Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too
Troy White may seem like any ordinary 12-year-old. He listens to his mom, doesn't steal or sneak out (well, maybe just once) and he's a pretty good athlete. Troy and his mother have each other to survive; they aren't rich or poor but are happy together.

But the one thing that separates Troy from every other 12-year-old is his ability to predict what could...
Published on July 4, 2007 by TeensReadToo

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars He could-go-all-the-way--Not Quite
Tim Green has written some compelling adult fiction. Trying his hand at mid-grade I expected interesting characters and a compelling storyline. He delivered on both. Troy, Tate, and Nathan are the main kids in the story with Tate stealing the shop. Troy has esp-like ability to predict defensive plays based on patterns of calls. He can do this for any level game. He's also...
Published on September 23, 2008 by John McCarthy


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, July 4, 2007
This review is from: Football Genius (Hardcover)
Troy White may seem like any ordinary 12-year-old. He listens to his mom, doesn't steal or sneak out (well, maybe just once) and he's a pretty good athlete. Troy and his mother have each other to survive; they aren't rich or poor but are happy together.

But the one thing that separates Troy from every other 12-year-old is his ability to predict what could happen next. He can't predict what he might get on his next exam at school or what will happen to him in the next ten years, though. Instead, Troy can predict football plays before they even happen. Sounds cool, right? But what good is it if Troy can hardly use this gift?

Then Troy's mom gets a job with his favorite team, the Atlanta Falcons, who aren't doing so well and have been basically losing all of the time. This seems like the perfect chance for Troy to help them out, and maybe they could finally win a game. But would the Falcons jump at the chance and actually believe that a young boy can predict plays, or would they just look at Troy as some crazy fan? With the help of Tate and Nathan, Troy's best friends, Troy might actually pull this off and maybe even learn a little more about his talents, other than his supernatural one.

FOOTBALL GENIUS is a story that both football lovers and non-football fans will enjoy along with any person of any age. Tim Green uses cinematic descriptions that let readers feel that they are experiencing and present at the actual games. As a person who is not a big fan of the sport, I thoroughly enjoyed this novel.

Reviewed by: Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for a classroom!, November 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Some children's novels are so good and multilayered that adults can enjoy them as literature. "Football Genius" isn't one of those. It's predictable, unrealistic and has a simple plot.
BUT...
What "Football Genius" is, however is a very good book for elementary kids. There isn't a lot of depth here, no 'grappling with timely issues', no huge revelation or coming of age. And that's okay! "Football Genius" is an easy-to-understand, moral, fairly exciting (on a youth level) novel for children.

When I taught school, I was always excited to find a new "chapter book" appropriate for the classroom. This would be one I heartily recommend. There is no cursing, no one in danger, nothing dealing with sexuality or other areas that might concern parents. There are lessons for its readers to learn. Lessons about telling the truth, stealing and loyalty--not couched in symbolism, but spoken directly.

The crux of Green's novel is a boy's ability to "read" football plays, almost as an extraordinary "gift" (Troy, the hero of the book, describes it "like ESP!"). Boys,particularly, in elementary would enjoy the football aspects of the book.

No, "Football Genius" isn't great literature and it's not on my 'favorite YA novel list'...but it's a great book for boys and girls 3rd grade and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars He could-go-all-the-way--Not Quite, September 23, 2008
This review is from: Football Genius (Paperback)
Tim Green has written some compelling adult fiction. Trying his hand at mid-grade I expected interesting characters and a compelling storyline. He delivered on both. Troy, Tate, and Nathan are the main kids in the story with Tate stealing the shop. Troy has esp-like ability to predict defensive plays based on patterns of calls. He can do this for any level game. He's also a gifted quarterback who rides the bench of his team because the coach's son is the starter, and a bad one at that.

These great storylines are great. Unfortunately, the story never seems completely told as promised. Instead, the book revolves around whether Troy can convince the Atlanta Falcons of his gift, and what he offers. As for playing for his own team, the resolution cheats the reader by having the results occur off stage.

The book is full of inside information about the workings of an NFL team that any sports fan will enjoy. The characters make the book worth reading, just adjust expectation to focusing on the relationships among the friends, and between Troy's mother and Seth, the Atlanta Falcon's middle linebacker--not how Troy's gift might influence the Falcon's chances for a superbowl or his chance for leading his own team to victory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Football Genius, October 19, 2007
This review is from: Football Genius (Hardcover)
This is book for football lovers captures the imagination of the reader by combining reality with fantasy; it is written by a former football player. Even reluctant readers immerse themselves in the story, particularly boys age 9-12.
The main character, who loves football, has extraordinary powers. The author created a wholesome high interest, controlled vocabulary story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Try your non-readers on these books, September 17, 2014
By 
I am an aide at a Middle School. A teacher and I have gotten 2 boys who play football and who said they did not like to read, begging to read this book with me. Last period class on Wednesdays is reading day and I take the two of them to the library and read it out loud. One of the boys has already gotten several chapters ahead of the other boy, me and the teacher. We are going to catch up tonight. Now we can use the reading together as a reward for good behavior. Who would think you could do this with non-readers!

I am a 72 year old grandma and read this book with a grandson years ago, he is now a junior in high school. The first night we read together and then after he went to sleep, I took it to bed and finished it. I had to keep it a secret as he forbade me to read ahead. I enjoyed the story very much even though the football stuff was Greek to me.

Because of the football plays and references to football stars, positions, scoring, and other stuff, this is a great book to get kids who play football reading. I hope to read another one with them and can't wait to find out how they do on the AR reading test over the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best In a Long Time..., September 7, 2007
By 
This review is from: Football Genius (Hardcover)
This is the best football novel for young readers in a generation.

Troy White is a back-up quarterback on his youth league team; the coach's son starts. He and his single Mom live in rural southern poverty, and troy listens to train whistles in the night.

But Troy has a gift -- he knows what football plays teams will run next. Any teams -- kids league, college, pro. Troy's a genius who can predict what the offence will do.

So when his Mom gets a job in the publicity department of the Atlanta Falcons, Troy suddenly has the chance to get into the big time. But will anybody believe a mere kid? Even if he can convince the Falcons All-Pro linebacker, will the coaches and the team believe him?

A former Atlanta Falcon, author Tim Green gives a behind the scenes look into the real world of pro football. The relationships between Troy, his young friends, and enemies are true to life, and the southern atmosphere authentic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Football Genius (Paperback)
i like the book but it took almost a month to be send
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i can relate to this, July 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book i can really relate to because I've always been second string but this book has really inspired. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great for teenage boys, May 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Football Genius (Paperback)
my 13 year old came home with the last book in the series and he loved and actually read the whole book I bought him the whole series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read!!, April 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Our 4th grader read this book in no time! (And he's not a big reader) It kept him and all of us waiting to see what happens next. Without a doubt, I highly recommend this book to any boy 4th grade or higher, very entertaining and captivating especially if you like football.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Football Genius
Football Genius by Tim Green (Paperback - April 22, 2008)
$6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.