Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Shaws production
This is another Shaw Brother historical fiction flick about Manchurian Emperor Yong Zheng's personal army of trained assassins known as the Flying Guillotin Troupe.

Yong Zheng was one of the Ching Dynasty's more capable rulers who restored peace stability and even prosperity to China but who achieved this by ruthlessly executing anyone suspected of spreading...
Published on February 6, 2012 by Taizu

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacked pretty much everything that made these movies great.
I used to watch USA Kung Fu Theater as a kid and it's awesome to be able to see them once again on DVD. I watched them for three things: The fight scenes, the weapons, and the weapons. Did I mention I loved the weapons? Where else could you see fight scenes with those types of weapons back in the day? Unfortunately this movie falls flat on this. I had high hopes when they...
Published 4 months ago by The Bus


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Shaws production, February 6, 2012
This review is from: Flying Guillotine (DVD)
This is another Shaw Brother historical fiction flick about Manchurian Emperor Yong Zheng's personal army of trained assassins known as the Flying Guillotin Troupe.

Yong Zheng was one of the Ching Dynasty's more capable rulers who restored peace stability and even prosperity to China but who achieved this by ruthlessly executing anyone suspected of spreading sedition or who were responsible for causing political unrest in the country.

To get rid of dissent in the ranks and any dissenting members of his family or ministers, he ordered one of his senior captains to set up a specially trained team of secret royal enforcers or assassins. This team came up with an unusual weapon called the flying guillotin which enabled them to mete out beheadings from 100 paces away.

There are no records of what the flying guillotin looked like but it is surmissed to have been a kind of razor sharp lasso type weapon which a trained assassin could throw from a 100 paces and once the lasso was secured round the victim's neck one pull of the chain would tighten the razor sharp 'noose' and the victim's head severed.

Here we see how the weapon is invented and the training of the first team of assassins. Focus is then on one team member called Ma Teng played by real kungfu action star Chen Kwan Tai(star of "Boxer from ShangTung", "Heroes Two","Challenge of the Masters", "The Blood Brothers","The Teahouse","Executioners from Shaolin","The Master", "Crippled Avengers", "Killer Constable" and the original "Iron Monkey").

Ma Teng is the most adept at using the flying guillotine but is soon disenchanted when he discovers the team is being used for political murders rather than to protect the Emperor against terrorists as he was formerly led to believe.

Things come to a head when Ma Teng's colleague and friend (played by Johnny Wang Yu from "Spiritual Boxer", "Executioners from Shaolin", "Dirty Ho" and "The Lady is Boss")is assassinated on the Emperor's orders after the latter had suffered a nervous breakdown and was heard shouting his objections to helping the Emperor commit murder against innocent people.

Ma Teng secretly leaves his team, marries and settles down as a farmer faraway from the Capital. Meanwhile the Emperor puts a price on his head and sends the Guillotin troupe after him.

As one expects from a Shaw Bro action movie, Ma Teng is forced into a show down with his own team mates to protect his wife and new born son.

Full of flying guillotin decapitations and duels between Ma Teng and his ex-colleagues, there is less hand to hand kungfu combat or not enuff for me anyway hence I've only awarded this classic 4 stars outta 5.

Dvd picture and sound quality excellent, multiaudio with English subtitles, what more can a Shaw movie collector want!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TAKING OF THE HEAD, January 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flying Guillotine (DVD)
VERY GOOD MOVIE, I ENJOYED IT. I AM SORT OF A MARTIAL ARTS BUFF. THANK YOU VERY MUCH. I CAN'T WAIT TO SEE FLYING GUILLOTINE 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, December 30, 2011
This review is from: Flying Guillotine (DVD)
This is a good movie about jealousy,ambition,revenge and an ingenious weapon of destruction. Good acting as well. A must have for any Kung fu flick fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good buy, June 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flying Guillotine (DVD)
I watched the original 25 years ago and I loved it just as much this time except the major difference was that I could actually see it because the video quality was so good on this one,, a good add to any kung fu collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacked pretty much everything that made these movies great., June 30, 2014
By 
The Bus (NC, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flying Guillotine (DVD)
I used to watch USA Kung Fu Theater as a kid and it's awesome to be able to see them once again on DVD. I watched them for three things: The fight scenes, the weapons, and the weapons. Did I mention I loved the weapons? Where else could you see fight scenes with those types of weapons back in the day? Unfortunately this movie falls flat on this. I had high hopes when they first invented the flying guillotine, but I thought the rest of the movie was pretty boring. I don't even recall many fight scenes at all. The build up to the end was very undramatic and even the grand finale fight scene left you asking where the REAL grand finale was. This movie is maybe worth the $3 just too see the flying guillotine but I hate to say I can't recommend it. The Avenging Eagle is MUCH better and I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love Kung-Fu movies, June 8, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flying Guillotine (DVD)
Great action, great fight scenes, skillful actors. The plots tend to always be the same (avenging a murdered master, rescuing a kidnapped girl, challenging a drug lord, etc….). But I watch them for the great choreographed fight scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay., February 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flying Guillotine (DVD)
It was okay..plot and storyline. Enjoyed the fight scenes and the sword play. The movie is worth the buy. I look forward to Flying Guillotine 2 - hoping for more visual affects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Action movie, August 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flying Guillotine (DVD)
Wild action kung fu fighting Movie . A little bit over kill and not for younger viewers wild stuff .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars so so, April 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flying Guillotine (DVD)
This one was okay as a sequel but still an excellent movie I am a karate person myself so it was good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Corny movie, April 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flying Guillotine (DVD)
I saw this movie a long time ago. This was on the old Kung Fu Theater on Saturday mornings. It was so bad it was good. Very entertaing. Brings back some good memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Flying Guillotine
Flying Guillotine by Ho Meng-hua (DVD - 2011)
$5.99 $4.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.