Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Men's Hightops Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Iron Maiden UP3 $5 Off Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Shop Popular Services hog hog hog  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation STEM Toys & Games
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).
Other Sellers on Amazon
Buy New
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: OxfordshireEngland
Seller Rating: (72365)
Add to Cart
Buy New
+ $3.99 shipping
Buy New
+ $3.99 shipping
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Fool Around
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Fool Around Extra tracks, Import, Original recording remastered

2 customer reviews

See all 16 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Extra tracks, Import, February 20, 2007
$8.92 $122.44
"Please retry"
$11.39 $4.99

Editorial Reviews

In 1978, during one of his many visits to the US, Stiff founder Dave Robinson met producer/writer Liam Sternberg who introduced him to the thriving alternative music scene in Akron Ohio. Stiff consequently released an Akron compilation (featuring a scratch 'n' sniff sleeve - with the smell of tires, naturally) featuring left-field acts such as The Waitresses, Jane Aire, The Bizarros. The album also featured 16 year-old R&B belter Rachel who impressed Robinson enough to sign her to a long term deal. Fool Around was her debut, a pumping album of good-time country/R&B/new wave - listen to the singing and eat your heart out Joss Stone! This re-release has been digitally remastered and includes four bonus tracks and new sleeve notes. 16 tracks including 'B.A.B.Y.', 'Who Does Lisa Like?' and 'I Go To Pieces'. Stiff. 2007.

1. Just My Style
2. B.A.B.Y.
3. Who Does Lisa Like?
4. Wildwood Saloon
5. Stay Awhile
6. Suspended Animation
7. It’S So Different Here
8. Cuckoo Clock
9. Pin A Medal On Mary
10. Girl With A Synthesizer
11. Stranger In The House
12. I Go To Pieces (Bonus Track)
13. Sad Song (Bonus Track)
14. Truckstop Queen (Bonus Track)
15. Tourist Boys (Bonus Track)
16. Be Stiff (Bonus Track)

Product Details

  • Audio CD (February 20, 2007)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Extra tracks, Import, Original recording remastered
  • Label: Ztt
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #547,457 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Cen (of Barbi & Cen) on May 26, 2007
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
i thought when i saw her on early comedy central, i'd see her forever... and then poof!

a lost treasure. willy deville mixed with brenda lee. had some comps, but this has "truckstop queen"=whowah! nobody has dared to cover this unsung (no pun intended) classic. and "tourist boys". both i've waited for these agonizing 30 long years. "it's so different here" is another amazing unawakened classic that's been previously issued... but there's more, much, much more. where are you rachel when we need you?
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Larry R. Watts Jr. on June 10, 2007
Format: Audio CD
She wasn't yet old enough to drive but she delivered the goods on this, her debut album. From juke joint ballads to new wave oddities, producer Liam Sternberg provided finely crafted productions to bring out the best that the fifteen year old could offer. Re-workings of Carla Thomas' "B-A-B-Y" and Del Shannon's "I Go To Pieces" are updated beautifully and originals like the chatty "Who Does Lisa Like" and enigmatic "It's So Different Here" are great lost pop records. "Wildwood Saloon" is wonderful truckstop country with a hard edge while the cover of Elvis Costello's "Stranger In The House" is the album's one mis-fire, the singer being simply too young to be convincing. "Cuckoo Clock" and "Girl With a Synthesizer" did not age well but were perfect for the tale end of the seventies. All in all, a great jewel in the odd little crown that was Stiff Records.

The 2006 re-issue sounds better than the 90's era Rhino edition but the latter's inclusion of tracks from "Protect The Innocent", the delightful theme from "Hairspray", and the ghastly Rex Smith duet, "Everlasting Love", keep it essential for Rachel Sweet collectors. This new re-issue includes the otherwise unavailable on cd "Truckstop Queen" and "Tourist Boys".

Now, when will "Protect The Innocent" get the same respectful digital treatment?
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?