Customer Reviews


173 Reviews
5 star:
 (118)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fletch
Irwin Fletcher "Fletch" is a newspaper reporter writing as Jane Joe that does what it takes to get the story. Many of his stories require him to go undercover, as his current assignment does. He is on a trail to expose those involved in a drug smuggling ring, but has learned some of the players are even part of the police department. While sniffing out leads, he is...
Published on March 25, 2008 by Kelly

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing In Action
This DVD edition of "Fletch" features a pristine print of the film with great sound and that's the reason to buy it. The bonus features are a DVD producer appearing on camera, desperately trying to be funny and failing, whilst trying to disguise the fact that Chevy Chase didn't participate in this DVD release. It's too bad, as he provided extras for the release of...
Published on May 7, 2007 by Mr. Lucky


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, if not the best, Chevy Chase role of all time, June 2, 2007
By 
Erik Russell Olson (Dublin, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fletch (The "Jane Doe" Edition) (DVD)
When I was about eight years old, Fletch was released in the movie theaters. And I absolutely loved it. Everything about it was cool, from the dorky tall guy humor, to the car chase in the Alfa, to the Harold Faltermeyer soundtrack. Indeed, it sat at the top of my list (along with Beverly Hills Cop (Special Collector's Edition), another detective-who-impersonates-people-with-hilarious-results flick with a Faltermeyer score) of Movies To Live By, for many years. I used lines such as, "Can I borrow your towel? I just hit a water buffalo" with my classmates, but all I drew were blank stares and comments like, "you're weird." Such was third grade.

Many years later, I made the mistake of selling my VHS copy of Fletch in a bulk auction with about thirty-three other tapes. I was moving, so it made sense, but I regretted losing my only copy -- and there was no DVD available to replace it!

So now the movie has been released on DVD (a second time after a gap of a few years) in the "Jane Doe Edition," so named for Irwin Fletcher's by-line. And now that I am married, and my wife has seen the movie with me, I am aware of the movie's shortcomings. In fact, if you don't like Chevy Chase, you might think this movie is just downright dumb. But I find it so easy to identify with a character who uses his wits to get himself out of trouble that I can easily overlook some less-than-credible plot elements and the use of Geena Davis as a doormat.

Here's how the story goes: Fletch is an investigative reporter pretending to be a junkie, blending in on the LA beach with many who are the real thing. He is trying to find out the source behind the drugs so that he can make headlines in the newspaper he works for. At the same time, he is offered $50,000 and a foolproof escape plan to kill a wealthy man named Alan Stanwyk, who says he is dying of bone cancer.

Much of the story revolves around Fletch pretending to be other people while he gently pries information out of gullible and confused bystanders. In a typical scene, Fletch passes for a government messenger (Mr. Poon) who has to collect information on allegations about the company Stanwyk has married into. He interviews the CEO of Boyd Aviation, who also happens to be Alan Stanwyk's father-in-law, and finds out all kinds of information that helps get to the bottom of the unusual proposition. Whether this seems credible or not is beside the point. The characters Chase comes up with take center stage, as he wriggles his way into any subculture he pleases by using a few props and a quick wit.

The "Jane Doe Edition" does have a few extras, of course, besides the external sleeve that reveals various Fletch identities, depending on perspective. In the Special Features you will find a chuckleworthy mockumentary in which an amateur filmmaker does some interviews with people who worked on the movie. There is also a brief bit in which the make-up artists and producers talk about the many disguises Fletch uses. Besides the obligatory trailer, you will also find a clever montage piecing together some of the funniest moments of the movie, grouped loosely by category: foreign phrases, noises made with the mouth, et cetera. It's fun for long-time fans in particular.

One of my only misgivings about the DVD is the lack of any new Chevy Chase material. There are no interviews with him, no commentaries, nothing more recent than what he did in the original movie. His career is not exactly red-hot these days; would it have been so difficult to get him on board? My guess is that his asking price was a bit too high, but there are legions of twenty- and thirty-something American men who make this movie a part of their own personal philosophy and religion. It is this cult following which should keep the "Jane Doe Edition" sales strong for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray version is great., December 20, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fletch [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The Blu-ray version is great. Crystal clear (3-4 short scenes a lot of grain) for most of the movie... I hope more classics are done as well as this one. Wish the extras had an interview with Chevy. I never seen the movie before and bought it on a whim. Good movie, Chevy Chase at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "No more alcohol or sedatives in HER Life", June 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fletch [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I saw Fletch Lives first, when I was just 9, and it really appealed to my sense of humor at the time (and my sense of humor now too, I guess). It was easily accessible for a kid, but I was originally disappointed when I first saw Fletch because it was more serious and a lot of jokes just went over my head.

As a result Fletch appeals to the adult in me while Fletch Lives appeals to the kid barely concealed inside. There's loads of great one-liners from our man Chase and even if that doesn't float your boat Harold Faltermeyer's score is just plain awesome. It's unfortunate that "Irwin F" never became as famous or iconic as "Axel F".

I've read the book, and it's as different as it is similar to the plot of the movie, except for one major difference; Fletch's cases are not connected in the book but they are in the movie. Gregory MacDonald had the final say on who they cast as Fletch and rejected Burt Reynolds (no way) and Mick Jagger (say what???) before approving Chase. Along with Clark W. Griswold he's his most famous character (Ty Webb coming in at 3rd place).

It's not aged so well though, the film is clearly very 80s, unlike the sequel which doesn't use any pop songs, But even if the pop tunes anchor this in 1985 it's still one of the best comedies of that decade and no one can call themselves a film buff without owning/watching.

The Blu Ray features a 1080p 1.85:1 picture but since much of the film has a rather drab color pallet only a few nicely-shot scenes look good. The DTS-HD MA sound really brings Faltermeyer's score to life though. Extras do not feature Chase and are in standard definition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Film Chevy Chase Will Be Remembered For, September 5, 2003
This review is from: Fletch (DVD)
You really take your life in your hands every time you sit down with a Chevy Chase film. Let's face reality here: Chevy Chase is responsible for several of the worst movies ever made. Does it take more than a few minutes to see the mind numbing folly of "Nothing But Trouble," "The Three Amigos," and "Spies Like Us"? Chase has sure had his truly embarrassing moments on the big screen. What redeems the guy is this 1985 classic, the truly great "Fletch." With the possible exception of the "Vacation" films and "Fletch," Chase rarely found a vehicle that played up to his deadpan, smart alecky comedic delivery. In the role of newspaper reporter Irwin Fletcher, Chase makes the character all his own as he knocks it out of the ballpark in this ultra funny, well-crafted film based on a plot involving drug trafficking, bigamy, and murder. If I had to draw up a list of the top five films I have watched the most, "Fletch" would appear somewhere on that list. I've probably watched this movie forty or fifty times since it originally came out, and I never tire of his corny impressions and awesome lines. "Fletch" is an unmitigated classic.
Fletch writes articles for a big Los Angeles newspaper under the pseudonym Jane Doe, and he's always on the lookout for a good story. After going undercover on a local beach where he poses as a drug addict and mixes with other users and dealers, Fletch finds himself in the middle of a murder for hire deal when a rich executive named Alan Stanwyck (Tim Matheson) wants Fletch to do him in for a stack of money. Further problems with more questions than answers follow: who is Alan Stanwyck, and why are the police acting suspicious on the beach where all that heroin is floating around? Fletch's investigations into Stanwyck's past uncover a plethora of dirty deals: bigamy, drug dealing, and possible links between the police department and the crooked executive. As Fletch narrows down the scope of these scams, he continually dukes it out with his indifferent editor who never believes anything the reporter says. The investigation takes Fletch to Utah, on high-speed car chases through the city, into a jail cell with a gun pointed at his head, and into the arms of Stanwyck's beautiful wife. Fletch never doubts he will crack the case wide open and get the scoop of the year at the paper, but sometimes it looks as though he won't get out of this one alive. One of the best things the movie has going for it is this multi-layered mystery story, which is loaded with great twists and turns all the way to the end.
If "Fletch" was merely a murder/mystery story, it wouldn't achieve immortality; it's the comedy that makes this one an enduring cult classic. Fletch has a habit of using outrageously cheap disguises in order to pump people for information, and along with these costumes he always throws out a fake name to go along with it. At various times during the course of the film, Fletch claims his name is Harry S. Truman, Don Corleone, John Cocktosten, Dr. Rosenrosen, Ted Nugent, Mr. Babar, and Mr. Poon (a name that Fletch reveals is of "Comanche Indian" lineage). He gets away with such outrageous behavior because he talks fast and most people don't listen to everything he says. Most of Chase's lines in this movie are hilariously inappropriate, and it quickly becomes apparent that there are very few comedians/actors who could toss out this type of dialogue and get laughs. Chase does it easily and believably. It takes several viewings just to pick up on everything he says.
The supporting cast in "Fletch" is stellar, with Richard Libertini as Fletch's editor Frank, Geena Davis in a small role as a newspaper employee who worships the ground Fletch walks on named Larry, Joe Don Baker as the psychotic Police Chief Karlin, George Wendt as the seedy heroin dealer Fat Sam, George Wyner as the relentless attorney of Fletch's ex-wife, and M. Emmet Walsh as the "handy" Doctor Dolan. Everyone does a great job serving as cannon fodder for Fletch's sharp barbs. These barbs are some of the best you will hear in a motion picture: "Can I borrow your towel? My car just hit a water buffalo," and "Oh. Do you have the Beatles White Album? Never mind, just bring me a cup of hot fat. And the head of Alfredo Garcia," and "I would have been here sooner, but a manure-spreader jackknifed on the Santa Ana. You should see my shoes." Anyone else trying to pull this off would fail miserably, but again, Chase does a wonderful job with the jokes.
The DVD release is wickedly lackluster. We don't get anything in the way of extras except a trailer and some production notes, but at least the movie does come in a widescreen format. I've heard that some of the discs don't have ANYTHING but the movie on them, but I haven't seen one of these flawed discs personally. Either way, why is there no commentary from Chevy Chase on here? Could you imagine how great it would be to hear him wax philosophically about the G. Gordon Liddy segment, or his encounters with Gail Stanwyck at the resort? We desperately need a special edition version of "Fletch" in the near future. Just writing this review makes me want to watch the movie again, and I know I'll laugh at it as hard as I did the forty other times I've seen it. "Fletch" is simply a massively entertaining treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An easy favorite., March 9, 2005
This review is from: Fletch (DVD)
Even better than the National Lampoon's Vacation series, Chase's performance in Fletch is second only to that in Caddyshack.

This classic movie is, unfortunately, lesser known to anyone who did not grow up in the 80s. Chase's one liners are hilarious, though not always quotable due to lack of context. Fletch goes back to the old school funny that only the Chevy Chase, Steve Martin, Eddie Murphy, Bill Murray class can provide. This is either one of the funniest serious movies or one of the most serious funny movies. Whichever it is, you should definitely see it if you have not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 400 dollars for lunch???, March 27, 2005
This review is from: Fletch (DVD)
My fellow devotees, what else can be said? I saw this movie in the theater in 1985 (as a teenager) and have seen it over 100(!) times since then (no exaggeration!). Needless to say, I know it so well, I don't have to watch it anymore. It's become part of my consciousness. Of all the movies with lotsa one liners, THIS IS #1--As another reviewer remarked, no matter how far apart my brother and I drift from one another, and it's become quite far these days, we always have 'Fletch'. It's practically its own language, and for those of us who 'know it', you can converse with someone else in 'Fletch' without anyone else having a clue about what you're talking about. My mom is always lost whenever my brother and I 'get into it'... What's funny is that she laughs at some of it even though she has no clue what the hell we're talking about. For those who haven't seen it or don't like it, this is the role Chevy Chase was born to play. Nothing before (no, Caddyshack has its moments, but nothing like this) or after 'Fletch' even comes close (no, not even SNL). This is the BIBLE for Chevy Chase. In any genre, in any time period, this is both a masterpiece and a classic. This is Mt. Everest-----By the way, the sequel sucked, and if Kevin Smith (and Jason Lee) make their own, I hope they're ready to scale some lofty heights...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movie - 5 Stars, Extras - NO STARS, August 14, 2007
This review is from: Fletch (The "Jane Doe" Edition) (DVD)
The exec at Universal who approved of the extras on this DVD needs to be fired... or better yet, escorted to the Hollywood border and banished for life. I have never seen worse extras on a DVD - these extras are so bad, I would rather have a version of the DVD without them.

The extras completely disrespect this film.

I want my money back.

The film is probably Chevy Chase's best work... and one of the few good mystery films to come out of Hollywood since CHINATOWN.

So what do we get for extras? A completely self-indulgent film starring the *producer of the extras* who thinks that he is funny - but he is not. He does a pile of lame gags that are not funny, and interviews some cast and crew memebers - which would be okay, except at least half of the interviews are about *him* - the producer of the extras! He's some guy in his late 20s who obviously thinks the world revolves around him. After a few minutes, you're tired of the guy - his ego is *massive* and his talent is miniscule.

No Chevy Chase interview - which is weird because Chase has done all kinds of low budget films lately - many haven't even been released (BAD MEAT).

Also - nothing about the Fletch novels by Greg Mcdonald - the *source* of the character and story. The novels were so popular that they bought the rights to use the novel's logo for the movie. But from these extras you would never even know there was a book - let alone and entire series. And you's never know these books are big award winners, and bestsellers. They just ignore the books completely.

Instead of any behind the scenes, instead of anything about the books, instead of anything about the director (who made some great stuff - and made Robert Redford into a big star), instead of anything that focuses on the very clever plotting of the story (from the book), we get a short about the extras producer and a bunch of random clips from the film.

Someone at Universal should lose their job over this.

See the movie, avoid the extras at all costs.

- Bill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for movie - zero stars for "extra features", May 26, 2007
By 
J. Forst "fatesfan" (Farmington Hills, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fletch (The "Jane Doe" Edition) (DVD)
wow, the studio is this desperate for a cash in? Retail price of $20 for a "new edition" that interviews only a handful of cast members and never Chevy Chase? Claim that there are "deleted scenes" and only show about 5 camera stills of them? If this 'bonus features' producer really does like the movie so much then he should be utterly ashamed at himself for misleading fans this way. Old cast members tell you their favorite Fletch moments - big deal. This is worth buying it all over again? And a seperate chapter for 'best moments' when the previous chapter interviewed people talking about the exact same things? Maybe Chevy was never interviewed because he knew what a desperate cash-in attempt it was for this unworthy "rerelease". Save your money and stick w/ the bare-bones original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best comedies ever, February 2, 2007
By 
Sean Mcnally "ankhenaten91" (Phoenix, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fletch (The "Jane Doe" Edition) (DVD)
What makes this movie so great is that all of the most important parts are so well executed. First Chevy Chase has NEVER been this funny before or since. Next the writing is amazing, more quotable lines this side of the Big Lebowski. I cannot tell you how good this movie really is just buy it you will LOVE it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...put it on the Underhills' bill...", July 8, 2003
By 
Cubist (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fletch (DVD)
For my money, Fletch is the best film Chevy Chase ever made. I can pop it in my player almost any time and still find the movie just as funny, no matter how many times I've seen it. And yet, the film is too often dismissed as just another dated piece of 1980s pop-culture. Or worse, it is deemed the sole highlight of Chase's career that subsequently went downhill over the years.
So why does Fletch continue to inspire such a strong and loyal following after almost 20 years? Insanely quotable dialogue, a colorful assortment of character actors and, of course, Chevy Chase's inimitable, vintage smart-aleck mode.
Chase shows a stellar range of physical comedy in this movie. His technique ranges from broader displays, such as the dream sequence when he imagines himself as the unusually aggressive L.A. Lakers star power forward, to more subtle bits such as when he bangs his nose into a door, posing as the accident-prone Mr. Poon.
Capitalizing on the immensely popular action comedy, Beverly Hills Cop, Fletch adheres to the same formula: the maverick protagonist who has a problem with authority, the use of multiple disguises to get in and out of dicey situations for comedic effect, the obligatory car chase, and even the hopelessly dated synth-soundtrack by Harold Faltermeyer. Fletch deviates in one significant aspect: Chase's character never uses a gun (he also repeatedly gets the bejeezus kicked out of him).
Fletch is essentially a vehicle tailor-made for Chevy Chase. It plays to Chase's strengths; in addition to his affinity for physical comedy, the movie is famous for showcasing his trademark deadpan delivery of dialogue and his knack for playing a wide variety of characters - abilities he perfected on Saturday Night Live. Chase expertly juggles Fletch's numerous aliases. From the likes of the absent-minded, Dr. Rosenrosen to Mr. Underhill's country club "friend," John Cocktosten, Chase makes each one distinctive and hilariously memorable.
Another aspect of Fletch that makes it so memorable is the strong supporting cast. The film features character actors like Joe Don Baker as the slimy Chief of Police Karlin (who brings a wonderfully scary intensity to his role), George Wendt as the amiable drug dealer Fat Sam, Tim Matheson as the double-dealing bigamist Alan Stanwyk, M. Emmet Walsh as the probing Dr. Dolan, and a young, pre-Thelma and Louise Geena Davis as Larry, Fletch's ever loyal co-worker. One of the joys of the movie is how Chase interacts with all these people and how they react to his flippant, off-handed remarks. Watch him in action in the hospital sequence as he confuses and befuddles the staff in order to get the information he wants -- it's not only what he says to them but, more importantly, how he delivers the dialogue that makes it so funny.
More so than in any other film, Fletch is classic Chevy Chase. While he's in exceptional form in Caddyshack and National Lampoon's Vacation, they don't showcase his unique talents as befittingly as Fletch. In every scene, Chase does a fantastic job carrying the picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fletch (The "Jane Doe" Edition)
Fletch (The "Jane Doe" Edition) by Michael Ritchie (DVD - 2007)
$14.98 $5.94
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.