Automotive Deals HPCC Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 29, 2010
I work with the authors and had seen some outlines and early drafts, so I knew that the book was going to cover some interesting ground.

But I had a chance to read the book in more detail over the Thanksgiving break and was impressed with how it blends analysis of what's wrong with how we grow, sell, and eat food; with ideas for fixing these problems and stories about how people around the country (and world) are making progress towards food justice. The book is nicely organized following the cycle of food from seed to plate. It travels from the ultra-local (school gardens and neighborhood activism) to global trade.

I also like how 'food justice' bridges a gap between 'foodies'- people concerned with local food, slow food, organics etc who have usually been assumed to be primarily middle class folks with time and money to dedicate to figuring out where there food came from; and lower income people organizing for access to healthy food and for decent jobs in the food economy. The book opens with an account of youth in New Orleans and reminds us that farm workers were among the first to draw attention to the costs and benefits of the food system.

There are good books out there about healthy eating, about the problems associated with industrial agriculture and with fast food, and about a DIY/ grow-it-yourself local food perspective. Food Justice distinguishes itself by weaving these threads together and by reminding us that those with the least often do the most to ensure good food for all.

you can check out the authors' book blog at [...] for some tastes of what's in the book
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2011
This book manages to explain very eloquently what events have led us to experience our current food system issues in a very logical and interesting way. It outlines the many interrelated aspects involved in the system and clearly shows that there is not one simple "fix"for the currently dysfunctional and unjust system. The good news is, that this book also makes clear that it is in fact possible for us to change this situation, through public awareness and action. I highly recommend this book!

Julia Govis
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2013
I needed the book for a class, it came on time though as described and has been a good read thus far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2015
Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2015
Excellent book, but if you are looking at this as a reference for classwork, be aware that the Kindle version DOES NOT have real page numbers, making it very difficult to cite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2015
Food Justice provokes individuals to think critically about the issues surrounding the current food system in our nation and abroad. The author’s successfully present the information necessary for readers to understand the basic principles of connecting social justice and the food system. Furthermore, the book challenges readers to evaluate the research material and offers opportunities to join the social movement. Revealing this information transforms thought on the ways food should be grown, produced, and distributed to communities. Readers gain insight into the varying groups of people from a numerous disciplines actively engaging in transforming our food systems. In this book, the authors shock readers with how the injustices of the food system have managed to permeate so many layers of our society throughout history and in modern day. The information and strategies presented in the book acknowledge and expose flaws while additionally offering hope to individuals seeking revolutionary change.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2014
Some kick-ass info in this book. Very clear on what food justice is all about. Talks on a wide range of issues all around food.people will realize how food is at the center of society
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2013
You know that most of the reading would be common sense. However, it is worth the read. I learned a lot from it and highly recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
An exercise plan and 'personal responsibility' sound great in theory. Both play very nicely into the self-reliant American which our society feverently promotes:"It is entirely a citizen's fault they are unhealthy". But the much more complex reality is exposed in this book.

No matter how small portions were eaten or how much the citizen exercises, if they do lack access to adequate grocery stores in their immediate neighborhoods, diet--and physical health are then impacted by type of food which was consumed. Compared to somebody with access to a full-scale grocery, the person living in a 'food desert' and without easy/quick access to fresh vegetables/fruit has a lower daily vitamin intake. They also get sick much more.

Society should not act 'surprised' when people simply do make the best with the fast foods and convenience stores/small grocers left in the immediate surroundings. People are not/cannot necessarily travel long distances to the fully-stocked grocery store, when it is outside of their local neighborhood. Time and then lack of access to private transportation can impact this mobility to the better-stocked stores. Or that the ultimate cost for this resource disparity is hypertension, diabetes...and a whole bunch of other chronic health conditions. People are not inanimate objects. Geographic and economic disparity ultimately impact health and life span. We are merely seeing the consequences of bad public planning.

The book would be good for a nutrition class. Or a government/public policy class especially focused on municipal planning and racial-economic justice issues. But I'd recommend that businesses and public officials outside of the academic world read it. Bringing full-scale grocery stores into all parts of a city is important. As is adequately stocking the shelves with fresh and nutritious foods.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2012
This review applies only to the Kindle edition of this book. I've never encountered this in a kindle book before, but the words in the Kindle edition are spaced very far apart, making the text difficult to read when viewed on an iPhone. It's ok when viewed in the Kindle Mac app on a computer, and I can't speak to how it looks on a Kindle device because I don't own one, but if you are planning to read this book on an iPhone, be warned that it will be very hard on the eyes.

This is not a review of the content of the book because, well, I'm haven't gotten very far since it is so uncomfortable to read. I'm not a fan of reviews that don't cover the content of a book, so sorry about that, but I do appreciate when people warn about poorly formatted editions -- and that is certainly a problem here.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse