Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Flight Volume Six (Flight Graphic Novels)
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars11
5 star
55%
4 star
45%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$19.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 23, 2009
Flight is always a pleasure to read. Storyboard and advertising artists rarely have the opporutnity to display their sequential storytelling talents in print.

Volume Six is not the best collection of tales, and as any anthology goes, good will outweigh the bad. The 'bad' this time around is a couple of tales that really seem too long and from my pov, it is Walter and The Saga of Rex. Walter travels aimlessly on, and Rex is probably four or five pages toolong.

However, there are some jewels here. Cooking Duel is spectacular. Who knew that QUiche could be exciting? The Exceedingly Mundane Life of Kenneth Shui is a riot. Ninja school? Career opporutnity? Gotta love the slash fest to determine the janitor. Dead At Noon is a non conventional look at High Noon with a broken clock. Remind me not to look for dead bunnies too. I am surprised at the parablistic nature of the story. It truly resembles the scripture that describes the body of Christ.

Look for all six volumes of this great series. Where do we sign up?

Tim Lasiuta
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2015
I only gave this four stars in comparison to the other "Flights." The stories are mostly great, but in a couple places, the authors try to slip in weird racialist agendas. They should've kept the politics out of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2012
about 3 out of 5 stories tend to be fabulous both art wise and story too, the rest seem a bit childish or just not as visually pleasing to me. Still those 3 of 5 make it well worth the bux. No R rated stuff either - you can let a kid read it with no worries - lots or good life lessons for them and adults in there
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2013
This turned out to be something that I have really enjoyed and know others would like it just as I have.
This trade/graphic novel is one that I'll read more than once. It will be staying in my collection always.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2013
Flight Volume Six starts off with another of Michel Gagne's The Saga of Rex stories, this one called "soulmates", where our starfox Rex and his lovely mystical starfoxette explore weird transformation and astral voyaging through mystic alien orbs and altars and who knows what all else. There's crazy stuff that Rex is a witness to that seems to be a part of his spouse's world, and all sorts of magic gook going on, before the pair voyages with all sorts of other beastie pairs to an earth-like planet, where they experience the change of the seasons and welcome a companion fox. The story ends abruptly (are there missing pages here?). Next up is a splendid episode of "The Excitingly Mundane Life of Kenneth Shuri". Ken is a ninja, but he's out of work, and his wife is sick of supporting him and the two kids on a librarian's salary. The ending shows the world's coolest cartoon ninja group duel-to-the-death. Fantastic scripting, and very cool felt tip marker art. Love it!! Fantastic how author and artist JP Ahonen pulls this off!! "Phantom, a Daisy Kutter adventure, is a cool tale of the wild west, and Daisy Kutter is a female detective who looks like a lost character from a Lupin Sansei episode. She drifts into a town where the sheriff is having trouble with a ghoul. She wanders a haunted house with her six-shooters, encountering a robot ghoul and the ghosts of his victims, finishing it off neatly, before moving on. Atmospheric as hell, and a job well done. Probably Kazu Kibuishi's best tale so far. "Magnus The Misfit" is a funny and stylish tale of a goofy Viking who survives a voyage to the new world by being goofy and stylish. Very nice. "Dead At Noon" is a wordless high noon tale of a drunk farmhand confronting the landowner who done his woman wrong. Each panel is lovingly drawn and supremely expressive. It's like the first 10 minutes of The Good, The Bad And The Ugly, where also not a word is spoken - nor does any need to be. Supreme. "Epitaph" is a cool tale of two men and a robot crossing the desert. Short, sweet and stylish. "Walters" is a strange, painterly, wordless episode about a sensitive young man who remembers his youth, remembers seeing an angel, and tries to recapture the moment by floating away on helium balloons. A hard tale to follow, but beautiful nonetheless, and very rich in fantasy and motion. "Mate" is a stylish, wordless tale of birds who become bunnies overnight through some strange construction/deconstruction process. Amazing. "Kidnapped" by Rad Sechrist is a cool, colourful tale of samurais, kidnapping, winter swordsplay, blood on snow, and all sorts of other groovy stuff. "Cooking Duel" is a silly tale of who can make the better mushroom quiche, a guy or his girlfriend. Big deal. "Dead Bunny" is a sort of "Are You My Mother" about a zombie rabbit in search of its true love before its heart gives out. Sorry, this one's not a winner, nor is "The Zs and the Attack of the Early Bird", which is a Calvin and Hobbes ripoff that is too dumb to describe, suffice it involves a young boy on the eve of a fishing trip, his talking teddy bear, an all-nighter, the Early Bird and a pit full of night-crawlers. At least the Jellaby episode, "Hide And Seek", is charming and fun. "Fish 'n' Chips" is a dumb superhero adventure starring a goldfish (in a bowl, but with a cyborg body to make it mobile on land) and a lame cat hero of some sort, fighting the Holo-Clam fishbowl-tank and his attack dog and killer crab. Yawwwnnnn... The final tale, "Long Winded", about a young raccoon-girl asking her grandfather what makes the wind go, is a charmer with a lot of life to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2009
Yet another great volume in the Flight series, but it lacked some of the "wow" that other volumes have.
The sroties are all good, but I felt like it did not have the flavor that Flight is known for.
Kazu brought Daisy Kutter (Daisy Kutter: The Last Train) back for it (thanks Kazu), and there are other familiar faces as well. The new comers put up some interesting stories, and I hope that we see more of them in future books.
If you like the other books, you will still like this one.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2010
Great Stories and Artist. Each installment is a great achievement for graphic novels.
(though I could very much do without Jellby...leave that one to "explorer")
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2013
The ninja story is fun. The books make me feel better after a hard day at work, or just adds to a good afternoon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2016
Thumbs up
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2011
A compendium of great art and a variety of stories shows where graphic works can go. If you want something beyond the super hero comics, check out the "Flight" series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.