Industrial Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon David Bowie egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Movember Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals BestoftheYear Outdoor Deals on HTL

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on May 7, 2012
This is a really thorough itinerary for a 3-day visit to Florence; it's best if you've never been before and want to make sure not to miss any of the "must-see" attractions and also don't want to waste time on things like long lines or backtracking. There's even a whole day's worth of stuff to do that works on Mondays, when many Florence museums are closed. The pace of the itinerary isn't too rushed, either, so if you're super speedy you could add a few more sights/activities - or just enjoy the slower pace!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on May 30, 2013
In many ways, Florence has been done to death, so it was so refreshing to read a guidebook that captured a side of the city beyond the main tourist haunts. From the first page, you can tell that Alexandra knows what she's talking about. The tone is fun, light and informative. You get a great dose of history and culture, but it's not going to put you to sleep. The length is great too. You can read it in a couple of hours and not feel overwhelmed!

Alexandra doesn't skimp on the details when she describes monuments and museums, so you feel like you have a tour guide in your pocket, only better because you can go at your own pace and no one's waving a mini flag in your face.

I particularly liked the section on alternative Monday activities. I've visited countless cities and been completely bummed when something is closed. It's nice to have other things to do if that should happen. The activities work just as well if you've exhausted your museum and art gallery quota for the day!

It's easy to visit Florence and be overwhelmed by it all. Three days is the perfect amount of time for most travellers and Alexandra makes sure you don't miss out on a thing. I would definitely recommend this guidebook to first-time visitors and long-time returnees. The itineraries really are off the beaten track, giving the reader a sense of Florence that is completely local and completely gimmick free. You can tell Alexandra has lived and breathed this city rather than get all the information off the internet like others have been known to do!

Can't wait to try it out in Florence!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on May 3, 2012
The author of this itinerary has a Ph.D in Renaissance art history and has lived in Italy for a decade, so travelers to Florence who follow the detailed 3-day schedule described here will be sure to see Florence's most important art and architecture. But not only that, Alexandra has made sure that the traveler doesn't get museum-weary (which is very easy to do in Florence) by balancing the city's incredible museums and art with coffee breaks and gelato breaks, walks, shopping, and other sights.

The itinerary includes photos, excellent food suggestions, and some great cultural tips in addition to a useful overall summary. I also liked that she included suggestions for vegetarians. The information about major works of art covers the important things, you won't need a guide book or tour guide. I don't know Alexandra personally but I've been following her blog [...] for years and her suggestions are always great, so when this book came out I jumped on it! I've planned many days in Florence for travelers and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend that someone follow this itinerary to the letter.

Madeline Clarke Jhawar
Italy Beyond the Obvious
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on July 16, 2012
Even for somebody like me, who has lived in the Tuscan countryside for years Florence is still overwhelming. What are the must sees apart of the Uffizi and Florence' cathedral? Where to start to make some sense of it all? The Unanchor guide to the city is a perfect helper for people who want to get a great introduction to the Renaissance without losing out on ice-cream stops and shoe shopping. Art historian Alexandra Korey literally takes you by the hand and makes sure that Italian history and culture come alive even for people who slept through their history lessons at high school.

I especially liked the author's attached tailor-made guide to the Uffizi. Anybody who has ever been at this world famous museum knows that you better arrive prepared to avoid getting lost between all the masters of Renaissance art.

The guide's scheduled out day walks were a novelty to me, but proved to be very useful together with the detailed city maps. And it's easy enough to tweak the schedule if you decide to sleep in after a late night in town.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2014
Really nice starting point for a trip to Florence. Florence is a big city and it can be a bot overwhelming to decide what to see. I don't know about anyone else, but my main issue is always making sure the things I want to see are close together and not spaced far apart. I don't want to spend most of my trip trying to get from Point A to Point B. This 3 day itinerary is even more well planned than what I could come up with! It even has spots and recommendations for gelato breaks and meals. It has main attractions, as well as prices and recommended length of time to spend at each spot. Great resource. I will definitely be using this for my trip to Florence.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on August 30, 2014
It's not really a travel guide, more of a tour plan.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on October 11, 2013
Well-written, concise, and filled with smart ideas - not just for sights to see, but also restaurants. Loved the way the day was planned, so we had an idea how much time to allow for something. It was the only guide I had in e-book form, so we often referred to it on our mini-ipad while on the go. It was a lifesaver!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2015
A thin description of a wonderful city that feels like a series of commercials for establishments from whom the writer gets a kick back for recommending them.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2014
This seems like it would be a good plan for a first time visit. Very detailed with a time schedule, tips on where to eat, etc. Can't wait to try it out!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on July 14, 2013
I loved this itinerary! I have been to Florence several times yet found this itinerary full of useful information for a first-time visitor or return visitor like me. The author clearly knows the city, including the history and details behind the places she recommends. She also gives useful information about what to do on Mondays, when many of the city's museums are closed, where to eat in the city center, and how to get the most of your time in Florence by avoiding museum lines. I also liked the pace of the itinerary--she includes downtime for resting and alternative activities which allow for flexibility.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.