Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Zombie Story That Knows...
... what zombie stories should be about.

This story is not about zombies. It's not about blood and guts, it's not even about a devastating set of storms that flood southern Texas and reshape the Gulf of Mexico seaboard. It HAS all those things, but it isn't ABOUT them.

What it is about, first and foremost, is people.

Far too many writers...
Published on April 28, 2012 by Michaelbrent

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best work
I waited for months, anticipating Joe's latest, as I've loved his work. But certain elements in this one just didn't work. Who would fight over money in a dying city being taken over by zombies? Humans make pale bad guys compared to the infected. Joe it's your characters we love, not plot twists that don't matter in a world gone zombie.
Published on April 6, 2011 by Noelle


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Zombie Story That Knows..., April 28, 2012
By 
Michaelbrent (Meridian, ID, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flesh Eaters (Kindle Edition)
... what zombie stories should be about.

This story is not about zombies. It's not about blood and guts, it's not even about a devastating set of storms that flood southern Texas and reshape the Gulf of Mexico seaboard. It HAS all those things, but it isn't ABOUT them.

What it is about, first and foremost, is people.

Far too many writers of horror in general, and zombie stories in particular, think that the horror comes from the situation, and so they splash gore and foul language and viscera about with abandon, never understanding that horror only succeeds when it is happening TO someone that the readers care about. Joe McKinney never makes that mistake. In this unflinchingly terrifying book, the zombies are merely one more in a set of terrible obstacles that face both families and villains, heroes and scum. Indeed, even without the zombies this book would have been frightful, because the reader is made to understand what makes the characters tick, and then McKinney slowly puts those characters through purposeful paces. Some of the people unravel, some of them rise above tragedy to blossom into beauty. But the reader CARES about all of them.

This book is also horrifying in its scope. Though rooted in the experiences of certain individuals and groups, it is a truly apocalyptic tale. Like King's THE STAND and McCammon's SWAN SONG, the book is one about an entire world entering a serious and permanent change. It is the kind of book that puts you into its situations so fully that you find your heart racing, your breath coming in shallow gasps as you become an eyewitness to a paradigm shift in culture, in geography, in civilization itself. You can't help but wonder if you would be a survivor in such a scenario... or if you'd even WANT to be one.

Though there is gore enough to satisfy any zombie aficionado, though ribs snap and blood flows, though teeth gnash and chomp on innocent and guilty alike, the visceral thrills are handled carefully - even clinically at times - which only serves to intensify the fright as the reader is forced to participate in imagining what it would be like to live in (and hopefully through) a zombie apocalypse.

As a horror writer myself, it's doubly hard for me to just sink in and enjoy a good scary book, because all too often I am admiring (or irritated by) the author's words, the author's style, the author's particular voice. In this case, I simply forgot myself in a great tale, and spent a few long nights cramming in "just one more chapter."

All in all, this is a wonderful book. McKinney won a Bram Stoker award for Best Novel in 2012 for FLESH EATERS. For my money, it was well deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best work, April 6, 2011
By 
Noelle (Santaquin, Utah, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flesh Eaters (Mass Market Paperback)
I waited for months, anticipating Joe's latest, as I've loved his work. But certain elements in this one just didn't work. Who would fight over money in a dying city being taken over by zombies? Humans make pale bad guys compared to the infected. Joe it's your characters we love, not plot twists that don't matter in a world gone zombie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Contender, August 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Joe McKinney does it again!

Such a fantastic read, high paced and detailed beyond what most books in the genre offer. The character development was top notch, drawing a clear and precise background for everyone involved. Each scene drew me deeper into the story line, and kept me clutching the pages in anticipation of what would come next. As much as I enjoyed the first two books in the series, Flesh Eaters blows them both away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, November 25, 2012
I loved every page! This series has me hooked! I get to the last few chapters and feel a sence of sadness that its almost over and then I'd have nothing to read till the next book arrives. Bravo Joe McKinney! I am officially a fan that starts to read slower during the last few chapters while waiting impatiently for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry, Flesh Eaters is an epic fail, February 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flesh Eaters (Kindle Edition)
It started well, and I was completely engrossed in the story when it suddenly fell flat with the introduction of the bank looting sub-plot and our heroine somehow feeling compelled to pursue her fellow Cop looters for their crime. In spite of the apocalypse, and at the expense of her family`s safety, she opts for this ambiguous moral high ground. In the end, amazingly, she winds up taking the money for herself and her family. Without a qualm, she becomes the filthy looter that had so offended her from the moment she learned of their plan.

Without this duplicity, I believe the looting of the bank could have been, integrated into the plot and made an interesting part of the story.

The plot lapse gives the reader too much time to ponder the weird nature of the McKinney zombies. Throughout his three zombie novels McKinney has insisted that his zombies are alive, and more than once he has invoked the old, "what will kill us kills them" saw.

Maybe he feels that this gives his zombies more believability, but their rotting bodies, and the failure of multiple center mass rounds to kill them, quickly dispels any believability. The occasionally injected ability to drown or strangle a zombie does noting to restore the believability, in fact it only reminds the reader of this silliness, which might otherwise be overlooked, as I did in his previous novels.

Maybe he feels that being alive, on some level, adds humanity to his monsters and allows us to somehow feel empathy for them. Sorry, this also fails. I believe a dead zombie deserves the same sympathy as a live one.

McKinney is a decent author but he needs to get on board with the genre, or move on to crime novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars more of the same, June 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flesh Eaters (Mass Market Paperback)
I get what McKinney is doing. He's writing about what he knows. But it's really getting tiring. Every book is centered around a hero cop saving the world. Each of the three books deals with the floods in Houston creating the zombies. This book is an explanation of how it first started.

The bank robbery part was a good sub-plot, and overall it was a good story. But after 3 books all revolving around the same 'hero cop' doing things that no 'civilian' can ever do is getting boring and overplayed. It's time to branch out and actually be a writer.....Don't just make the main character a version of yourself. Do something DIFFERENT and original.

Yes it's a good read, especially if you haven't read the other 2 books. But I really hope the fourth, if there is one, is something different then the same old song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Paced & Entertaining!, August 29, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flesh Eaters (Kindle Edition)
Love this book. It was not just about zombie attacks. It showed the true side of human nature in times of panic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story line, February 18, 2013
This review is from: Flesh Eaters (Kindle Edition)
The Flesh Eaters has an excellent story line, it's well written, excellent character development and very few grammatical errors. All of those things make Flesh Eaters a smooth flowing, easy to follow story that envelopes the reader into the start of a zombie nightmare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It!, November 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flesh Eaters (Kindle Edition)
I love Joe McKinney's books as he injects philosophy into pop culture. My guilty pleasure isn't so guilty! I've gone on to read all his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Consistently well written with enough scares to satisfy your inner zombie, November 5, 2012
By 
WRA (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Flesh Eaters (Kindle Edition)
As always, Mr. McKinney provides a thoughtful story which builds on the earlier books but clearly stand alone for those unfamiliar with the predecessors. Character development is fulfilling, allowing you to become more involved with each as the story unfolds. Overall, an excellent read. If I offered one criticism, it would be that a subtitle numbering which book in the series you were reading would be helpful! I'm never quite sure if I've missed one or not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Flesh Eaters
Flesh Eaters by Joe McKinney (Mass Market Paperback - April 1, 2011)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.