Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Flourless Cooking!
As someone who loves baking, I honestly have felt a huge sadness each holiday as I have to relegate myself to tasteless desserts and recipes that produce cookies with a texture more suited to building materials or projectiles rather than consumption. So I was very intrigued to try recipes from FLOURLESS.

I am a book person, not just a baker so I want to say...
Published 5 months ago by Kindle Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice recipes could use more photos of finished product
Recipes are straight forward and easy to follow. Nice to have desserts that don't require flour but still taste amazing.
Published 21 days ago by Carrielynn McEwen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Flourless Cooking!, August 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flourless.: Recipes for Naturally Gluten-Free Desserts (Hardcover)
As someone who loves baking, I honestly have felt a huge sadness each holiday as I have to relegate myself to tasteless desserts and recipes that produce cookies with a texture more suited to building materials or projectiles rather than consumption. So I was very intrigued to try recipes from FLOURLESS.

I am a book person, not just a baker so I want to say something about the book itself (and not just the recipes) as that sort of thing matters to me.

The quality of the book itself is lovely. The illustrations and pages feel classic, something that belongs beside my CANAL HOUSE COOKING series. I love cookbooks with a bit of personal history or story before each venture or a bit of personalization and this book is rich with it.

Now to the real thing, the baking! So far I've tried the Strawberry Rhubarb Maple Cake, Pear-Chocolate Cake, Walnut Torte with Coffee Cream and Pavlova with Cream and Berries and today we (my kids and I) will venture into the Chewy Cinnamon Molasses Cookies. I love that these recipes have a lot of flavor, and while the cookbook is definitely a goodies book, you are presented with recipes that rely on flavor, fruit and natural sweeteners like maple syrup rather than huge amounts of sugar. They also have (or so it seems) more protein than a lot of desserts due to the use of egg whites and nut flours, which I like. We have not yet had one kitchen disaster, I'm proud to say! They are also very pretty desserts. I was especially impressed with the presentation of the Pear-Chcolate Cake and made a note that I will make that for future events as it has a wow factor. I also wanted to add, on a practical level, Gluten Free cooking is notoriously expensive. The only investment I had to make to make these recipes was a coffee grinder for grinding some of the nuts. I'm grateful to be able to bake out of my kitchen again without feeling like taking a class in chemistry.

I have already purchased an additional copy as a gift for a friend. I don't often review on Amazon but this is a real must-buy if you are like me, a former gingerbread queen missing the warm smells of the holidays or the morning comfort of coffee cake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't like food items that are made to taste like something ..., August 19, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flourless.: Recipes for Naturally Gluten-Free Desserts (Hardcover)
I'm in Gluten Free heaven for sure. I just got back from a month in Spain where gluten free is only just beginning to be understood. I managed to avoid gluten the whole time I was there, but it took ingenuity - a lot of denial when tapas were spread on the table and also creative menu selection to make meals. When I developed Hashimoto's in 2012, I experimented with gluten free for a couple of months and then said, no way, this is too hard, but stomach attacks and inflammation notwithstanding, I went back and have been gluten free for a year. Still, I don't like food items that are made to taste like something they are not. I like transparency in food. This book magically gives recipe after recipe of sweet delights naturally gluten free - say what? - yes, naturally. I sat with a cup of green tea on my couch the morning after I arrived back at my home in New Orleans and lingered on each page, each image, each recipe and I know the year ahead is going to be a sweet one indeed. Thank you Nicole for giving us a natural "sin gluten" option as they say in Spain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great dessert cookbook that just happens to be wheat-free, September 2, 2014
By 
L. Frederick (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flourless.: Recipes for Naturally Gluten-Free Desserts (Hardcover)
I love this cookbook. It really comes in handy for events like parties, PTA meetings and other school functions, where someone may have allergies or celiac disease. But mostly I appreciate the recipes for what they are: delicious and easy to make! I am not gluten-free myself nor am I a gourmet cook or baker, but you would never know it by the way I use this book. I get to impress the heck out of people with these sweet treats. Ha!

This cookbook makes a great gift, too. It's solid with nice heft and pages of beautiful photos. I am giving it as my Christmas present this year along with a bag of hazelnuts and jar of rosemary because I love the shortbread recipe so much (sweet and salty wholesome buttery goodness mmmmmm). Also you can't beat the price on amazon.com. Bargain!

I noticed my bookstore sells it in the GF section, but it should really be sold in the dessert section because it stands by itself as a great dessert cookbook. Seriously, you don't miss the wheat. Instead you start realizing how much wheat you eat, especially after having toast, cereal, a sandwich and crackers on any given day. Wheat flour is so boring to me now. Yay oats!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best cookbook purchase in a long time!, September 28, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one cookbook that I wish I had access to when I first had to go gluten free. The recipes are fantastic, with no difficult to find ingredients or strange tastes due to the flour substitutes. If your life is a GF one, this is a cookbook that you truly should buy. It deserves far more stars than 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, no fake ingredients, October 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really love this book because it doesn't use a lot of fakey ingredients. Many "flourless" recipes use weird flours and chemical binders. Most of these recipes are heavy on eggs,but use normal, whole ingredients. I've made several cookies and one cupcake recipe and they were hits!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Ideas, needs a touch of work for next printing, October 29, 2014
By 
AW (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Flourless.: Recipes for Naturally Gluten-Free Desserts (Hardcover)
This book is full of great ideas and recipes that rely more on nuts and eggs for structure, rather than GF flour blends that can be more variable (depending on your brand), expensive, and contain ingredients you may not be comfortable with. I do have a few issues with it, but I think they could be fixed in the next printing: (1) I have found a few errors in the measurements (e.g., the chocolate pear cake calls for more sugar than it's meant to, confirmed after emailing with the author, who was super responsive!), and (2) some of the pictures (which are beautiful!) are matched with the recipe they go with in the book, while others are far away, which can be confusing when you are flipping through looking for ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded my expectations, no fancy gluten free flours, ..., October 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flourless.: Recipes for Naturally Gluten-Free Desserts (Hardcover)
Exceeded my expectations, no fancy gluten free flours, just recipes for gluten free desserts using everyday ingredients, oh did I mention they all taste phenomenal. A must have book for the gluten sensitive person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice recipes could use more photos of finished product, January 8, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Recipes are straight forward and easy to follow. Nice to have desserts that don't require flour but still taste amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GF goods, very luscious and easy to do, September 22, 2014
By 
Y Cardona (Santa Cruz,CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flourless.: Recipes for Naturally Gluten-Free Desserts (Hardcover)
Food porn at its best, this book has luscious recipes and mouth watering photos that will have you throwing away all dietary caution and feast on baked goods. The recipes go from simple to elaborate, but if you are familiar with GF baking this will be easy for you. This book is so darn pretty you can have it on an end table and let people indulge in dessert fantasies. I haven't' tried any recipes yet, but don't even care, I love tho shook just because it exists and holds the promise of goodness within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... - and the hardest part for her was her love of baking, December 18, 2014
By 
This review is from: Flourless.: Recipes for Naturally Gluten-Free Desserts (Hardcover)
My daughter was recently diagnosed as having Celiac disease - and the hardest part for her was her love of baking. This cookbook is such a source of joy -- it's gorgeous and every recipe we've tried was absolutely delicious - and easy to bake! My boys, who generally can't stand GF baking (can't blame 'em), also love the recipes. Some favorites? The brownies.... the peanut butter chocolate chip cookies.... mmmm...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Flourless.: Recipes for Naturally Gluten-Free Desserts
Flourless.: Recipes for Naturally Gluten-Free Desserts by Nicole Spiridakis (Hardcover - August 12, 2014)
$27.95 $22.33
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.