Start reading Flashback - An Actor's Life on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Add Audible Narration

Flashback - An Actor's Life Narrated by David Barry $15.35 $2.99
Enter a promotion code
or gift card

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

Flashback - An Actor's Life [Kindle Edition]

David Barry , Siobhan Smith

Kindle Price: $4.80
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for free and get unlimited access to over 700,000 titles. Learn More
Prime members can borrow this book and read it on their devices with Kindle Owners Lending Library.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Audible Narration

Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration with Whispersync for Voice. Add narration for a reduced price of $2.99 when you buy the Kindle book.


Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $4.80  
Audible Audio Edition, Unabridged $9.95 or Free with Audible 30-day free trial
Kindle Delivers
Kindle Delivers
Subscribe to the Kindle Delivers monthly e-mail to find out about each month's Kindle book deals, new releases, editors' picks and more. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Book Description

David Barry’s autobiography spans almost five decades of theatre, film and television experience. As a 14 year old he toured Europe with Sir Laurence Olivier and Vivien Leigh, in one of the most prestigious post-war theatre tours. Vivien Leigh took a shine to him and he saw both sides of her complex character first hand. One minute she was sweetness and light, and the next she became a screaming harridan as she publicly berated Sir Laurence.

In his early twenties, he starred as Frankie Abbott in Please, Sir! and Fenn Street Gang, and those days are recounted with great humour. Hilarious events unfold as he describes working with dodgy producers and argumentative actors. His is a story that covers everything from the pitfalls of working in live television to performing with hard drinking actors.

Product Details

  • File Size: 325 KB
  • Print Length: 136 pages
  • Publisher: Authors OnLine Ltd; 1 edition (November 21, 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B006BG88RE
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,438,768 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers

More About the Author

I have been an actor for almost 50 years having started as a child actor, and worked on stage with Paul Scofield, Laurence Olivier and Vivien Leigh. I played Frankie Abbott in the 70s sitcoms Please, Sir! and Fenn Street Gang. In the '80s I wrote for Keep It in the Family for Thames TV, and I've appeared in countless theatre and TV productions, including episodes of The Bill and A Mind to Kill. My first novel, Each Man Kills, (Gomer Press) a police thriller, was published in 2002. My autobiography, Flashback (Authorsonline), was published in 2006, and includes childhood memoirs of touring Europe in Titus Andronicus in 1957 with Laurence Olivier and Vivien Leigh with the first British theatre company to perform behind the Iron Curtain. I wrote a historical/crime novel, based on a true story. This is called Willie the Actor and is available as an e-book on Kindle. I have has also written a children's book The Ice Cream Time Machine, which was published by Libros International in 2009, and has now been republished by AUK Ltd and is available as a Kindle. My latest book, Mr Micawber Down Under was published in hardback by Robert Hale Books in October 2011. I have two grown up children and live in Tunbridge Wells, Kent, where my two latest books are set. These are my Tunbridge Wells saga, Careless Talk and the sequel More Careless Talk, both available as e-books and paperbacks, published by AUK Ltd.


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category