (Like the content of her stories and novels). This mish-mash would have angered her and, if she were alive, there is absolutely no way she'd approve of this manner of publication.
If you read her marvelous letters, you can...
Published 9 months ago by inthefoam


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

112 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Treasure Trove of Flannery, February 24, 2004
By 
James E. O'Leary (Corpus Christi, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flannery O'Connor: Spiritual Writings (Modern Spiritual Masters Series.) (Paperback)
Robert Ellsberg has come through again. He provides us with a marvelous review of the spiritual writings of Flannery O'Connor, most famous for her short stories but neglected, up until now, for her deep analyses of the Catholic faith and salvation.
Ellsberg selects the best from the voluminous collection of her letters, "The Habit of Being," and arranges them for accessibility and understanding in sections entitled "Christian Realism," "Mother and Teacher," "Revelation," "A Reason to Write," and "The Province of Joy."
Flannery didn't want to be a voice crying in the wilderness. She wanted to reach an unbelieving audience even though she bridled at being called a "Catholic writer." She preferred to be called "a Christian realist" and said that "one of the awful things about writing when you are a Christian is that for you the ultimate reality is the Incarnation, and nobody believes in the Incarnation, that is, nobody in your audience." Flannery wanted her audience to be broad and for that she strove to become the best story teller possible, beginning with her stint at the Iowa Writers Workshop. She went on to become required reading in college English courses. There are PhD theses galore now on this most excellent of American writers.
Although she died just as the Second Vatican Council was beginning, she was awesomely prescient in her observations on the Church, including its warts: "We sometimes have to suffer more from the Church than we do for it."
This is spiritual reading, yes, but it is also an inside look at a great artist.
I'm not doing justice to this book, nor to Flannery O'Connor herself. You will just have to see for yourself, which is all Flannery ever asked us to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful collection, January 21, 2007
This review is from: Flannery O'Connor: Spiritual Writings (Modern Spiritual Masters Series.) (Paperback)
While O'Connor fans may be able to locate much of this material elsewhere, it's wonderful to have her thoughts on spiritual matters collected and arranged as they are in this book. Giannone's introduction is good reading, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonder Compilation, July 13, 2011
This review is from: Flannery O'Connor: Spiritual Writings (Modern Spiritual Masters Series.) (Paperback)
Book Reflections

I wanted to begin my review with Book Reflections because I believe most people will not take the time to read a book review of a biography/Compilation of writings of an author that they have never heard of it. Another reason I begin this way is because many of those who may take the time to read her may dismiss her because she was a Catholic. O'Connor has a great deal to teach us in regards to the difficulty of grace. O'Connor's writings will provoke conversation, discussion, and deep thought. O'Connor's stories will stick with you and challenge your interpretation of reality. O'Connor also has many lessons to teach aspiring authors. O'Connor takes writing and the thoughts behind writing to a level that most will never reach. I highly encourage you to buy everything that you can of O'Connor. Many of O'Connor's short stories are available for free online. Pick up and read!

Book Review
Robert Ellsberg does a fantastic job of bringing together Flannery O'Connor's Spiritual Writings. Ellsberg pulls from various stories, letters, articles, and essays by O'Connor (e.g. Mystery & Manners, Wise Blood, The Presence of Grace, ect). The book covers that which influenced O'Connor, in her own words. The book also demonstrates O'Connor's influence and necessity of the church within her writing. Finally, and most importantly the book demonstrates O"Connor's contribution to writing itself. O'Connor is worth reading, even if you only read her Mystery and Manners. Mystery and Manner is a book about how to write. O'Connor will cause you to take the next step into the lives of the characters, which you may be writing about. Large chunks of Mystery and Manners can be found throughout the book. If you have never read O'Conner this is a great introduction to her works. Richard Giannone writes the introduction to the book giving the reader a thorough back to the life of Flannery. Giannone also does an exceptional job introducing her works and allowing the reader to see the context of her writing. From the introduction the reader leaves well equipped to take on O'Conner's works as a whole. Upon completion of each chapter you feel like you are left with a theatrical teaser and longing for more. Ellsberg also does a great job bringing O'Conner's lasting quotes to the forefront throughout the summary.
Publisher: Orbis Books
Publication Date:2003
Pages: 173
Binding Type: Paperback
Book Grade: B+

Quotes about Flannery O'Connor and her works
Mark Driscoll
"I'm not a huge fiction reader... except for Flannery O'Connor."
Desiring God talks about Flannery O'Conner

Douglas Jones (In an Article @ Credenda Agenda `Doug Wilson's church's Magazine)
"I've found it terribly difficult to get modern Christians to
read O'Connor--even in healthy Christian communities. In
my case, too, secular writers first made me sit up and notice
O'Connor. They praised her technique and famous opening
paragraphs. They lauded her tension and dialogue. Flannery
O'Connor won several notable writing awards during her life,
even while the secularists didn't really have a clue about her
Christian realism.
Flannery O'Connor is easily the most important and
talented and self-consciously Christian short story author of
the twentieth century. Nobody else is close. I've seen her
stories revolutionize people's lives, and yet most Christians
have never even heard her name. Sure, many Christian
academics and writers sing her praises, especially of late. But
we should all know her stories inside and out; they should be
easy allusions in conversation; they should be common
parables in our teens' mouths. And we need to master her
style and absorb her insights before the next generation can
build upon her gifts."

Albert Mohler (Discussing a book containing stories from different authors)
"(Author) has chosen stories from masters such as Fyodor Dostoevsky, Leo Tolstoy, and Flannery O'Connor ... writers whose stories will make the Christian think and reflect . . . and enjoy reading."
Flannery is one of Russell Moore's favorite authors (VP of Southern Seminary)
Flannery is one of Don Whitney's favorite authors (Author of Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life)

Discussion Question

Do you think Flannery's view of Grace (As not always a happy ending, sweet, and pretty) is biblically accurate?

~The Reformed Reader~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars At this point I want to know her writings better., July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flannery O'Connor: Spiritual Writings (Modern Spiritual Masters Series.) (Paperback)
While reading contemporary authors who are believers I was impressed by the number of times they make references to Flannery O'Connor. At this point I want to know her writings better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what is needed for any and all spiritual libraries., April 12, 2014
By 
edward huff "chaplain-poet-tennis" (Henderson, KY, in United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flannery O'Connor: Spiritual Writings (Modern Spiritual Masters Series.) (Paperback)
This is a wonderful volume, both summarizing O'Connor's life, and given very relevant quotes and sources from her writings and letters. An invaluable addition to one's adult journey in spiritual growth, (not just Catholic growth), Highly recommended for concise, precise, nuggets and jewels on virtually every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly a Master Piece, March 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flannery O'Connor: Spiritual Writings (Modern Spiritual Masters Series.) (Paperback)
It is a beautifully written book.
I found it very Interesting and relatable.
What I liked most was how it showed her humanity and her struggles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Flannery O'Connor fans will be delighted, December 28, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flannery O'Connor: Spiritual Writings (Modern Spiritual Masters Series.) (Paperback)
This book is about Flannery O'Connors, life, spiritual journal and how she coped with faith throughout her life time. Amazon carries her actual spiritual journal which I read first and then this running commentary. I gave it 4 stars because I think you should read the actual prayer journal first. See if Amazon offers the books as a bundle that way you have have plenty of fine reading and contemplation ahead for you. Check out Amazon's collection of companion books and follow this prolific writer and her spiritual journey. You will be glad to add these books to your spiritual reading collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, July 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flannery O'Connor: Spiritual Writings (Modern Spiritual Masters Series.) (Paperback)
Flannery O'Connor is a very interesting and enjoyable author. This book gives a peek at her, I am looking forward to reading more of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FLANNERYO'CONNOR: SPIRITUAL WRITINGS, May 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flannery O'Connor: Spiritual Writings (Modern Spiritual Masters Series.) (Paperback)
THIS WAS A GREAT INTRODUCTION TO HER LIFE AND LITERATURE. I TRULY ENJOYED THIS READING THIS BOOK. I LOOK FORWARD TO READING "THE HABIT OF BEING" AND HER STORIES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for all who want to know the spiritual ..., November 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flannery O'Connor: Spiritual Writings (Modern Spiritual Masters Series.) (Paperback)
Great book for all who want to know the spiritual - and I'd say prophetic! - dimension of that great writer! Profound and beautiful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Flannery O'Connor: Spiritual Writings (Modern Spiritual Masters Series.)
$18.00 $13.33
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.