Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really nice photos of tropical fish
As the title clearly specifies, "Focus on Freshwater Aquarium Fish" it's not a book on setting up an aquarium. I don't understand why anyone would expect to find such information in a book that focus' on the fish.

What you do get is pages on pages of GREAT color photos of various common species of freshwater fish. The pics are superimposed on a white background...
Published on January 23, 2007 by stangsta

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy this only because of the pictures
...because there isn't much more to this book, than a lot of nice and colorful pictures. I was kind of disappointed, because there wasn't anything to learn from reading this book. The different species have just a small, kind of humouristic comment on the side. Nothing about water requirements or food.

The photos are great though, crystal sharp and in detail...
Published on March 16, 2005 by Mona Opland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy this only because of the pictures, March 16, 2005
This review is from: Focus on Freshwater Aquarium Fish (Hardcover)
...because there isn't much more to this book, than a lot of nice and colorful pictures. I was kind of disappointed, because there wasn't anything to learn from reading this book. The different species have just a small, kind of humouristic comment on the side. Nothing about water requirements or food.

The photos are great though, crystal sharp and in detail. My five year old son loves to look in this book, because there is so little text but so many large and colorful pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really nice photos of tropical fish, January 23, 2007
This review is from: Focus on Freshwater Aquarium Fish (Hardcover)
As the title clearly specifies, "Focus on Freshwater Aquarium Fish" it's not a book on setting up an aquarium. I don't understand why anyone would expect to find such information in a book that focus' on the fish.

What you do get is pages on pages of GREAT color photos of various common species of freshwater fish. The pics are superimposed on a white background and really stand out. There is some text describing the fish and it's behavior but not too much.

Every aquarist should have a such a book to show new fish enthusiasts or guests in your home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The focus is on photos, April 9, 2006
By 
Richard Vogt (Geneva Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Focus on Freshwater Aquarium Fish (Hardcover)
This book is neither an 'encyclopedia' nor an 'atlas'. The title says it all i.e. it's a focus on aquarium fish. It's not about plants or filters or feeding requirements. If you're looking for a book with lots of info about fish keeping, this one is not for you. I bought it for the pleasure of the absolutely fantastic photography. All of the fish are presented with a white background so there is no distraction from the fish itself. This is a stunning,unique,artistic book. For this it has five stars in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful picture book, September 7, 2006
By 
Oliver C. Kwok (Baltimore, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Focus on Freshwater Aquarium Fish (Hardcover)
This book is full of color illustrations derived from photos, which are often bigger than life size. Often the page is full of images of the same fish shot from different angles. Even the common goldfish is shown nicely. It is a good picture book for young children and armchair hobbyists. People who want to set up an aquarium should not buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Focus on Freshwater Aquarium Fish (Hardcover)
Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maybe not to much information, but beautifal pics!, September 9, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Focus on Freshwater Aquarium Fish (Hardcover)
I saw this book at borders. I love it . There is virtualy no information on setting up tanks, or filtiration, but the fish set on a stunning white background is incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Focus on Freshwater Aquarium Fish
Focus on Freshwater Aquarium Fish by Geoff Rogers (Hardcover - August 7, 2004)
Used & New from: $1.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.