Customer Reviews


6,987 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,659)
4 star:
 (2,173)
3 star:
 (1,029)
2 star:
 (510)
1 star:
 (616)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


481 of 524 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Contemplative Adult Drama About Addiction Featuring One Of Denzel Washington's Most Complex Performances
I know that some viewers might feel like there is a bit of a bait-and-switch when sitting down to watch the very adult drama "Flight." I was primed to see a movie about a harrowing plane crash. And indeed, this initiating sequence is staged with tremendous suspense and gut wrenching detail. It may be one of the more memorable scenes you are likely to see this year...
Published on December 5, 2012 by K. Harris

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Missed Opportunity...
I often think big-budget Hollywood movies fail to meet their potential. Considering the millions of dollars invested to produce a film, the hundreds of people employed, the endless weeks, months, years of revising the script, I guess when I press play I expect something pretty spectacular. But like a lot of movies I see, Flight left me wondering why it wasn't...
Published 23 months ago by davbriggs333


‹ Previous | 1 2699 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

481 of 524 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Contemplative Adult Drama About Addiction Featuring One Of Denzel Washington's Most Complex Performances, December 5, 2012
This review is from: Flight (DVD)
I know that some viewers might feel like there is a bit of a bait-and-switch when sitting down to watch the very adult drama "Flight." I was primed to see a movie about a harrowing plane crash. And indeed, this initiating sequence is staged with tremendous suspense and gut wrenching detail. It may be one of the more memorable scenes you are likely to see this year. But "Flight" is not really about this crash. It is, instead, a character study about addiction, about faith, and about taking responsibility. The heroic pilot that acted on that day is none other than Denzel Washington. But this is no ordinary hero, this is a mess of a man who fuels his life with drugs and drink. He is estranged from his family, defying propriety, and thinks that the rules don't apply to him. He's a great pilot, to be sure, that saved many souls. But he was also completely out of control when he did so. That is the moral dilemma at the heart of the movie. He is a hero. His bad acts did not cause the accident. And yet, he will still be cast in a villainous light if the truth emerges.

There are very few movies I go to these days where I really don't know what to anticipate. "Flight" started out in a completely unexpected way. We meet Washington right after a night of heavy drink and sex with a flight attendant. You know he shouldn't be flying, you know that tragedy is inevitable (if from the previews, if nothing else). But just as you are settling in, the movie takes us on a ninety degree tangent. We are than spending time with a junkie (Kelly Reilly) as she attempts to score her next fix. I was genuinely confused by this digression. Washington and Reilly split screen time during the opening scenes and fate will bring them together in the hospital. For the remainder of the movie, Reilly actively tries to rebuild her world while Washington struggles mightily to maintain the illusion of his normality. As the consequences of his addiction rise before him, Washington continues to back pedal. As a trial looms, will Washington pull it together? Will he ever be honest with himself?

At the center of "Flight" is a handful of strong and interesting performances. Without a doubt, this is one of Washington's finest roles. Even those that may not love the film itself would have to see the complexity, despair AND strength in this multi-layered character. But director Robert Zemekis (Oscar winner for the more fanciful Forrest Gump) has assembled a first rate cast to back up this bravura leading man. Don Cheadle displays a brash assuredness as Washington's attorney, Bruce Greenwood is earnest and supportive as an important ally, and John Goodman is over-the-top but effective as his drug hook-up. In smaller roles, Tamara Tunie, Nadine Velazquez, and Brian Geraghty all score pivotal moments as members of the flight crew on that fateful day. And then we have Reilly. The British actress is given an extremely meaty role as a ravaged soul fighting her way to salvation.

As an addiction drama, "Flight" is an in-your-face and provocative illustration of a man in denial. The movie also looks at faith in a way few studio films do. I appreciated that the movie (and its screenplay by John Gatins) doesn't shy away from complex issues. It is more thoughtful, more contemplative than you might initially be aware of. I'm not sure, in the end, that I believed some of the final moments and decisions. But in many ways, this was more about the journey than the destination. As long as you aren't expecting an action movie, "Flight" has a lot to recommend it. It isn't perfect, but this contemplative drama will give you a lot to think about. And it also boasts a slew of terrific performances. KGHarris, 12/12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a movie about a plane crash, February 16, 2013
This review is from: Flight (Amazon Instant Video)
This is a powerful movie about a man you to want to love's struggle with alcoholism, he just happened to be in a plane crash. This is not a courtroom drama, not an action flick (the plane crash happens in the first 30 min of the movie and lasts maybe 5-10 minutes tops, after that all drama.

The movie starts out with an epic plane crash scene, one of the best I've ever seen in a movie. Denzel's character takes control of the plane like a pro, with every ounce of drug and alcohol seemingly vaporized from his system and his instincts as an ex-Navy fighter pilot take over.

The movie is great in it has you rooting for this guy throughout, but he keeps letting you down as the viewer, as well as all of the characters in his life. You saw how awesome this guy was in the cockpit, he was a hero, yet he cannot overcome this addiction. How can a man who could do such extraordinary things be so vulnerable to addiction? The movie does this part very well.

The most powerful scene emotionally comes at the end during the NTSB hearing and the scenes that follow.

I will admit until I gauged what the film was really about I was kind of "meh" about it, but by the end I fully understood and appreciated it for what it was. Powerful movie indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


188 of 217 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films I've ever seen, February 6, 2013
Now, when I first saw this movie I had no idea what it was about. I only knew that it had a tremendous Oscar-winning actor playing the role of a pilot. I had no idea I was in for such a wild ride. I will point out first and foremost that this is a very well put together piece of cinema. The acting, pacing, cinematography, character development is nothing short of top-notch. That being said, I can understand how marketing and trailers could have caused many people to become mislead to what the film would be covering as many of the negative reviewers seemed to have missed the point. This movie was about a plane crash in the way that The Shawshank Redemption was about escaping prison. Yes, those are both the fundamental plot points but they're more like a side effect of the central themes. (Not to say that the crash scene in Flight wasn't one of the most intense scenes I'd seen in years or that the prison escape scene in Shawshank didn't give me an all encompassing feeling of joy). But in my humble opinion, a movie shouldn't be spelled out for you in the trailers. Too many films do that already (mainly comedies/action/romance). Instead you should go into a film with an open mind and see where it takes you. Without giving too much away, you may be pleasantly surprised, as I know I was. This is the kind of film that makes you reflect on the choices you make. What you would do to save your reputation. How your words affect those around you. How your actions affect those you love. And how to find salvation when it feels like its impossible to grasp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Contemplative Adult Drama About Addiction Featuring One Of Denzel Washington's Most Complex Performances, June 27, 2013
This review is from: Flight (BD) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I know that some viewers might feel like there is a bit of a bait-and-switch when sitting down to watch the very adult drama "Flight." I was primed to see a movie about a harrowing plane crash. And indeed, this initiating sequence is staged with tremendous suspense and gut wrenching detail. It may be one of the more memorable scenes you are likely to see this year. But "Flight" is not really about this crash. It is, instead, a character study about addiction, about faith, and about taking responsibility. The heroic pilot that acted on that day is none other than Denzel Washington. But this is no ordinary hero, this is a mess of a man who fuels his life with drugs and drink. He is estranged from his family, defying propriety, and thinks that the rules don't apply to him. He's a great pilot, to be sure, that saved many souls. But he was also completely out of control when he did so. That is the moral dilemma at the heart of the movie. He is a hero. His bad acts did not cause the accident. And yet, he will still be cast in a villainous light if the truth emerges.

There are very few movies I go to these days where I really don't know what to anticipate. "Flight" started out in a completely unexpected way. We meet Washington right after a night of heavy drink and sex with a flight attendant. You know he shouldn't be flying, you know that tragedy is inevitable (if from the previews, if nothing else). But just as you are settling in, the movie takes us on a ninety degree tangent. We are than spending time with a junkie (Kelly Reilly) as she attempts to score her next fix. I was genuinely confused by this digression. Washington and Reilly split screen time during the opening scenes and fate will bring them together in the hospital. For the remainder of the movie, Reilly actively tries to rebuild her world while Washington struggles mightily to maintain the illusion of his normality. As the consequences of his addiction rise before him, Washington continues to back pedal. As a trial looms, will Washington pull it together? Will he ever be honest with himself?

At the center of "Flight" is a handful of strong and interesting performances. Without a doubt, this is one of Washington's finest roles. Even those that may not love the film itself would have to see the complexity, despair AND strength in this multi-layered character. But director Robert Zemekis (Oscar winner for the more fanciful Forrest Gump) has assembled a first rate cast to back up this bravura leading man. Don Cheadle displays a brash assuredness as Washington's attorney, Bruce Greenwood is earnest and supportive as an important ally, and John Goodman is over-the-top but effective as his drug hook-up. In smaller roles, Tamara Tunie, Nadine Velazquez, and Brian Geraghty all score pivotal moments as members of the flight crew on that fateful day. And then we have Reilly. The British actress is given an extremely meaty role as a ravaged soul fighting her way to salvation.

As an addiction drama, "Flight" is an in-your-face and provocative illustration of a man in denial. The movie also looks at faith in a way few studio films do. I appreciated that the movie (and its screenplay by John Gatins) doesn't shy away from complex issues. It is more thoughtful, more contemplative than you might initially be aware of. I'm not sure, in the end, that I believed some of the final moments and decisions. But in many ways, this was more about the journey than the destination. As long as you aren't expecting an action movie, "Flight" has a lot to recommend it. It isn't perfect, but this contemplative drama will give you a lot to think about. And it also boasts a slew of terrific performances. KGHarris, 12/12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars deep, deep movie, February 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flight (Amazon Instant Video)
this movie shows how tragically and deeply alcohol abuse can ruin lives that otherwise have such promise....and Denzel always delivers....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT JUST AN AIRPLANE MOVIE!!!, February 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flight (Amazon Instant Video)
Unbelieveably real story here..I had to watch it twice,,,This movie imacts the mind and soul in so many ways. Brace yourself for an extremely realistic "real life" drama Superb acting, and screenwriting....it will grab you, and stay with you for a long time!...It is adult/mature in it's nature...so, watch with caution...it pulls no punches....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Denzel Washington in stunning role, July 20, 2013
This review is from: Flight (DVD)
I'm going to say there might be MINOR SPOILERS in this review but if you've seen the trailers, you've seen most of what I write about.

There is a pee-your-pants airplane crash to start the story off but what this movie is about - truly about - is substance abuse and it's effect on the abuser and those around him/her. And it is one of the better movies I've seen on that subject.

Pilot Whip Whitaker miraculously lands his damaged plane, while heavily under the influence of more than one addictive substance. Does it matter that no one believes that ANY other pilot could have landed this plane, sober or not?

Washington plays a gut wrenching role of a man struggling with his demons. Masterful.

There were some excellent co-stars in the movie, too. Kelly Reilly, Don Cheadle, John Goodman were just some of a superb cast. Reilly especially in her role as Nicole, who has her own demons to fight, was splendid.

NOTE: There is some nudity in this movie and excessive alcohol and other substance use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alcoholic to Alcoholic, February 17, 2013
This review is from: Flight (Amazon Instant Video)
I have been sober for over a decade, however watching the struggle that Denzel's character was experiencing with his decline in his addiction was so spot on. Watching him hit his bottom will touch many alcoholics, sober or not. Mostly because we can relate.
This was an excellent movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Missed Opportunity..., February 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flight (Amazon Instant Video)
I often think big-budget Hollywood movies fail to meet their potential. Considering the millions of dollars invested to produce a film, the hundreds of people employed, the endless weeks, months, years of revising the script, I guess when I press play I expect something pretty spectacular. But like a lot of movies I see, Flight left me wondering why it wasn't.

Nothing wrong with the subject matter really. Of course alcoholism is something that touches the lives of a lot of people. The problem is that any film that dares to tackle this kind of story has a pretty impressive act to follow: The Days of Wine and Roses, Leaving Las Vegas, Factotum -- just a few of the better films about alcoholism that come to mind. I would think a new release would at least attempt to meet the bar set by these earlier examples. Unfortunately, Flight seems perfectly content with its more shallow treatment of the topic.

Actually I think this film would have fared better if alcoholism had been left out of the picture completely. The flight trauma scenes in the beginning are top-notch Hollywood movie making, and are strong enough that I think the entire film could have taken place inside that plane (Airport 1975?). Instead, Flight uses a plane crash early on to simply set the stage for the rest of the story, which in its own way seems chaotic and out of control.

A good example of this is the character Harling Mays (John Goodman), an overly-comical, overly-stereotyped drug dealer straight off the pages of a Quentin Tarantino script. It's a horribly awkward transition whenever Goodman enters a scene, and makes me think that Flight was probably rushed through production without much thought about what really makes sense in the movie, and what doesn't.

Can't knock the performance by Denzel Washington, though. I think he's a stunning actor who can make even the most unbearable movies somehow worth watching. I hope movie lovers are familiar with his better films -- The Book of Eli, Malcolm X, The Hurricane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful!, March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flight [HD] (Amazon Instant Video)
Extremely powerful movie. Make sure the kids are out of the room...wow (opening scene in particular)!! Denzel nails this role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2699 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Flight
Flight by Robert Zemeckis
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.