Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for $2.08
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Flash: The Return of Barry Allen Paperback – July 1, 1996

4.4 out of 5 stars 16 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$59.70 $42.95

Raging Sea
The Undertow Trilogy
For fans of Rick Yancey and Marie Lu, "Raging Sea" is the latest electrifying addition to this much-anticipated trilogy from author Michael Buckley. Hardcover | Kindle book
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at Audible.com. If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at ACX.com.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 192 pages
  • Publisher: DC Comics; Gph edition (July 1, 1996)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1563892685
  • ISBN-13: 978-1563892684
  • Product Dimensions: 6.6 x 0.4 x 10.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 9.6 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (16 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #289,916 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Mark Waid, a New York Times bestselling author, has written a wider variety of well-known comics characters than any other American comics author, from Superman to the Justice League to Spider-Man to Archie and hundreds of others. His award-winning graphic novel with artist Alex Ross, KINGDOM COME, is one of the best-selling comics collections of all time. (Secretly, however, he prefers SUPERMAN: BIRTHRIGHT and his IRREDEEMABLE collections as his favorite works he's produced.)

With over twenty years of experience in his field, Waid maintains a blog at www.markwaid.com that is full of advice for beginning writers and experienced authors both.

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
With all due respect to the great work Geoff Johns is currently doing with the Flash, Mark Waid was the writer who really defined the character for me and remains my favorite. This is the storyline that first made me take notice.
Published in the midst of the "Kill/revamp/screw around with your hero" craze that started with the Death of Superman, when Barry Allen showed up in the Flash comic book, a lot of us didn't know what to make of it. Barry, alias Flash II, had died the ultimate heroic death in "Crisis on Infinite Earths" and had become the Official Martyr of the DC Universe. His nephew, Wally West, took on the Flash mantle but had always struggled, trapped under Barry's shadow.
The best way to sum up this story is with the old chestnut, "Be careful what you wish for." When Barry returns, it seems like the greatest thing that could happen. As it turns out, this isn't the case. The twist doesn't come as too big a surprise to anyone familiar with Flash history, but this story wasn't really about the twist -- it was about the legacy of the Flash, one of Earth's heroes, created by Jay Garrick and immortalized by Barry Allen, and it was about the efforts of the heir to that legacy to rise to the challenge and become not only a hero, but a man. It's a marvelous, touching story, and it's something every Flash fan should read.
Comment 22 of 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
When this comic story came out in 1992, no one knew what was about to happen. Superman had just died, and Batman was about to be badly beaten, and we figured that the hype and the darkness were here for good. But along comes Waid, young and still not that highly regarded but talented, and shocks everyone with this. We didn't expect anyone would ever deal with Barry Allen again, and we didn't think anyone could make comics so much fun again.
This is a Flash-lover's dream and a wild ride young and old can appreciate. The art was the best Greg LaRocque ever offered, a fitting end to his years of work on this title. And Wally West, the third hero to be called The Flash, finally became a man.
Seven yars ago, I said that Waid would never top this. And with perhaps the exception of "Kingdom Come," he hasn't. It's that good.
Comment 10 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Imagine the man whose memory you wanted to honor by your actions returns from the dead...and he is disappointed in you. This is the dilemma facing Wally West when Barry Allen appears. Mark Waid invents a fascinating scenario here and by returning Golden age speedster, Max Mercury, as the guru of all the speedsters he sets up a number of stories establishing the Speed Force, from which all DC speedsters get their power. With a phenomenal twist and solid art by Greg Laroque, this one stands as one of the truly great Flash stories.
Comment 11 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Mark Waid's influential run on DC's fastest man alive reached it's height in this storyarc. Published in the early 90's, when Superman was killed, Batman was about to be broken, and Hal Jordan was set to go insane and kill his fellow Green Lanterns, not many knew what to make of this story, as current Flash Wally West gets the surprise of his life when his thought dead uncle Barry Allen, the silver age Flash who sacrificed himself in Crisis on Infinite Earths, comes back. While Wally has his suspiscions at first, at appears that this really is Barry and the two team up to take on the city's villains, but when Wally learns the truth, things will never be the same. Up until this storyarc, Wally West had always lived under the shadow of Barry Allen, not being sure of himself and such, but afterwards the character had never been written the same. This is the arc where West matures and becomes his own well-written character and even better loved than Barry. The art is typical for this type of book, but it's not bad, and the real selling point here is Waid's story. All in all, the Return of Barry Allen is one of the best Flash stories of all time, and a must read for those who think that no one stays dead in comics.
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I first became a Wally West fan through Geoff Johns' Flash stories and decided to read Waid's Terminal Velocity as an afterthought, only to find it set the groundwork for Johns' run and introduced the speed force. The Return of Barry Allen is the second Mark Waid Flash story I've read and possibly the best Wally West story I've read. The dialogue, story, and pacing is just as good if not better than anything Johns did, and from beginning to end the story is fun and action packed.

Barry Allen returns, and as happy as he is, Wally West is also very skeptical. I expected the reveal to be a disappointment only to find my jaw drop to the floor as the conclusion sees one of the most shocking reveals in Flash history. Jay Garrick seems to have nearly as much panel time as Wally, and even Max Mercury and Johnny Quick are major players in this mind blowing storyline. Unless you hate the Flash, add this to your collection as fast as you can!!!
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Barry Allen back from the dead? Didn't he die on Crisis on Infinite Earths? Here we go again with dead coming back to life. Apparently, Barry Allen has reassembled himself from the speed force energy into whole again. Everyone welcomes him back especially Wally, the current Flash, who worships Barry. As the 2 Flash's confront enemies together, the erratic Barry Allen Flash becomes jealous of Wally for taking over the Flash mantle. The Allen Flash decides to take out Wally and destroy the city he once protected. Is this the true Flash? I won't spoil the rest.

This is great book written by Waid. We learn that original Flash was beloved by all, especially by Wally. We learn how Wally truly idolizes Barry Allen as the Flash. The characters are truly fleshed out and the surprise ending was quite satisfying.

Go out and buy this book!
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: mark waid the flash