Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book
I've used Fodors before so I was confident that this book would be helpful and it did not disappoint. It is organized very well, making it easy to find and plan activities, dining, etc. The laminated take out map with metro map is great for on the go. The book is small enough to easily pack, yet sturdy enough that it won't rip easily. I especially liked the cultural...
Published 10 months ago by Tracy Hixon

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good guide, but not Fodor's best
Unlike other Fodor's guides, the Paris review includes no historical, cultural, or political context on the city and very little background on the individual sites. (Other books provide lots more background, e.g,., on the population, politics, economy.) The guide is helpful in highlighting the "must-do's" for a first-time visitor and provides some decent...
Published 11 months ago by Heidi Ramirez


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, January 22, 2014
By 
Tracy Hixon (Acworth, GA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fodor's Paris 2014 (Full-color Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I've used Fodors before so I was confident that this book would be helpful and it did not disappoint. It is organized very well, making it easy to find and plan activities, dining, etc. The laminated take out map with metro map is great for on the go. The book is small enough to easily pack, yet sturdy enough that it won't rip easily. I especially liked the cultural dos and don'ts information - that was especially great for our sons to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good guide, but not Fodor's best, December 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fodor's Paris 2014 (Full-color Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Unlike other Fodor's guides, the Paris review includes no historical, cultural, or political context on the city and very little background on the individual sites. (Other books provide lots more background, e.g,., on the population, politics, economy.) The guide is helpful in highlighting the "must-do's" for a first-time visitor and provides some decent itineraries, but is pretty predictable on this front with few surprises or original ideas. There are lots of detailed maps, but many are difficult to read and are had to fit together (given different points of orientation) in terms of getting an overall feel for the city. Another disappointment, site descriptions include street addresses, but not nearest metro stops. It's a useful book, but definitely not Fodor's best (e.g., Turkey).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a trip to Paris, September 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have this on my iPad and love it! It is a soup to nuts tour of Paris. It is a must have. I like the details on everything from the currency to making phone calls to the home country. It is full of places to go giving lots of details and maps. I'll be taking mine to Paris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to know about Paris!, January 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fodor's Paris 2014 (Full-color Travel Guide) (Paperback)
A very well organized, very thorough guide. Excellent tear off city map. Great suggestions and descriptions to make touring easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Guide with everything you need to know!, November 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fodor's Paris 2014 (Full-color Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Loved this Travel Guide! Stop looking at others now because this is the one you want! I carried it in my purse everywhere we went and consulted it constantly. It gives just the correct amount of information and everything is included! Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2014? very funny, April 28, 2014
By 
Don Herzog (Ann Arbor, MI) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fodor's Paris 2014 (Full-color Travel Guide) (Paperback)
The 2014 edition plugs a coffeehouse, Merce and the Muse, that closed for good in the summer of 2012. Tells you something about Fodor's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must buy to help decode Paris!, May 17, 2014
By 
Emma Peel "EP" (Bay Area California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fodor's Paris 2014 (Full-color Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Perfect size, useful reviews and the best map of Paris I've used! Even though I've lived in large cities, Paris is bigger, busier and more beautiful than one can realize without being here. Fodor is essential for an American in Paris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This version was a disappointment, June 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Up to this year I had bought Fodor's for every trip (including twice to Paris). I really liked it,

This version was a disappointment, Choice or Restaurants was too limited and for the first time I was in total disagreement with the author;s opinion. Directions were not helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Lots of typos, May 18, 2014
This review is from: Fodor's Paris 2014 (Full-color Travel Guide) (Paperback)
So many typos, omitted words, even on the map. Other than that, the info is useful, not too in-depth, I'm not looking for a history lesson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Errors in metro map, listing metro stops, May 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fodor's Paris 2014 (Full-color Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Usually I'm a big fan of Fodor's guides, but as I discovered on a recent trip the 2014 edition contains many errors. Notably, the metro map seems horribly outdated, and incorrect addresses and metro stops made the guide useless for taking out and about -- all the information needed to be double checked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fodor's Paris 2014 (Full-color Travel Guide)
Fodor's Paris 2014 (Full-color Travel Guide) by Fodor's (Paperback - August 27, 2013)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.