Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Food, Culture and Religion
Although this book includes recipes, it contains far more regarding food's role in their culture, lifestyle and religious beliefs. What Scripture forbade and why, sacrifices at the Temple, the agricultural year and its festivals, and other tangible ways that it played into their lives are all included here.

The book begins with a culinary history of the Bible,...
Published on June 23, 2008 by Emily Jamison

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Pictures...
I don't like to write critical reviews, but I will say I was a bit disappointed with this purchase. I did appreciate that it includes a lot of food, but I found a few things that aren't quite accurate and it doesn't give extra references to credit the statements. If your just looking for something to supplement bible reading I suppose it would be a good purchase. In my...
Published on November 15, 2011 by Cristina MaCoy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Food, Culture and Religion, June 23, 2008
This review is from: Food at the Time of the Bible. From Adam's Apple to the Last Supper (Paperback)
Although this book includes recipes, it contains far more regarding food's role in their culture, lifestyle and religious beliefs. What Scripture forbade and why, sacrifices at the Temple, the agricultural year and its festivals, and other tangible ways that it played into their lives are all included here.

The book begins with a culinary history of the Bible, a timeline and an explanation of dining customs in the `biblical' era, where biblical includes both the Old and New Testaments. It continues with fifty-plus pages on the various kinds of food, including the main crops: Grain and Bread, the Fruit of the Vine, Olives and Olive Oil, Other Fruits of the Good Land, Vegetables, Fish and Other Fruit of the Ancient Sea, Meat, Milk and Milk Products, Biblical Sweets, and Herbs and Spices.

Each section has subsections and pictures; for example, the section on fish includes `Fishing in the Sea of Galilee,' `Hook, Line and Sinker,' and `Fish Dishes,' as well as a recipe for St. Peter's fish. The section, which runs from page 57 to 60, contains color illustrations of anchors from Jesus' time, fish, a mosaic of a fisherman returning with his catch, a mosaic depicting an ancient boat, fishermen pulling a dragnet (Matthew 13:47), fishermen using a trammel net, an excavated boat from the Galilee, a mosaic depicting two fish and a loaf of bread, a carving of fishermen working on an Egyptian canal, a mosaic depicting fishermen from Jordan, modern-day fishermen on the Galilee, the fish market in Acre, and a modern-day fishing net in use.

Other sections have parallel sections and illustrations, and the book finishes with sections on `Keeping Food and Keeping it Fresh,' the Last Supper, `Biblical Weights and Their Equivalent in Our Terms,' `Biblical Recipes' (40+), and `How Much Did Food Cost?'

I have several books on food in the bible, and this is my favorite. You can see other alternatives on my ListMania for `Food in Jesus' Time.' Click `Emily Jamison' above, and scroll down to my ListMania section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Pictures..., November 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Food at the Time of the Bible. From Adam's Apple to the Last Supper (Paperback)
I don't like to write critical reviews, but I will say I was a bit disappointed with this purchase. I did appreciate that it includes a lot of food, but I found a few things that aren't quite accurate and it doesn't give extra references to credit the statements. If your just looking for something to supplement bible reading I suppose it would be a good purchase. In my case, I enjoy bible study and prefer for my research to be well grounded. The scriptural references are lacking also because it goes into a lot of detail about foods that aren't specifically mentioned in the bible, but that they knew would have been in the land. Personally, I was just looking for what IS mentioned in the bible and the references to go with it. It definately does have recipes too which would probably be great for children, but only imagining that certain things were available at that time. So, it's a good book for pleasure reading, not for deep study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of Vamosh's 'Food', August 25, 2010
This review is from: Food at the Time of the Bible. From Adam's Apple to the Last Supper (Paperback)
This is a great look at the different foods and dining practices in Ancient Israel. It presents many full color photos and illustrations, as well as direct passages from the Bible. The author aims to develop a clear understanding of how food was used in historical interview, and how these uses might have led to the symbolism used in Biblical writings. I noticed numerous typos, but the tone and content of the work are spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful resource, May 31, 2010
This review is from: Food at the Time of the Bible. From Adam's Apple to the Last Supper (Paperback)
A wonderful resource replete with fascinating information and tasty recipes.
--submitted by the co-author ofCooking with the Bible: Recipes for Biblical Meals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazed in the Kitchen, September 13, 2009
This review is from: Food at the Time of the Bible. From Adam's Apple to the Last Supper (Paperback)
I was excited to get this book and read through it. It is amazing to read about the details of the biblical foods and traditions. I don't know how factual it really is but have a better imagination of what it was like in bible times, trying to prepare food for family and guest. I loved reading through this book and will use it in my teen cooking classes. Look forward to doing a biblical cooking class using this book. I am just amazed in the kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good overview of Bible customs, January 17, 2011
By 
Debbie (Harrison, AR United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Food at the Time of the Bible. From Adam's Apple to the Last Supper (Paperback)
"Food at the Time of the Bible" is a Bible background book focusing on food and eating. It had nice full-color pictures and illustrations of the various foods, animals, and harvest & storage methods mentioned in the text. The author used the Bible, the Mishnah and Talmud (oral law), and archaeological findings to describe what people ate during Bible times (especially in Jesus' lifetime). There were 11 recipes in the text which used Bible verses to provide the ingredients while the author filled in the missing amounts. At the end of the book, there were an additional 36 recipes (from bread to sweets) also based on Bible or Mishnah cooking descriptions. They allow you to sample what the food was like back then.

The topics were covered with some detail--probably with as much detail as is available. Still, me being me, I would have liked to know even more. The topics covered were dining customs; grain & bread; grapes, wine, vinegar, & beer; olives & olive oil; fruits (dates, figs, pomegranates, carobs, citron, walnuts, almonds, peaches, apples, plums, apricots, & caper); vegetables; fish; (livestock) meat; milk, cheese, & other milk products; sweets (honey, etc.); herbs & spices; storing & preserving food; the last supper; and biblical measures & food costs.

The book was easy to read and interesting, and I would recommend it. However, I was disappointed that the author placed archeology (human interpretation) over the Bible. She used a timeline that went back past 6000 BC, said things like "some people say that humans didn't used to eat meat based on Genesis 1 & 2" like she thought humans have always eaten meat, and twice said that Jericho is "the world's oldest city."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, December 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Food at the Time of the Bible. From Adam's Apple to the Last Supper (Paperback)
I saw someone reading it on the plane on our return trip from Israel and really wanted it. Came home and found it on Amazon and ordered it immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Foods in Bible tIme, November 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Food at the Time of the Bible. From Adam's Apple to the Last Supper (Paperback)
I am studying the Foods of the bible with my bible study group and this book is just what i needed to understand how people ate. prepared their food and grew it and how it relates to the bible in Jesus's time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Food At the Time of the Bible, From Adam's Apple to the Last Supper., June 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Food at the Time of the Bible. From Adam's Apple to the Last Supper (Paperback)
This is written in an informal manner, very easy to read, as if the writer were a young person, appealing nicely to the young people curious about Bible background information. there were not as many pictures or illustrations as I expected, but it is still really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful stool for bible study, April 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Food at the Time of the Bible. From Adam's Apple to the Last Supper (Paperback)
This is a great reference guide to daily life during the time of the Old Testament. It is great to see how the different classes lived their daily lives. So often we think of the people as being totally different then we are today but with this guide we can see the similarities.

It is also a great tool when teaching children about the lives of the heros and heroines of the Bible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Food at the Time of the Bible. From Adam's Apple to the Last Supper
Food at the Time of the Bible. From Adam's Apple to the Last Supper by Miriam Feinberg Vamosh (Paperback - December 16, 2007)
$18.00 $15.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.