Customer Reviews


173 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even greater than Rumours
It might help to emphasize the greatness of this record by noting that I'm the last person on the world who should love it; my genres are classical, jazz, and to the extent that I enjoy pop/rock, my tastes go in the opposite direction from the folk-influenced pop that Fleetwood Mac did well. If you buy a Fleetwood Mac album on Amazon (as I've discovered), the buying...
Published on January 3, 2006 by Odysseus

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great album, average sound quality
As any Fleetwood Mac fan already knows, this is an excellent, classic album filled with great songs. The album itself easily deserves five stars in my book. This is where the original version of "Landslide" first appeared, not to mention some of Christine McVie's best songs ever-- her love songs appear upbeat on the surface, but there are darker undertones to her writing...
Published on April 9, 2005 by duggalolly


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even greater than Rumours, January 3, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It might help to emphasize the greatness of this record by noting that I'm the last person on the world who should love it; my genres are classical, jazz, and to the extent that I enjoy pop/rock, my tastes go in the opposite direction from the folk-influenced pop that Fleetwood Mac did well. If you buy a Fleetwood Mac album on Amazon (as I've discovered), the buying recommendations that start coming to you include James Taylor, the Eagles, Carly Simon, etc. Completely not my thing.

But hoo boy, is this a great record. It deserves to be considered one of the all-time rock/pop classics, and in my opinion is greater than its heralded follow-up, Rumours.

I base that on a view that the songs on this record are 1) just as catchy and infectious, but also 2) possessed of much greater emotional depth.

Consider first Stevie Nicks's timeless "Landslide," a poetic, haunting, acoustic jewel. I don't know why this song doesn't routinely come up atop those "all time 100 greatest songs" lists, but it really deserves to. It's hard to imagine a song that more beautifully captures the emotions it sings about: big life changes, relationship dissolution, feeling uncertain and scared, and trying to find the courage to move forward.

Immediately before "Landslide" on the record is another classic, Christine McVie's "Say You Love Me." It's basically a toe-tapping number good for singing along, but there's a subtext of poignancy to it that I've never been able to put my finger on. The lyrics don't really try to be profound. But there's something about the way McVie, Buckingham and Nicks sing the choruses together, especially in combination with the roving bass, and especially in the fadeout. When they get to the end and are repeating, "Fallin', fallin', fallin'" in three-part harmony, it just feels perfection.

And the album has other smash hits also: "Rhiannon" and "Over My Head" among them. "Over My Head" is prettier and more gentle in the album version than on the single version. "Rhiannon" isn't one of my favorite songs (I never really liked the whole Stevie Nicks persona where she seems to be narcissistically starring in her own fantasy novel) but it's an undeniably strong single.

So there you have four timeless hit songs that are at least as strong as the four best songs on Rumours. (Does anything on Rumours pack the emotional punch of "Landslide?"). But it's not just the headline numbers on this record but the supporting tunes that are fantastic.

"Blue Letter" is a wonderful song, could easily have been a hit of its own (it sounds as though it influenced the composition of "Say You Love Me," even on down to the affecting fadeout.) "Monday Morning," an energetic up-tempo number by Lindsey Buckingham, gets the album off to a terrific start. "Crystal" is really a beautiful, emotional, poetic piece, composed by Stevie Nicks, sung mostly by Buckingham. It's good for a lump in the throat; Nicks had a great gift for conveying powerful emotions in simple, understated composition.

The six-song sequence that runs: Blue Letter, Rhiannon, Over My Head, Crystal, Say You Love Me, and Landslide is about as strong a six-song run that any band has ever recorded (and the two that precede that run aren't bad either.)

In sum, Fleetwood Mac is at their hit-making best on this record, but there is a poetry and emotional power to this music that you don't hear on their later recordings. It paved the way for the phenomenal chart success of Rumours, but is in my opinion the greater of the two albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Classic 1975 Mac Album Finally Gets Remastered!, April 2, 2004
By 
highway_star (Hallandale, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
Released in 1975, Fleetwood Mac's self titled album was a complete change for the british blues rock group. With the addition of singer/songwriters Lindsey Buckingham and his girlfriend Stevie Nicks, Fleetwood Mac had their most successful album in years. No longer a blues rock group, they were now pop rock and the album "Fleetwood Mac" spawned three major hits in "Rhiannon", "Over My Haed" and "Say You Love Me". The album as a whole featured some excellent well written songs such as "Monday Morning", "Landslide", "Blue Letter", "World Turning" and the above mentioned hits. Also, included on this newly remastered cd are five bonus tracks "Jam #2" (a five and a half minute instrumental which features Christine McVie's keyboards and Lindsey Buckingham's guitars), "Say You Love Me" (Single Version) (This version is harder rocking than it's album version), "Rhiannon" (Single Version), "Over My Head" (Single Version), and "Blue Letter" (Single Version). The sound quality is excellent due to remastering and far surpasses the older version. If you enjoy listening to seventy's rock then you'll love this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buckingham-Nicks Join The Band, May 14, 2004
When Fleetwood Mac was formed in the late 60's, they were a hardcore blues band. After Peter Green left and with the additions of Christine McVie & Bob Welch, they shifted away from blues music towards a more pop sound. In 1975, Bob Welch left the group and Mick Fleetwood enlisted an unknown duo of Lindsey Buckingham & Stevie Nicks in the band. The result is of course music history. This is the first effort by the new lineup and it is an excellent collection of songs. Lindsey Buckingham has one of the best ears in music and his hands are all over the album. From the album's opener "Monday Morning" and his own "Blue Letter" and the slow burning "World Turning" to Christine McVie's "Say You Love Me" and "Sugar Daddy", his presence is felt. "Crystal" is great song taken from the Buckingham-Nicks album and shows how well the band's voices meld together. Stevie Nicks carved out her witch persona with the ethereal and moody "Rhiannon". She also contributes one of most hauntingly beautiful songs ever recorded, "Landslide". Through constant touring and radio airplay, the album slowly climbed the charts and in its 53rd week on the charts, it finally reached number one. This album set the stage for one of the biggest albums in history, Rumours. While not as popular as that album, this album is it's equal in quality and sound. The extra tracks on this release do not really bring much to the table as they are just the edits of the singles from the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fleetwood Mac meet Buckingham-Nicks, September 15, 2000
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
When Fleetwood Mac was formed in the late 60's, they were a hardcore blues band. After Peter Green left and with the additions of Christine McVie & Bob Welch, they shifted away from blues music towards a more pop sound. In 1975, Bob Welch left the group and Mick Fleetwood enlisted an unknown duo of Lindsey Buckingham & Stevie Nicks in the band. The result is of course music history. This is the first effort by the new lineup and it is an excellent collection of songs. Lindsey Buckingham has one of the best ears in music and his hands are all over the album. From the album's opener "Monday Morning" and his own "Blue Letter" and the slow burning "World Turning" to Christine McVie's "Say You Love Me" and "Sugar Daddy", his presence is felt. "Crystal" is great song taken from the Buckingham-Nicks album and shows how well the band's voices meld together. Stevie Nicks carved out her witch persona with the ethereal and moody "Rhiannon". She also contributes one of most hauntingly beautiful songs ever recorded, "Landslide". Through constant touring and radio airplay, the album slowly climbed the charts and in its 53rd week on the charts, it finally reached number one. This album set the stage for one of the biggest albums in history, Rumours. While not as popular as that album, this album is it's equal in quality and sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twenty-five years later, STILL a classic!, June 7, 2000
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
Pay attention to the depths of sounds, the varied instrumentation in the backround as you listen to "Crystal". This is a very mellow F Mac song from their first album in the incarnation that everyone is so familiar with (Mick Fleetwood, John and Christine McVie, Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks)...called "Fleetwood Mac", the album was largely ignored by critics until "Rhiannon" became popular. (Later, of course, the wildly popular "Rumours" went on to set many records which still stand today.) There were ten other songs on the "Fleetwood Mac" LP besides "Rhiannon" (a classic in its own right), songs that were never given the respect that they deserved. "Say You Love Me" and "Monday Morning" got some rather frequent airplay ... "Landslide" became a hit years after the album's 1975 release and was eventually covered by a bland and faceless 90's band. "World Turning" is a bit of a sleeper, with a funky beat that is both disturbing yet infectious, and drum tracks from Mick Fleetwood which show his true genius with the tubs and hats. In that same vein is "I'm So Afraid", with its wild minor-keyed sound and despairing lyrics. "Warm Ways" will take you to the tropics with its "steel guitar" sound sliding in and out of your ears. But "Crystal" speaks to me. It talks of a lifetime of aloneness (as opposed to loneliness) that is eased by a comfortable-feeling relationship - a relationship that was recognized instantly for the life-changing event that it is - and the enduring steadfastness of that love. Lyrically simple yet powerful, this song combines a meaningful message with some of the richest tapestries of music this talented band ever created. It also typifies the band that exemplifies and epitomizes the 70's music scene - the multi-talented, multi-faceted Fleetwood Mac.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Just Never Know, March 24, 2001
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
As the man at the top says, you take the remnants of a marginally successful British blues-rock band, add two unknown California singer-songwriters and what do you get? Only one of rocks great bands. Go figure.
This album is the predecessor to the magnificent "Rumours" and the first album by the Fleetwood Mac line-up that included Stevie Nicks and Lindsay Buckingham. And it, too, is great. It's not quite as intense as "Rumours" and not quite its equal for that reason, but it's still a great album in its own right. All the parts are meshed and tightly in synch. The instrumental virtuosity, lovely vocal harmonies, and Buckingham's brilliant arrangements are already very much in evidence. And the songs are wonderful. Stevie's "Rhiannon" is the classic single, but "Over My Head" and "Say You Love Me" also climbed high on the singles charts. Beyond these, though, there are all the others. Buckingham rockers "Monday morning" and "Blue Letter", as well as Chrissie's "Warm Ways" and "Sugar Daddy". Stevie's beautiful "Landslide" first appears here. Another favorite is the driving "World Turning", co-written by Buckingham and McVie.
This is an excellent album and would probably get more recognition if it hadn't been followed by "Rumours". Don't be fooled, though. If you love "Rumours", you'll love this, too. If you haven't heard them, you've been missing out. Get them both. I recommend this VERY highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good start, October 9, 1999
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
This is the first Fleetwood Mac album to feature Stevie Nicks and Lindsey Buckingham. As a result, there is more freshness and less tension than on later album. They really sound like a band on this one! Lindsey's "Monday Morning" and "Blue Letter" are catchy rock songs with great harmonies. Stevie has 2 of her all-time best songs on this album, "Landslide" and the unforgettable "Rhiannon". She used to go wild when she performed this live, you really have to see it to believe it. And then there is the great Christine McVie who comes through with a ton of awesome songs, including hits "Say You Love Me" and "Over My Head", as well as the fun, bluesy album track "Sugar Daddy" which is one of my faves. "World Turning" brings the whole band together with standout drumming from Mr. Fleetwood. Overall, this album is so full of great stuff, it has to rank as one of the Mac's all-time best albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great album, average sound quality, April 9, 2005
By 
duggalolly (beyond the waterfall) - See all my reviews
As any Fleetwood Mac fan already knows, this is an excellent, classic album filled with great songs. The album itself easily deserves five stars in my book. This is where the original version of "Landslide" first appeared, not to mention some of Christine McVie's best songs ever-- her love songs appear upbeat on the surface, but there are darker undertones to her writing on "Over My Head" and "Say You Love Me," which makes sense, considering that her marriage to bassist John McVie was about to end.

Unfortunately, the sound quality on this remastered edition simply isn't that good. The sound is fuller and there is more low end (bass) than on the original CD, but there isn't enough definition or volume, so the whole thing tends to sound murky. On the original CD release, at least everything was clear and consistent-- I almost think it sounded better that way. I felt the same way listening to the remaster of "Tusk"-- it just seems like they didn't go "all the way" with the remastering, which is a shame, because these could've been beautiful-sounding discs. If you want to hear good quality remastered Fleetwood Mac, get "The Very Best of Fleetwood Mac" 2-CD set. I wish they had put the same amount of care into the albums as they did with the Best-of CDs.

Don't get me wrong, this is still a great album, and most music fans won't have a problem with the sound-- BUT if you are a picky audiophile (as I am), you will probably be disappointed with the quality of this remaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a true classic, March 10, 2003
By 
D. Camden "liv" (south east england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
ok, so im what, 15 years old and i wasnt even ALIVE when this band were around together, but that can no way stop me from saying that this record is completely amazing. Fleetwood Mac are a unique band and their blend of vocals is amazing, stevie nicks has to be my favourite out of them all, although christines vocals on Say You Love Me are fantastic. I love this record, and many many people do.
The best songs in my opinion are Rhiannon and of course Landslide, why i dont know, thats what makes them so great. I prefer this EP to Rumours. The music is very comforting in a way, its kinda sad too, but it is just lovely, a little bit funky here and acoustic there, its a perfect mix.
This is a special CD and theres something about it that makes me love it. It's definately one that everyone should have in their collection because it's one that everyone likes, theres something for everyone in it (believe me, i like artists from Joni Mitchell to Black Sabbath and its still in my top 10favourite cds).
And to all the kids out there, this band are not uncool just cause your dad listens to them, they are great musicians and have made great music over the years. ok, so i wont go on too much, but really, you wont be disappointed by this record, it is a true classic even now, 25 years on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eponomous 1975 Album, March 18, 2003
By 
Luke williams (Indianapolis, IN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
With the addition of Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks, Fleetwood Mac headed to the studio to cut the 11-track album that would become the most successful album of the 1975, yield three Top-Twenty singles, and launch a successful American tour that would last well into 1976. With three singer-songwriters, the band now had three distinct voices as well as personalities. Lindsey Buckingham contributed his producing skills, as well as his bittersweet edge on songs like "I'm So Afraid" and "Monday Morning". Stevie Nicks, the witchy, carasmatic songstress added her love of fairytales and personal darkness to songs like "Rhiannon" and "Landslide". Finally, the distinct, honey-voiced Christine McVie defined the easy-listening vibe of the new lineup with songs like "Over My Head", "Say You Love Me", and "Warm Ways". Every song on the album defines the carefree era of the mid-70s. Fleetwood Mac's debut album reflects songs of fear, enchantment, and love. This is definetly something worth adding to one's music collection. Also recommended, Fleetwood Mac's 1977 smash "Rumours".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fleetwood Mac
Fleetwood Mac by Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.