Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adorama Umbella lightstand adapter
The adapter fits onto your lightstand via a handtighten screw and once secure holds the light and umbrella steady. I have used a variety of bulbs in the socket and have sucessfully been to remove the bulbs easily with the adapter intact. Some reviewers have criticized this device sold here and through other vendors as having the internal metal socket coming out. Like any...
Published on July 4, 2011 by Bjudo

versus
30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quality is just OK Functionaity is great.
My review is twofold....
Quality of the plastic is good and the switch seems solid. Like others I noticed that the quality of the socket is poor. Just be careful with it (it will probably still break after a while).

Functionality is really good. Nicely placed umbrella holder holds the umbrella at just the right angle. Multi-position tilt works very will...
Published on July 6, 2011 by Casch


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quality is just OK Functionaity is great., July 6, 2011
By 
Casch "Chris" (Northern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flashpoint AC Socket with Light Stand Adapter & Umbrella Holder (Camera)
My review is twofold....
Quality of the plastic is good and the switch seems solid. Like others I noticed that the quality of the socket is poor. Just be careful with it (it will probably still break after a while).

Functionality is really good. Nicely placed umbrella holder holds the umbrella at just the right angle. Multi-position tilt works very will with small (24") umbrellas.

Look, at $10 dollars consider it disposable. Don't get frustrated or mad just buy an extra and forget about it. Anything I've seen better cost easily 10 times as much so you can do the math. I leave the bulbs in so that I don't put undue stress on the socket.

Last thing. If your buying compact fluorescent bulbs buy really high wattage. I wouldn't use anything less than 65 watt and bigger here is MUCH better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adorama Umbella lightstand adapter, July 4, 2011
By 
Bjudo "BB" (Pennsylvannia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flashpoint AC Socket with Light Stand Adapter & Umbrella Holder (Camera)
The adapter fits onto your lightstand via a handtighten screw and once secure holds the light and umbrella steady. I have used a variety of bulbs in the socket and have sucessfully been to remove the bulbs easily with the adapter intact. Some reviewers have criticized this device sold here and through other vendors as having the internal metal socket coming out. Like any most sockets, you need only insert the bulb straight into the socket and tighten until snug. You do not have to crank down in the bulb to make this device work. Yes, if you overtighten the bulb, the inner connections will come loose and you will probably damage your bulb. The umbrella post slides just under the socket and can also be locked in place (not too tight!).

Unfortunately, the device does not swivel, which can see an an improvement. To change the direction of your light/umbrella you will need to loosen the lock screw on you light stand, so do not overtighten this screw or you may be sorry. The plastic housing will crack if you drop it on a hard surface.

I would recomend this product to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the greatest build quality., May 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flashpoint AC Socket with Light Stand Adapter & Umbrella Holder (Camera)
This socket works but the build quality is lacking. The first bulb we tried to take out of it the little metal ring/collar inside the plastic that the bulb screws into came out with the bulb.

The ring only has a couple of threads and is very thin/malleable.

I wasn't really impressed with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent; Somewhat fragile, April 14, 2012
By 
This review is from: Flashpoint AC Socket with Light Stand Adapter & Umbrella Holder (Camera)
Pros:
1. very reasonable price; buy several
2. compact
3. corded
4. on/off rocker switch
5. accepts both 5/16" or 3/8" diameter umbrella shafts
6. fits 5/8" light stand spud
7. holds a giant 4" diameter CowboyStudio 85 Watt Daylight Balanced Compact Fluorescent Light Bulb
8. works outstandingly with the PBL 43" BLACK/WHITE SOFTBOX UMBRELLA Steve Kaeser Photographic Lighting
9. vertical angle adjustment has click stops so the angle stays put once set
10. It works. I don't know of any other device that does what this does at any price.

Cons:
1. all plastic (hey, the thing is all of eight bucks!)
2. too much torque on any of the tightening screws can break it, though none has broken for me yet; tighten gently
3. no grounding pin, which might be a problem in some locales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars it caught on fire!, May 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flashpoint AC Socket with Light Stand Adapter & Umbrella Holder (Camera)
I recently ordered two of these to hold my silk umbrellas, I had to wait 3 weeks for the proper bulbs for theses sockets (not ordered with the sockets). One of them appears to be working correctly, but the second one caught on fire and in seconds became so hot it melted the insulation, exposing the wires. Before I could get the socket unplugged, the room was full of smoke. Luckily the breaker outside tripped before I was electrocuted. I would NEVER recommend this dangerous product to anyone!!!!!!! As for the other socket, it is in the trash also!!!!! As for the bulb, it is in a *different brand* AC socket, I use it currently, which proves the burnt socket was to blame.

Please Note****** I have several Adorama products and have been using Adorama products for years! This specific AC socket is simply junk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gone through at least 3 of these, June 15, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flashpoint AC Socket with Light Stand Adapter & Umbrella Holder (Camera)
These adapters are sold individually and as parts of photo lighting kits by many companies and they look good, and are the only ones we have seen or know exist that will accept standard light bulbs, accept an umbrella, have adjustable angle neck and attach firmly to a standard photo light stand.

Unfortunately I think they could actually be dangerous and I really doubt they are UL approved. My wife is a mobile makeup artist/hair stylist and uses these on location with a small light stand and umbrella for lighting clients that she works on. She sets up her light at least once or twice a day 20 - 25 days a month. She has gone through at least 3 of these the last few years. The switches must be a bad quality and will short out, sometimes with a loud pop and other times just stop working. The receptical also does not like all bulbs... and they sometimes do not want to screw in straight.

Right now they seem to be the only "game in town" and they are "cheap" so we just keep buying them as they stop working. If anyone knows of better options we would be happy to pay 2 -3 times the price for an adapter of better quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cost effective and functional ..., March 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flashpoint AC Socket with Light Stand Adapter & Umbrella Holder (Camera)
Affordable way to provide additional light where you need it. The build quality is fair and have not experienced inner metal collar bulb holder failure as some have mentioned. Just don't use excessive force when tightening the bulb or the umbrella holder. On/off switch is useful as well as the 10 ft. cord. Most of these standard light bulb sockets can accommodate up to 150 watt incandescent bulbs without being a fire hazard; therefore, it shouldn't have any problem with all CFLs rated at 100 watts or less. I think 105 watt CFL would be OK, too. However, I would not consider attaching a screw-on bulb multiplier. The added weight may strain the overall structure and get in the way of using the umbrella.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless as umbrella holder, January 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flashpoint AC Socket with Light Stand Adapter & Umbrella Holder (Camera)
The tilt mechanism of this socket is poorly designed. It works fine if you've only got a light bulb in the socket, but when attaching an umbrella, the weight of the umbrella is too much for the swivel to hold in place, so the umbrella ends up pointing at the floor. When I tried to tighten the the swivel more to hold the umbrella up, the threads of the plastic nut used for such tightening stripped. Very poor engineering and build quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buyers Beware!, December 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flashpoint AC Socket with Light Stand Adapter & Umbrella Holder (Camera)
Buyers beware! This was my recent purchase from Amazon because I needed more lights for my video projects. And this one came pretty bad. The quality is horrible. The circular metal plate that holds the bulb came off. The bottom knob that secures the light device to the stand came off (the threaded washer that holds the knob). Altogether this is a really poor product. Coming from a company such as Adorama, I was expecting a decent light stand adapter. I don't blame Amazon because everything I've ever got from Amazon was good and intact. NOw, it's just iffy if it's coming from Adorama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Adorama AC Socket with Light Stand Adaptor, September 7, 2013
By 
Robert M. Rolfe "robertrolfe" (Springfield, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flashpoint AC Socket with Light Stand Adapter & Umbrella Holder (Camera)
I purchased three over a few months. Only one worked, the other two shorted out the wall socket, and one almost caught fire today and the insulation on the wire melted. Purchased from Fancier Adorama AC Socket with Light Stand Adapter and Umbrella Holder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.