Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too
Gold Star Award Winner!

Knowledge is power, and although Ellen Hopkins no doubt would have preferred to not have lived the nightmare of her daughter's dance with Meth and other drugs, she has chosen to share her experiences with others. We should be grateful she has.

FLIRTIN' WITH THE MONSTER is Ellen's non-fiction, no-nonsense account of why she...
Published on May 6, 2009 by TeensReadToo

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars STOP, stick to to first person books (glass,fallout etc)
Sadly,this book was A BIG fat let down compared to (YAWN) others.

Unless you want to read about HER personal success and progress written by her (egotistical) as a general writer, poet, and children's author.
If you wish to read kudos from friends, fellow writers and psychologists, LEAVE it and run.

Save your money unless you are a college...
Published 14 months ago by M. Paulson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, May 6, 2009
This review is from: Flirtin' With the Monster: Your Favorite Authors on Ellen Hopkins' Crank and Glass (Paperback)
Gold Star Award Winner!

Knowledge is power, and although Ellen Hopkins no doubt would have preferred to not have lived the nightmare of her daughter's dance with Meth and other drugs, she has chosen to share her experiences with others. We should be grateful she has.

FLIRTIN' WITH THE MONSTER is Ellen's non-fiction, no-nonsense account of why she chose to tell her story to the world, her choice of the fiction genre verses memoir, and her solid belief that teenagers deserve to read about real issues that affect their very real lives. We can't protect our teenagers forever, and if one adolescent can read about someone else's mistakes, and be frightened into not ever making the choices Ellen's daughter made, then she will have paved her way to heaven.

In this title, Ellen has joined forces with numerous people, and included letters written by her own family, "Kristina" included, to discuss the Monster, her writing, and the impact her two best-selling novels have had on their own and others lives. The book is testimony to the influence that a story such as this can have on a person, young or old, when the choice to try a drug that first time presents itself. And it will present itself.

As Niki Burnham so eloquently puts it in the opening chapter on role models our kids are reading about, or not allowed to read about, "...those caring parents do their teen a greater service by allowing them to read whatever they want and making it clear they're willing to discuss it with them afterward: Protecting them by preparing them."

The world is full of imperfect people with imperfect lives. Why should the books we open to our teenagers be any different?

Reviewed by: Angie Fisher
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, On The Edge, January 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flirtin' With the Monster: Your Favorite Authors on Ellen Hopkins' Crank and Glass (Paperback)
This book is quite heartwrenching when you have read the series of books by Ellen Hopkins. She explains who and why the books were written and the true life changing events. Simply shocking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, February 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you follow the series this book is great to read how it all started and to actually hear from the real people who were talked about in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book., March 27, 2014
This review is from: Flirtin' With the Monster: Your Favorite Authors on Ellen Hopkins' Crank and Glass (Paperback)
My order shipped on time and was exactly as I expected. This book gives a detailed insight into Ellen Hopkins personal life. I recommend it to anyone who is a fan of her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, March 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flirtin' With the Monster: Your Favorite Authors on Ellen Hopkins' Crank and Glass (Paperback)
good book. I have already finished it and started on the others. Thanks for having this in stock when I couldn't find it at any other place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars easy read, January 20, 2014
By 
kirsten coppola (Sicklerville, NJ, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flirtin' With the Monster: Your Favorite Authors on Ellen Hopkins' Crank and Glass (Paperback)
I was so captivated by the series that I bought this book because I didn't want it to end. It was good closure but not as good as the other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for education, December 18, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flirtin' With the Monster: Your Favorite Authors on Ellen Hopkins' Crank and Glass (Paperback)
I bought this thinking it would be like the other books but it is more for educational purposes. This would be great with young teens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Chance we hope no one we love will take, December 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Hopkin's writing is very informative. It puts you in the place where you can begin to comprehend the hold "The Monster" has on the people whom take that chance and holds it hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars NOT another fiction novel from Hopkins, November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flirtin' With the Monster: Your Favorite Authors on Ellen Hopkins' Crank and Glass (Paperback)
If you are expecting another one of Ellen hopkins' amazing novels, this is not it. This is a great read for fans of the Crank series. It is a short, quick collection of essays/articles from other authors and their thoughts on the story in Crank. The last part of the book includes accounts from the actual people who were affected by Ellen Hopkins' daughter's addiction, who is the inspiration for Crank and the subsequent books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars heartbreakingly amazing closure, January 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flirtin' With the Monster: Your Favorite Authors on Ellen Hopkins' Crank and Glass (Paperback)
Provided the closure I needed with the Crank series. It was so touching to read the real family's accounts on how Kristina's addiction affected them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Flirtin' With the Monster: Your Favorite Authors on Ellen Hopkins' Crank and Glass
$15.95 $11.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.