Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Fifth Harmony Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 6, 2012
This is another Shaw Brother historical fiction flick about Manchurian Emperor Yong Zheng's personal army of trained assassins known as the Flying Guillotin Troupe.

Yong Zheng was one of the Ching Dynasty's more capable rulers who restored peace stability and even prosperity to China but who achieved this by ruthlessly executing anyone suspected of spreading sedition or who were responsible for causing political unrest in the country.

To get rid of dissent in the ranks and any dissenting members of his family or ministers, he ordered one of his senior captains to set up a specially trained team of secret royal enforcers or assassins. This team came up with an unusual weapon called the flying guillotin which enabled them to mete out beheadings from 100 paces away.

There are no records of what the flying guillotin looked like but it is surmissed to have been a kind of razor sharp lasso type weapon which a trained assassin could throw from a 100 paces and once the lasso was secured round the victim's neck one pull of the chain would tighten the razor sharp 'noose' and the victim's head severed.

Here we see how the weapon is invented and the training of the first team of assassins. Focus is then on one team member called Ma Teng played by real kungfu action star Chen Kwan Tai(star of "Boxer from ShangTung", "Heroes Two","Challenge of the Masters", "The Blood Brothers","The Teahouse","Executioners from Shaolin","The Master", "Crippled Avengers", "Killer Constable" and the original "Iron Monkey").

Ma Teng is the most adept at using the flying guillotine but is soon disenchanted when he discovers the team is being used for political murders rather than to protect the Emperor against terrorists as he was formerly led to believe.

Things come to a head when Ma Teng's colleague and friend (played by Johnny Wang Yu from "Spiritual Boxer", "Executioners from Shaolin", "Dirty Ho" and "The Lady is Boss")is assassinated on the Emperor's orders after the latter had suffered a nervous breakdown and was heard shouting his objections to helping the Emperor commit murder against innocent people.

Ma Teng secretly leaves his team, marries and settles down as a farmer faraway from the Capital. Meanwhile the Emperor puts a price on his head and sends the Guillotin troupe after him.

As one expects from a Shaw Bro action movie, Ma Teng is forced into a show down with his own team mates to protect his wife and new born son.

Full of flying guillotin decapitations and duels between Ma Teng and his ex-colleagues, there is less hand to hand kungfu combat or not enuff for me anyway hence I've only awarded this classic 4 stars outta 5.

Dvd picture and sound quality excellent, multiaudio with English subtitles, what more can a Shaw movie collector want!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2013
I watched the original 25 years ago and I loved it just as much this time except the major difference was that I could actually see it because the video quality was so good on this one,, a good add to any kung fu collection
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2015
Great action scenes; Chen Kuan-tai is another great martial arts actor who will not disappoint in his acting skills. By todays' standards this wouldn't be considered gory because several people lose their heads, but for the seventies it was definitely ahead of its time (no pun intended). You will love this movie if you are into this type of movie. I loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2015
This is a good kung fu classic with Kuan Tai Chen. It is from the Shaw brothers legion of movies. I would really recommend this. It just needs the original Chinese audio and subtitles then it would be perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2015
This is a good movie for Shaw Brothers fans, but I recommend getting the DVD over Amazon's digital version. Disappointingly there are no subtitle or audio options on the digital version. The trailer on the instant video page on Amazon has Mandarin with English subs, but the actual digital version only has dubbed English.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2014
Great action, great fight scenes, skillful actors. The plots tend to always be the same (avenging a murdered master, rescuing a kidnapped girl, challenging a drug lord, etc….). But I watch them for the great choreographed fight scenes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2012
Flying Guillotine is one of the first movies to portray the guillotine weapon.It tells you the story of how it was created from scratch,then perfected.The film was released in 1975 directed by Ho Meng Hua who has also directed Vengeful Beauty,Shaolin Handlock,Swift Sword,Black Magic 1&2,Dragon Missile.The film stars Chen Kuan Tai(Iron Monkey 1970s version,Killer Constable,3 evil Masters aka The Master
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2015
Slow, plodding disappointment. This is another film I thought was a a different film I'd seen years ago with a single "enemy of the state" hiding out (common theme) that's found out and hunted down in rural China by a rare and deadly flying Guillotine weapon master for the showdown of the decade...NOT THIS FILM.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2014
I used to watch USA Kung Fu Theater as a kid and it's awesome to be able to see them once again on DVD. I watched them for three things: The fight scenes, the weapons, and the weapons. Did I mention I loved the weapons? Where else could you see fight scenes with those types of weapons back in the day? Unfortunately this movie falls flat on this. I had high hopes when they first invented the flying guillotine, but I thought the rest of the movie was pretty boring. I don't even recall many fight scenes at all. The build up to the end was very undramatic and even the grand finale fight scene left you asking where the REAL grand finale was. This movie is maybe worth the $3 just too see the flying guillotine but I hate to say I can't recommend it. The Avenging Eagle is MUCH better and I highly recommend.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2014
VERY GOOD MOVIE, I ENJOYED IT. I AM SORT OF A MARTIAL ARTS BUFF. THANK YOU VERY MUCH. I CAN'T WAIT TO SEE FLYING GUILLOTINE 2.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.