Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Romantic Side Of Flavor Flav
It's Flavor Of Love starring the one & only Flavor Flav and 20 beautiful women who are willing to do anything (lie, back-stab, cat-fight, snitch, etc.) to be the one woman by Flav's side. This show is HILARIOUS!

20 women from various backgrounds compete to win Flav's love through challenges (cooking, gambling, 5 senses, etc.) to win a private date with Flav and...
Published on October 13, 2006 by Tyrone Williams

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Is it truly uncensored?
Before I buy this video, I wanted to see if those of you who have purchased this DVD, if it is truly uncensored? I know that more and more, DVD producers call a DVD "uncensored" when in reality, they are only talking about letting the language fly free. When in reality, most people looking for "uncensored" are more interested in the body parts. :)

So how...
Published on August 30, 2006 by AH


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Romantic Side Of Flavor Flav, October 13, 2006
By 
Tyrone Williams (Canton, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
It's Flavor Of Love starring the one & only Flavor Flav and 20 beautiful women who are willing to do anything (lie, back-stab, cat-fight, snitch, etc.) to be the one woman by Flav's side. This show is HILARIOUS!

20 women from various backgrounds compete to win Flav's love through challenges (cooking, gambling, 5 senses, etc.) to win a private date with Flav and through intimate one-on-one sessions to see what each girl is really about - Which girl really loves Flav and which girl is there to pursue her own interests (modeling, TV career or Flav's fame & fortune). Watching each girl's fate unfold through the eliminations is what keeps my interest in this show. Some of the girls were:

NEW YORK - From day one, her focus was to have Flav for her very own. Making it clear that she would not "play fair" or "make friends", she creates as much drama as she can to eliminate the other girls. Her determination (& underhandedness) gets her as far as the final elimination (and subsequently another shot at Flav in Season 2).

RED OYSTER - She's sexy, has a thing for the color red, and was Flav's self-appointed in-house spy. She made it her duty to inform Flav of any & all shady activities that the other girls were up to - with Flav's best interests at heart, of course. Quite a shocker to find out that she was still married while she was on the show.

HOTTIE - Her appearance on "Blind Date" exposed her as a gold digger, A polygraph test revealed her as a habitual liar and her "raw-chicken-with-veggies" meal ceritfied her as the worst cook in the world. The whole "I look like Beyonce" thing was probably the funniest moment on the show.

SERIOUS - The "misunderstood" model. Though she claims she wasn't there to further her modeling career, she didn't make her intentions with Flav clear enough - if she had any intentions at all.

SWEETIE - Flav's mother said to him that Sweetie appeared "desperate" to win and during her final one-on-one she seemed to be coming on pretty strong with him, perhaps to stay in the competition. Maybe that was the reason she was eliminated. But I think Flav should have kept her (instead of Hottie) because despite her childhood trauma with chicken, she was a trooper and cooked it for him anyway.

GOLDIE - I loved Goldie! I think she should have won! Of all the girls, she was the most down to earth and (according to the polygraph test) the most honest. In spite of the fact that she got a little TOO TIPSY before the first elimination, she proved that she could hold her own in the competiton. She was sweet, very funny and quite sexy, as demonstrated by that HOT kiss she laid on Flav during his date with her & New York (Goldie, where have you been!!!). Her admitting to Flav that she "just wanted to be his friend" was what eliminated her but I think if she really wanted him she could have been the winner. Flav was obviously "feeling" her.

HOOPZ - The girl who came out on top. She was also very down to earth and very beautiful. She would not resort to the "sexual tactics" some of the other girls used to get Flav and that made her genuine. Her ace in the hole was when she went on the date with Flav & his mother after winning the "chicken" competition. She won over Flav's mom while being herself the whole time. Though later it would turn out that she and Flav were not meant to be, she deserved to win.

I won't say much about the "spitting incident", other than it made Pumkin the worst contestant on the show and possibly all of reality TV.

This DVD contains all of the episodes with uneditied language, some brief nudity, the reunion show (After The Lovin') and other extra features.

This weekend we'll see the conclusion of Season 2 - will New York win this time?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flavor Of Love- The Complete First Season, October 18, 2006
By 
Amy Lynn (Pennsylvania United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Flavor Flav is back. In Flavor of Love, 20 women from all walks of life are selected for their love of Flav, but only 15 move into his 'phat crib' in Los Angeles and vie for his affection with the help of Big Rick, Flavs gigantic bodyguard and chauffeur. Be prepared to be entertained with this 3 disc set of all 10 episodes from Season 1 plus Special Features.

List of Episodes and Features-
Disc 1
Episode 1- ''15 Beds and a bucket of puke'', In this episode Flavor Flav welcomes 20 women to his 'Mackadocious' Mansion. Flav is introduced to all the women and they all start to vie for his attention.
Episode 2- ''Rub a Dub Flav'', Flav challenges his remaining Flavorettes to a hot tub speed-dating competition. The next day the winners accompany Flav on a Roller Date where he asks probing questions about their past relationships. 5 More go home by the end of the night.
Episode 3- ''A Friend of Flav's is a Friend of Mine'', In this episode Flav presents the girls with 2 challenges. One includes assisting at an old folks home and the other is a birthday party with twenty five screaming four year olds.
Episode 4- ''The Flavor of Chicken'', Flavor Flav has another special suprise for his eight remaining ladies: Meeting his Mother Anna Drayton and then going to church and a nice tea party. The next day the girls attempt to make fried chicken. The girl who makes the best chicken gets the date with Flav. This is the infamous 'chicken in the microwave' episode.

Disc 2
Episode 5- ''What happens In Flavor stays in Flavor'', Flava flies the 7 remaining women to Vegas on his private jet. The girl who wins the most money wins the private date. This episode also has the 'Five Senses Heptathlon' and one girl ends up leaving.
Episode 6- ''InterroGitted'',- There are 6 girls left so Flav brings out the big guns and brings in Brigitte Nielson to give the girls lie detector tests. Then she advises Flav on who she thinks he should keep. Also, a suprise ending.
Episode 7- ''Flavs Trippin'', With Four girls left Flav decides to hit the road. He takes 2 to palm springs for a spa retreat & the other 2 to the Zoo. There will be one suite and 2 girls. Whos going to be the third wheel and whos going home?
Episode 8- ''Family Flavors'', Things are getting serious so Flav decides its time to meet the parents. This is the 'famous' episode with Pumkin and New York. Ends with the most bitter and brutal eliminations ever.

Disc 3
Episide 9-''The slaps, smacks, screams and spit you never saw'', This episode shows everything. It's basically a recap of most of the show with some new things added in.
Episode 10-: ''Viva La Flav'', Final 2 girls remain. Flav takes them to Puerto Vallarta for an intense 24 hours alone with each girl. We know both will be impressed, but which one gets to live that kind of lifestyle once elimination is over?

Special Features-
The Reunion Special: ''After the Lovin''
Flavor Flav and all his original 20 Flavorettes are back for a reunion show like youve never seen before.. Flav and the girls give updates on their lives, offer their 2 cents and air dirty laundry. Plus New York and Pumkin finally square off about the spit incident once and for all.
Flav's Filosophies: 20 very brief 'filosophies' of Flav such as 'Inner Beauty', 'Girl of his Dreams' and 'Occult'.
New York Hospitality: Segment with never before seen conversations between New York, Flav and other girls in the house.
Pumkin's Blac-U-Cation: Pumkin teaches the girls about White Slang. Such as 'Speech 101', Dance 101 and Hair Care 101.

This is mindless entertainment at its finest. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious show, September 4, 2006
this is the unrated first season of the flavor of love.

yes.. it is unrated as in all the language is there and most of the body shots are also uncensored. New York's shots are uncensored and smiley's strip tease is uncensored. However, pumkin is still censored and the one girl who jumps into the shower in episode 4 is censored. Also, the girl who shows her [...] to hottie in the famous "i look like beyonce" scene is also uncensored.

anyway.. there are all 10 episodes, the reunion, and a couple things they didnt show about pumkin trying to act black and some more of New York's outtakes. If you have already seen the season and the reunion the extras arent worth it, and you should buy this only if you want to relive the season without the bleeps and censors.

i bought this dvd because i love the show and like watching the fights over and over again.

the show is hilarious and over the top at times.. and has one of the funniest reality [...] of all time, New York.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well almost uncensored, September 9, 2006
By 
David Nox (Central Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ok for those that asked this DVD is basically uncensored.

You will get to hear all the F bombs ect.

You will get to see Serious (The Model) and Smiley (The crying stripper) topless (those 2 are worth the price of the DVD alone).

Smiley is topless at least twice. Smiley steals the show at the 5 senses competition. She strips to a G-string unedited.

You will see New York in her see through nighties and one rear nude in Mexico.

The reason why I did not give it 5 stars is because the shower scene with Pumkin Hoops and Flava is STILL full censored!! BOO!!!

The scene was one of the hottest in the show and they blurred it!

There are other scenes where girls are also censored with little blurs in the right places. I guess some girls signed a release for this DVD to show them nude and some didn't.

There are many extra scenes too.

If you liked the show this is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better than what public Enemy has done in years, October 22, 2006
i give Flav props on a show that is funny. it's as funny as Public Enemy was back in the day with there Abbott&Costello Routines that chuck D&Flavor flav would do playing off one another(all them so-Called Conscious acts are Buffoons at the end of the day for the highest bidder anyway) i give Flavor Flav Props for also not being a "Never Was" in a Backing Band on the VH1 Honors&also not allowing himself to being seen as a "Has-Been" on such a show either. He did it the right way in Reality Tv&Will be alright in the bigger picture. the rest of Public Enemy should take heed&get on there own Reality show. flavor flav had the right idea at the right time&also is hooking up with some fly babes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flava Flav!!!!!, September 12, 2006
By 
Gab (Mesa, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This is a great dvd, it is almost all uncensored, you hear all the f-bombs drop. And some of the girls topless like the last review said. The problem was at the shower scene like it was metioned. They censored that the topless and it was the hottest part. Which I found ridiculus. I guess the last reviewer might be right, saying that they probably didnt sight a release, but if thats the case, that dumby pumpkin should have. Ive seen her topless, all naked in the blind date uncensored they show on ppv, and one of the other shows. I cant believe she didnt want to be seen in this one. Anyways, good dvd, good extras, well worth the watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kinda, sorta uncut-title misleading, December 24, 2008
Ok, this is it!

The VH-1 show that has started a long line of dating shows on the network.

I did not know who Flav was until the 3rd season of "The Surreal Life".

I got into watching the show when it went into repeats.

My favorite of the woman were Nicole (Hoopz), Courtney (Goldie), Brooke (Pumkin) & Tiffany (New York).

I was looking forward to buying this DVD. I did want the series & ESPECIALLY UNCUT.

Well, it is only PARTIALLY UNCUT.

You will be disappointed, like I was when it claims to be uncut when it is still cut.

You get the language, what everyone actually said but scene are cut, things covered up like some of the ladies with clothes of, etc.

Uncut is NOT true, ONLY PARTIALLY TRUE.

Oh, disc 1 YOU HAVE TO SIT THROUGH OR FAST FORWARD OVER 2 PROMOS FOR OTHERS SHOWS. Did NOT need that.

Only giving 4 stars because of what I said above-NOT TRULY UNCUT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very funny intense drama filled show that will have you jumping outta your seat, March 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this dvd is great.i have never seen this before.i watched the hole season and it was intense and funny.im glad i bought it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yeah Boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooy, May 16, 2008
This was freakin funny this show was really great, great drama/romance/and hilarious comedy. I have this and the 2season and there both evenly matched both hilarious and crazy, so this was great i watch this over and over cause its so funny great show oh and this is slightly uncensored so theres some nudity whitch is great funny show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovin Flave, March 31, 2007
A Kid's Review
flavor flave is odd looking,but the way he thinks he's fine is hilarious. And the experience with ''Public Enemie'' the band. I just think he's use to that. And because he's use to that,he just loves the atenttion. I think that's why the show is hilarious,i love it. I totally desirves 5 stars!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.