Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly funny - SMART funny!
Even though my comments will echo those of other positive comments listed on this site, I felt I HAD to put my two cents in, if only to get the "Average Rating" boosted so that more folks will check out this classic comedy. As you can see from the handful of negative reviews, it's not everyone's cup of tea - some people perceive it to be a somewhat grating experience...
Published on May 23, 2002

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, poor DVD
I love this Ben Stiller comedy about a grown adopted man looking for his birth parents, traveling all across the country with wife, baby, and assorted others in tow, including Tea Leoni as an incompetent researcher going through a divorce.
The picture quality on this DVD was awful to the point of being distracting. I've seldom seen picture quality this bad on a used...
Published on June 15, 2004 by David C. Read


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly funny - SMART funny!, May 23, 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flirting With Disaster (DVD)
Even though my comments will echo those of other positive comments listed on this site, I felt I HAD to put my two cents in, if only to get the "Average Rating" boosted so that more folks will check out this classic comedy. As you can see from the handful of negative reviews, it's not everyone's cup of tea - some people perceive it to be a somewhat grating experience. True, the humor comes out of putting people in very uncomfortable situations but, if you find humor in well meaning but neurotic people squrming and sweating their way through funny mishap after funny mishap, you will adore this movie. Everyone is fantastic in this film, though Tea Leoni, Alan Alda, and Lily Tomlin come close to stealing the show. Arquette is a sexy straight man (though she gets to earn some laughs, too), Stiller is his usual put-upon self, Mary Tyler Moore & George Segal have great cameos, and Josh Brolin & Richard E. Jenkins make for two unforgettable Feds. A ton of brilliant set pieces and memorable/quotable lines are served up by the very talented David O. Russell ("Three Kings," "Spanking the Monkey") in this, his second film as writer/director. I have no negative criticism to offer - it's hilarious every time you view it (and I've screened it plenty). Really, it's one of the best SMART comedies of the past decade. Folks looking for flatulence jokes, zany hairdos, and pop cultural references in lieu of witty dialogue will have to look elsewhere. I'd give it 10 stars if that were an option - I cannot praise it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars COMIC TIMING., January 7, 2004
This review is from: Flirting With Disaster (DVD)
Where to begin! Lily Tomlin and Alan Ada at the top of their game in an all-round stellar comic starcast. Lighthearted but biting dialogue that houses a charming warmth for its dysfunctional characters.
And a doozy theme: a new father's search for his birth parents. He can't name his own baby until he knows more about where he came from. The adoption agent who accompanies them is the epitome of the high strung New Yorker, whose goofs and gaffs lead the group into one riotous predicament after another. Particularly funny if you have recently been thinking of names for a baby, or if you can laugh at 60's counterculture.
The movie is funniest in the last 15 minutes or so. The closing credits alone are worth the price of admission (or DVD). Recommended rental. Even better the second time round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, May 1, 2000
This review is from: Flirting With Disaster (DVD)
This is certainly one of the funniest flims to come along in years and years. It is filled with memorable dialog and scenes that are so much fun you'll want to see them over and over. The cast is superb. Everyone is great. Mary Tyler Moore and George Segal as Stiller's adoptive parents are perfect. As he begins the search for his real parents he meets some hilarious characters and it all culminates in the meeting of Lily Tomlin and Alan Alda. Without giving too much away, let me just say that this movie is priceless! A must see.
My highest compliments to the writers and director.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some Jokers might think this isn't worth 5 stars, December 6, 2004
This review is from: Flirting with Disaster (Collector's Edition) (DVD)
This is an absolutely stunning, painfully funny film, shamefully underrated (see also 'Office Space', 'Dirty Work' for similarly overlooked comic masterpieces). I'm not such a huge Ben Stiller fan, apart from in 'Mary, and 'Royal Tennenbaums', but he is perfectly cast here, as a reticent man, forced into some horrifically uncomfortable public humiliations.

It wouldn't be fair to reveal much of the plot, but the climax of Stiller's search for his biological parents is pure gut-renching black comedy.

Don't believe the critics who give this anything less than 5 stars - this is top-quality entertainment, for those who like their comedy black, and on the dry side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little known gem, January 6, 2009
By 
C. Purvis (Pasadena, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flirting with Disaster (Collector's Edition) (DVD)
I LOVE this movie. Have since the first time I saw it, and it remains in my top 10. Hilarious situations, great acting; there are lines we still quote to this day! The two sets of parents are comic geniuses -- Mary Tyler Moore in particular. Ben Stiller looks so young and ungroomed, but is quite strong in his usual self-depreciating way. The series of situations the characters go through make this a classic farce, not to mention a road show, but does not feel predictable at all. Take a chance, you'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, poor DVD, June 15, 2004
This review is from: Flirting With Disaster (DVD)
I love this Ben Stiller comedy about a grown adopted man looking for his birth parents, traveling all across the country with wife, baby, and assorted others in tow, including Tea Leoni as an incompetent researcher going through a divorce.
The picture quality on this DVD was awful to the point of being distracting. I've seldom seen picture quality this bad on a used VHS tape, never mind a DVD. I don't know what happened, but obviously mistakes were made. Too bad. This movie deserved a better DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ben Stiller Never Ceases to Amaze, May 22, 2001
Sometimes, watching a Ben Stiller movie is like watching a car crash, you just can't look away or you might miss something. In this slightly chaotic film about a man trying to find the identity of his birth parents is a serious topic; but Stiller mananges to weave the characters carefully into a totally neurotic mis-adventure. You have to wonder what kind of daily experiences this man has had. How do you come up with a scene where a friend or is licking the underarm of his wife(Patricia Arquette). Does it happen in his circle of friends? I don't think this film was a big box office attraction, but I watch it over and over again just to see Mary Tyler Moore loose control because her daughter-in-law is nursing her baby and not wearing the right bra--warning her against the perils of an inadequate binding device. I highly recommend this movie just to rattle your cage a little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Terrible transfer to DVD, June 19, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Flirting With Disaster (DVD)
This is a very funny movie and you should see it, but the transfer to DVD was just awful. I think it looked better on VHS tape (I'm not joking). The image is very, very grainy and poorly defined with pixelation becoming an issue especially in anything but bright light. Miramax really blundered with this release. Too bad, I was looking forward to it for a long time. And to top it off, there are absolutely no extras on the disc. Oh well. I'm giving it 3 stars instead of 1 because it really is a funny movie. Caveat emptor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ben Stiller fans should not overlook this one, April 8, 2004
I have friends who describe themselves as "huge Ben Stiller fans" but then stare at me blankly when I tell them Stiller's best movie is David O. Russell's 'Flirting With Disaster.' I'm not sure why this movie got overlooked by so many people. My guess is that since it pre-dates 'Something About Mary' by two years, the general populace had not yet caught on to Stiller's talents as 'the perfect comic foil' (to quote the apropros phrase used in the official amazon.com review).
And when these friends *do* eventually see it, their response is unanimous: "Wow, how did I miss that one? Absolutely hilarious."
Exactly.
Beyond Stiller, you get the vastly underrated comedic talents of Téa Leoni. [Note to the Coen Brothers and others looking to re-create the Cary Grant-era screwball romantic comedy: Téa's your girl.] Plus, there are great performances by supporting actors Richard Jenkins (who seems to turn up everywhere), Josh Brolin, Patricia Arquette and an amazing foursome of Alan Alda, Lily Tomlin (both cast WAY against type), George Seagal and Mary Tyler Moore.
The key to the movie is the director's touch - David O. Russell put together a stretch of three great movies: 'Spanking the Monkey,' this one, and then followed it up the promise of those two films with 'Three Kings.' Russell knows how to stage dark and/or subtle comedy (recall how Clooney, Wahlberg and Ice Cube came upon the secret map in Kings).
You will love this film. And, by the way, you'll think of it whenever you drive by a white Ford Taurus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jerry Garcia, blah blah blah..., January 11, 2008
By 
Michele B (New Orleans, LA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Flirting with Disaster (Collector's Edition) (DVD)
One of my all-time favorite movies--the only thing I haven't seen mentioned is Glenn Fitzgerald's scene stealing performance as the jealous, younger brother Lonnie, and all of his quotable lines. "The special son is here..." We even named our dog after this memorable character. :)
Definitely one of Ben Stiller's best and a perfect cast. Like another reviewer said, I can watch it a hundred times and still see something I hadn't seen before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Flirting with Disaster (Collector's Edition)
Flirting with Disaster (Collector's Edition) by David O. Russell (DVD - 2004)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.