Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great price for a great system
I ordered this for my 2010 Silverado ext cab. The kit arrived very fast!! Day after it shipped. Kit was complete and any backyard mechanic could install quickly and easily. The system sounds great and I noticed a power gain immediately. Had the loudness that you would expect with 50series mufflers, but not so loud that you would upset neighbors or be unable to hold a...
Published on November 22, 2011 by frankie15oct

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Flowmaster needs to rethink this product
I had welds break on the brackets holding the entire left side to truck frame and its not an easy fit up to factory had to cut to the cat back side and it took a lot of time more than it should of.
Published 14 months ago by S


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great price for a great system, November 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flowmaster 817492 Cat-back System 409S - Dual Rear/Side Exit - Force II - Moderate Sound (Automotive)
I ordered this for my 2010 Silverado ext cab. The kit arrived very fast!! Day after it shipped. Kit was complete and any backyard mechanic could install quickly and easily. The system sounds great and I noticed a power gain immediately. Had the loudness that you would expect with 50series mufflers, but not so loud that you would upset neighbors or be unable to hold a conversation easily inside the cab. Almost perfect for a person wanting the rumble without drowning out everything else. Only one problem... Took to have all seams welded and there is one section that crosses in front of rear differential drain plug. This section shouldn't be welded. I used provided clamps here so I could still have access to my drain plug. Awesome system awesome price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well executed product, September 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flowmaster 817492 Cat-back System 409S - Dual Rear/Side Exit - Force II - Moderate Sound (Automotive)
I was most impressed with the ease of installation of this product. The product is well
engineered and does not require the installer to do anything special to get the job done.
Of course Chevrolet also did a wonderful job designing the muffler system that this product
replaces, allowing the installer to quickly and easily take the system apart. The only
requirement is that the flex tube between the catalytic convertor and muffler be cut. This
requires a fairy good sized saw-z-all blade to get the job done. Once the original system
has been removed, installing the new system takes a matter of minutes. The instructions
recommend welding the pipes together once final alignment of the pieces has been done, but
we have found that the supplied clamps are strong enough to hold things in place. If in
doubt, place a tack weld on each joint and call it a day. This will allow you to uninstall
the system at a later date, if required. You can also hang on to your original system and
bolt it back into place in minutes if required. You'll need to find an adapter pipe, which
should be available at your local auto parts store.

The sound of the system is as advertised and provides a nice rumble at idle and part throttle.
There is a bit of resonance in the cab, but this is part of what you bought the system for in
the first place so enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast and easy install! Sounds great!, May 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flowmaster 817492 Cat-back System 409S - Dual Rear/Side Exit - Force II - Moderate Sound (Automotive)
This system fits perfectly on my truck. Installed in a little over an hour. (Would've been faster if I had a hoist, ramps or proper jack and stands.) Sounds fantastic, sounds a lot like a magnaflow system but with a bit more grit. I would highly recommend this product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great sound in V8 Mode, February 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flowmaster 817492 Cat-back System 409S - Dual Rear/Side Exit - Force II - Moderate Sound (Automotive)
Put this on my 2008 GMC Crew Cab. Product was great. Installed in 2 hours and sound is perfect. Not too loud and not too quiet. The only problem I have is the sound of the truck switching from v8 to v4 mode can get a little annoying. Not the fault of the product at all. It just makes the switching of modes a lot more noticeable. It also takes some time to get the tip position to match on the back of the truck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right Price for the Right Sound, June 3, 2014
By 
Get a Life (Round Rock, TX USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flowmaster 817492 Cat-back System 409S - Dual Rear/Side Exit - Force II - Moderate Sound (Automotive)
I can tell the power gains immediately, put on an 2009 GMC 5.3L V8 and paired with a K&N Black Hawk CIR, both impressive sounding and quality, when you get on it, it'll let em know, when your cruising it's just a nice purr.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flowmaster Exhaust Kit, December 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flowmaster 817492 Cat-back System 409S - Dual Rear/Side Exit - Force II - Moderate Sound (Automotive)
The exhaust kit was exactly as described. The installation was easy and the sound is great. visit [...] to see and hear video of this product installed. Amazon had the best price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flowmaster 817492 Cat-back System 409S - Dual Rear/Side Exit - Force II - Moderate Sound (Automotive)
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sounds great!, March 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flowmaster 817492 Cat-back System 409S - Dual Rear/Side Exit - Force II - Moderate Sound (Automotive)
The sound Is great! Not too loud but adds a nice rumble. I would have given 5 stars but the clamps are difficult to get tight enough to stop any movement. You really got to reef on them. Other than that installation was easy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds great!!, March 16, 2014
This review is from: Flowmaster 817492 Cat-back System 409S - Dual Rear/Side Exit - Force II - Moderate Sound (Automotive)
I have this system on my 2011 Silverado 5.3L and it sounds great. Very easy to install. This system has an aggressive sound but not to loud. Great for daily driver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sounds fantastic., February 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flowmaster 817492 Cat-back System 409S - Dual Rear/Side Exit - Force II - Moderate Sound (Automotive)
I purchased this system a year ago for my 2007 Chevy Silverado 1500 Z71 crewcab - new body style. It took a few hours to install with the help of a couple other guys - none of us more than novice mechanics. It sounds fantastic and is exactly the tone and volume I wanted in an aftermarket exhaust system - moderate with good growl.

A year later the shiny pipes aren't so shiny anymore and are starting to rust a little. The clamps that connect the sections are nice, but I'd recommend getting the system welded by a pro after install because no matter how tight I got the clamps, some of the sections still leak a little at the joint.

One slightly annoying aspect of the system is that it makes the active fuel management process pretty noticeable while driving. When the engine switches back and forth from 8- to 4-cylinders there is a noticeable change in the exhaust note. Annoying at first, but you get used to it - at least, I have.

Overall pleased with the purchase. Sounds fantastic, which is what I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.