Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful for GAPS recipes!
I used to buy the Bob's Red Mill Almond Meal/Flour, 16-Ounce Packages (Pack of 4) and I am SO glad I discovered the NOW almond flour. The Bob's almond meal works, but I didn't really care for the flavor or the texture--I just thought I needed to learn to like them.

This NOW Foods almond flour is so much better! The Bob's almond meal is kind of gritty...so I...
Published on August 11, 2012 by E. Kerby

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a fan for baking
I think it's important to note that this flour is unblanched. Most baking recipes (cookies, cakes, etc) that call for almond flour typically refer to blanched almond flour, which is finer and less dense. This is perfect for breading chicken, but all of my baked goods came out flat. I was really hoping it would do the trick for my baking, but I guess that's why it's so...
Published 23 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful for GAPS recipes!, August 11, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NOW Foods Almond Flour Pure , 10 Ounce Bags (Pack of 4) (Grocery)
I used to buy the Bob's Red Mill Almond Meal/Flour, 16-Ounce Packages (Pack of 4) and I am SO glad I discovered the NOW almond flour. The Bob's almond meal works, but I didn't really care for the flavor or the texture--I just thought I needed to learn to like them.

This NOW Foods almond flour is so much better! The Bob's almond meal is kind of gritty...so I just thought that when you grind almonds, that's the best you can hope for. Not true! This NOW Foods almond flour is soft. Bob's also has a distinct flavor to it...when I made GAPS banana bread, the recipe calls for 3 cups of almond flour, and I used to substitute 2 cups of coconut flour, because I didn't like the result with 3 cups of Bob's almond flour. With the NOW Foods almond flour, I PREFER it with only almond flour.

If you're doing GAPS, it's kind of tough because you can't have grains. Almond flour is one of the ingredients that makes it possible to have "normal" food while on GAPS. My other favorite ingredients that make GAPS food taste like normal food are coconut flour and date sugar.

Anyhow, this is EXCELLENT stuff! If you've tried Bob's and didn't really care for it, definitely order this and see if you like it better. As a bonus, the NOW Foods almond flour is slightly cheaper than Bob's, and the packages have actually been updated, so it looks more modern than the picture that is on the Amazon page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the Texture, November 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NOW Foods Almond Flour Pure , 10 Ounce Bags (Pack of 4) (Grocery)
First time I used almond flour in cookie recipes. Its a low carb, healthier alternative for my diabetic dad who loves cookies. We just loved the texture and taste. Will definitely buy more!
This is a staple in my frig...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful texture and taste. Plus a recipe., November 11, 2011
By 
nonpareil (rural New England, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: NOW Foods Almond Flour Pure , 10 Ounce Bags (Pack of 4) (Grocery)
This almond flour totally MADE my new Danish rice pudding recipe!

(Adaptation from Risalamande or Ris a la mande, a traditional Danish holiday rice dessert.) Heat 2 cups water (or skim milk for better taste but more difficulty with sticking to pan), add 3 tablespoons tapioca, 1/2 cup rice, 1/3 cup raisins, 1/2 cup confectioners sugar, 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice, a dash of salt, stir frequently while bringing to gentle boil. Reduce heat to barely a simmer, cook for 45 minutes or until rice is completely tender. Remove from heat and fold in 1/2 cup almond flour. OK to serve with cream or whipped cream but without is lower calorie.

Well, it's still a work-in-progress. I tasted the pudding prior to installation of the NOW Foods Almond Flour and it was sort of blah. Then after stirring in the almond flour and !YES! - it gained an absolutely wonderful nutty flavor. The traditional recipe calls for almond slivers but that isn't what I wanted. This is. BTW the traditional recipe also calls for a fruit sauce topping, usually cherry. But I'm working on higher protein, lower carbohydrate diet.

I keep this almond flour in the fridge because I know that nuts with their high oil content can go rancid. Please note this shipment of flour tastes really fresh. I'm happy to report that it is dated "Best by 9/11/12". Plenty of time to enjoy its nuttiness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a fan for baking, January 7, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Framingham, MA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NOW Foods Almond Flour Pure , 10 Ounce Bags (Pack of 4) (Grocery)
I think it's important to note that this flour is unblanched. Most baking recipes (cookies, cakes, etc) that call for almond flour typically refer to blanched almond flour, which is finer and less dense. This is perfect for breading chicken, but all of my baked goods came out flat. I was really hoping it would do the trick for my baking, but I guess that's why it's so inexpensive (compared to other nut flours)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOW Almond Flour, July 6, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NOW Foods Almond Flour Pure , 10 Ounce Bags (Pack of 4) (Grocery)
NOW Almond Flour beats the other guys on both freshness and price.

Used in conjuction with other flours for baking you get a moist but not heavy texture. Used alone when baking vegetable muffins and small vegetable loaves is a great treat.

Great alternative for those with celiac disease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, November 1, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NOW Foods Almond Flour Pure , 10 Ounce Bags (Pack of 4) (Grocery)
I really loved this for baking. I put it in cookies a lot to replace the chopped nuts. I also have rolled cookies in the almond flour before baking. I use it in place of some of the flour called for in quick breads. Very good! I plan on using it in pie crusts and bear claw filling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not sure about this, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NOW Foods Almond Flour Pure , 10 Ounce Bags (Pack of 4) (Grocery)
I like this brand of almond flour and the resealable bag, I have used it in the past. But this time I opened a bag and it had bugs in it. YUCK!! Now I know flours can have this, it could have had a small hole in the bag and somewhere along the line got the bugs in it. I only found the bugs in one of the 4 bags....but it was still gross!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learning to like it, June 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NOW Foods Almond Flour Pure , 10 Ounce Bags (Pack of 4) (Grocery)
Tried this to replace part of the low carb flour I'd been using. Wanted to add some flavor and this has good flavor. Still learning how to use this effectively but I would probably get the blanched version (nut skins removed) next time for use as a flour replacement. Fine otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great flour to add to Waffles, August 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NOW Foods Almond Flour Pure , 10 Ounce Bags (Pack of 4) (Grocery)
I make waffles with about 1/4 of the mix being this flour and they taste great & are healthy (with grapeseed oil).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almond Flour As A Substitue for Whole Wheat Flour, August 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NOW Foods Almond Flour Pure , 10 Ounce Bags (Pack of 4) (Grocery)
I've started to use Almond Flour instead of Whole Wheat Flour because of a book I am reading. Bakery item's are more dense not light like when you use regular flours but taste good and are healthier for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.