Customer Reviews


386 Reviews
5 star:
 (260)
4 star:
 (78)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


98 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic
I saw this movie in the theatre on opening night. I still enjoy watching it. The acting in this movie is great, and the storyline is top notch as well. I think the movie represents the attitudes in small town America as they were. I know of many cases in real life that were a lot like this plot, but in real life the protagonists faired worse than Kevin Bacon. I have heard...
Published on July 29, 2001 by Jason Williams

versus
53 of 64 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DISMAL IMAGE QUALITY NEEDS TO BE "CUT LOOSE"!
Herbert Ross' "Footloose" is one of those feel good flicks from the 80s that has dated at about twice the rate of most films from other decades. Its story is based in fact: that of a town ordinance that banned any form of public dancing. When Ren McCormack (Kevin Bacon) arrives with his family he can barely contain his distemper over the outdated law. He's young,...
Published on September 26, 2004 by Nix Pix


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

98 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, July 29, 2001
By 
Jason Williams (Nixa, Missouri United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Footloose [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I saw this movie in the theatre on opening night. I still enjoy watching it. The acting in this movie is great, and the storyline is top notch as well. I think the movie represents the attitudes in small town America as they were. I know of many cases in real life that were a lot like this plot, but in real life the protagonists faired worse than Kevin Bacon. I have heard a lot of bad reviews about this movie from people who watch it today. Mostly because it is a "white" film with almost no racial diversity considering the subject matter. Well, you have to look at the social and cultural context in which the film was made to begin with. I happened to live in a small colorado town during my teen years and HELLO we only had 1 black family in the town. That was reality, as it was in many small towns. And as for the music, mind you, this was about 4 years before the forthcoming of the rudimentary forms of rap and hip hop. Micheal Jackson had more white fans than black, and most blacks listened to rock and roll. You cannot judge this film by modern standards and do it justice. I think that if you keep an open mind you will enjoy this film a great deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best film ever made!, May 11, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Footloose [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I loved footloose in the 80's and I still love it now! It is definitely a classic, along with Top Gun. This movie will always be one of the best - Kevin Bacon was wonderful! The soundtrack is great, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 64 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DISMAL IMAGE QUALITY NEEDS TO BE "CUT LOOSE"!, September 26, 2004
By 
Nix Pix (Windsor, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Herbert Ross' "Footloose" is one of those feel good flicks from the 80s that has dated at about twice the rate of most films from other decades. Its story is based in fact: that of a town ordinance that banned any form of public dancing. When Ren McCormack (Kevin Bacon) arrives with his family he can barely contain his distemper over the outdated law. He's young, rebellious and full of energy that just needs to be expressed. Together with the rest of the town's high school brethren, Ren resolves to challenge the law and its most ardent supporter, Rev. Shaw Moore - who lost his only son after a night of drunken abandonment and a fatal car accident and thereafter blamed rock music for everything. Moore's daughter Ariel (Lori Singer) is behind Ren's move to ditch the law. Actually, she's the model of good girl/bad girl, staying out late, smoking and making out with her studly boyfriend. The film also co-stars Chris Penn as Willard, a clutsy cowboy who becomes a high steppin' catch after Red teaches him all the right moves. And somewhere in this little trifle you'll find Sarah Jessica Parker as Rusty, another high school senior in desperate need of a better hairdo and a lot less lipstick.

Before you pull out you're wallet and cut loose you may want to consider that Paramount's new Special Edition of "Footloose" offers NO improvement over the previously issued DVD. The transfers are identical in their image and sound quality and a complete and thorough disappointment to watch. An incredible amount of film grain plagues many of the opening scenes. There's also more than ample digital grit and aliasing and edge enhancement problems to go around. Age related artifacts crop up everywhere and are distracting. Colors are muted and, at times, extremely muddy and dated. Black levels are never black but a tonal mess of brown and gray. Really, there's nothing to get excited about here. Extras include a three part documentary (it's beyond me why Paramount continues to take one documentary and chop it into three short featurettes that can't be simultaneously played) that includes interviews with the cast and crew and the film's theatrical trailer. Truthfully, though, this is not an outstanding or even ample effort for the folks on the mountain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An 80's Classic!, August 9, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Footloose [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I love this movie. The music is great, and it captures an innocent teenage love story. Kevin Bacon and Lori Singer are both terrific. The dancing is wonderful. Although the story is a bit unrealistic and cheesy at times, it's still a great movie. In an age where every teenage movie is either violent or sex-saturated, this is a refreshing change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keven Bacon did it again, October 15, 1999
This review is from: Footloose [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie does not leave anything to be desired. This movie will want to make you get up off the couch and DANCE. It is imposible to stand still while listening to this movie. It is exciting, brilliant and make you wish you were back in those good old days. Keven Bacon did it again with this awsome drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KEVIN BACON, November 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Loved this MOVIE!! I liked the new version, but no one does that part like KEVIN BACON did it....just saying!! And the blu-ray version is GREAT LOOKING!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who could resist this movie?, May 18, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Footloose [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie always has a way of cheering me up. Not only is Kevin Bacon endearing and charming, but the movie itself is excellent and inspiring. Maybe I'm cheesy, but I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great and entertaining film......., February 18, 2007
This film is an example of early-1980s films at their best. FOOTLOOSE stars a young Kevin Bacon as Ren McCormick, a teenager from Chicago, who relocates to a small, bible thumping town with his mother, when his father walks out on the family. This is a town where rock and roll and dancing are illegal--a law enforced by the local reverand (John Lithgow). Ren is determined to challenge this law, and bring dance back to the community. He gets some help from Willard (Chris Penn) and the reverand's rebellious teenage daughter, Ariel (Lori Singer).

Yes, people, this really is an example of when 1980s films (and dance movies, for that matter) go refreshingly right. Kevin Bacon is simply exhuberant and glowing as Ren. The best sequences are when we see Kevin cut loose and dance up a storm. One of the greatest scenes that lingers in my mind (and the minds of many) is when Ren teaches Willard how dance to "Let's Hear It For the Boy" by Deniece Williams (one of the catchiest and most joyous dance songs from that time). The cast is great here, and it's really a trip to see the (usually) comedic John Lithgow play straight man, as the buttoned down preacher. This film truly sucks you in from the opening credits with shots of dancing feet (yes, feet in flashy 1980s pumps, ratty old sneakers and someone wearing leg warmers) and doesn't let go until the final dance number at the end. A lot of fun.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rock To Footloose ., May 22, 2007
By 
Brent Hilton (Layton, Utah USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Hey i just love this film footloose brings me back to those carefree days i had as youth. i just dug the story about an outsider from a big city shaking things up in a small town but for a good reason. not being allowed to dance come on! it's part of our culture so i found that law in the film a little silly and thought it was just made up for the film until i saw the bonus stuff on this disc recently. the film hasn't aged that much other than some of the fashions being what they were in 1984 and they're were artifacts left. but nothing that would take away from the enjoyment of watching the movie, but what i like most about it was the music, the classic tracks that i heard and did'nt realize they were in the film until i viewed it again. the reason why i gave it four stars is the fact that top gun special edition came with the music videos from the film, that would've been nice to see the music videos from this film on here but oh well, can't win e'm all.

This Film Was shot In Utah. Lehi , American Fork and few other places.
The Mill still stands but is surrounded by resturants and gas stations , once there was nothing there but the mill and few houses and school, oh how times have changed.

When I see the Mill it brings back some fond memories, May It always stand.

PG For language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this movie!!!, October 1, 2011
SO excited that this movie came out on blu ray!! This classic movie looks amazing in HD!!! Get it!! Get it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Footloose (Deluxe Edition)
Footloose (Deluxe Edition) by Herbert Ross (DVD - 2011)
$14.98 $7.01
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.