Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Book!!!
This is a must have for the serious fan! Once I picked it up I read it until my eyes bled. Very well thought out statistical analysis of myriad categories related to almost everything you could measure in football. This book will not leave my side for the next 6 months. I may need to take tomorrow off to read further. Sorry for the lack of specifics, but you could...
Published 14 months ago by Brian

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Long, Complicated, Not Well Written
I bought a number of previews for the 2013 NFL season, and this I thought was my least favorite. Don't be fooled by all the good reviews.... On the plus side, the book will often present a number of good insights into teams, in their club essays. But the latter are often much too long, meander, or most disturbingly, seem to focus far too excessively on one point or...
Published 13 months ago by J. G. Lewis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Book!!!, August 8, 2013
This review is from: Football Outsiders Almanac 2013: The Essential Guide to the 2013 NFL and College Football Seasons (Paperback)
This is a must have for the serious fan! Once I picked it up I read it until my eyes bled. Very well thought out statistical analysis of myriad categories related to almost everything you could measure in football. This book will not leave my side for the next 6 months. I may need to take tomorrow off to read further. Sorry for the lack of specifics, but you could almost encompass it by saying "everything" is covered. 36 pages of explanation (which is required as it is complex) and 460 pages of review of NFL teams/players and a limited synopsis of the college game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, not great, August 30, 2013
By 
kopfy (Southern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Football Outsiders Almanac 2013: The Essential Guide to the 2013 NFL and College Football Seasons (Paperback)
I am a huge fan of Football Outsiders. What I liked about them in the past was their bold predictions. They predicted Shaun Alexander would hit a brick wall and this was right after he had a splendid season. There were other predictions they made and many came out.

Now they do not seem to give too many predictions on players or teams... they have vanilla-ized it. A lot of the reading gets repetitive.

It is still a worthy book but not as good the past couple of years as it was previously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still a really good book, February 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Football Outsiders Almanac 2013: The Essential Guide to the 2013 NFL and College Football Seasons (Paperback)
I have bought Football Outsiders huge book every year since about 2008, and I will continue to do so. Their predictions for fantasy players are as good as any experts, I always get a few gems from them. This book contains a ton of info, you can read it for a month and still get good stuff from it. I would absolutely recommend Aaron and his staffs work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Cool, October 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Football Outsiders Almanac 2013: The Essential Guide to the 2013 NFL and College Football Seasons (Paperback)
This book reads well and has so much stuff in it. I'm still reading it. A good buy for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sabermetrics meets the NFL, October 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Football Outsiders Almanac 2013: The Essential Guide to the 2013 NFL and College Football Seasons (Paperback)
Thorough and comprehensive as always. You won't find a better explanation of what it takes to win in the NFL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Football Comprehensive...American Style, September 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Football Outsiders Almanac 2013: The Essential Guide to the 2013 NFL and College Football Seasons (Paperback)
maybe the best book ever written about football.Especially liked the college section. Writting was also creative and kept my attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best resource for Fantasy Football players., September 9, 2013
By 
Andrew J. Hagen "HeyCheeze" (Shawnee, KS United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Football Outsiders Almanac 2013: The Essential Guide to the 2013 NFL and College Football Seasons (Paperback)
The only source I have found that predicts performance instead of solely looking at last year's stats. I buy it every year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Continually raising the bar on football analysis, September 8, 2013
By 
Toddster64 (Marin County, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Football Outsiders Almanac 2013: The Essential Guide to the 2013 NFL and College Football Seasons (Paperback)
Football Outsiders provides leading-edge pro and college football analysis, and their published almanacs continually get better as a result of fine-tuning their formulae. The team chapters are a great read, and the player breakdowns are amazing - you'll deep-dive with more acuity about actual and predicted performance in this journal vs. other publications, and the writing is pithy and focused without settling for drama to replace the analysis. Excellent publication and a fun, informative read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Yearly Football Publication In Print, September 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Football Outsiders Almanac 2013: The Essential Guide to the 2013 NFL and College Football Seasons (Paperback)
Football Outsiders routinely produce the best guide to the NFL year in and year out. This book is a must-have for fans, fantasy football players and office pool entrants(read:gamblers). Not only is the book a great resource, the website from whence it sprang provides week by week updates of team and player metrics. In my opinion this is the best source of advanced football metrics, hands down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, September 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Football Outsiders Almanac 2013: The Essential Guide to the 2013 NFL and College Football Seasons (Paperback)
I read it every year. Also my favorite football website. Comedy mixed with great insight. Lots of information without being too dense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Football Outsiders Almanac 2013: The Essential Guide to the 2013 NFL and College Football Seasons
$22.95 $18.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.