Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Qty:1
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Usually ships within 1 to 4 months.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Footsteps on the Shore (A... has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Book is in like new condition except for a "withdrawn" stamp on front flyleaf and a rough patch on inside of back cover from something being removed.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Footsteps on the Shore (An Andy Horton Marine Mystery) Hardcover – May 1, 2011

4 out of 5 stars 5 customer reviews

See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$28.95
$28.95 $0.01

Top 20 lists in Books
Top 20 lists in Books
View the top 20 best sellers of all time, the most reviewed books of all time and some of our editors' favorite picks. Learn more
$28.95 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Usually ships within 1 to 4 months. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.


Editorial Reviews

Review

"This police procedural reminded me of the mysteries by R.D. Wingfield, creator of Jack Frost...a very  enjoyable read." Eurocrime

"Footsteps on the Shore, is a detective novel in the tradition of Rankin and Harvey. Like Rebus, Rowson's DI Andy Horton, if not a loose cannon, is a detective who does not always work within the rules. As with all Rowson's novels the ending is dramatic and deeply menacing. If you are a fan of traditional detective fiction in a vivid setting that makes you believe that you are there, you will love this one."  James Morley, Mystery People Magazine.

Detective Inspector Andy Horton, the star of several British police procedurals, returns for another investigation. It begins with the disappearance of Luke Felton, a convicted murderer who was recently paroled. Andy barely starts looking for Felton when a body turns up in Portsmouth Harbour--identification is going to be tricky, but it could be Felton's. Then more bodies appear, including that of a local resident from whom Andy was planning to buy a boat. Is Luke Felton dead, or is he at large, committing more murders? Rowson's earlier novels in the Horton series were all satisfactory, but she clearly has stepped up several notches with this outstanding entry. It deserves mention in the same breath as works in the upper echelon of both American procedurals (those by McBain or Joseph Wambaugh, for example) and their British counterparts, including the work of Peter Robinson and John Harvey. Andy Horton is an especially good series hero, a likable fellow with plenty of street smarts and the requisite personal baggage--an abrasive supervisor and an antagonistic soon-to-be ex-wife (like Harvey's Frank Elder). Procedural fans who haven't already read Rowson should be encouraged to do so in the strongest possible terms. --Booklist Starred Review, May 1, 2011

Book Description

A Detective Inspector Andy Horton Mystery --This text refers to an alternate Hardcover edition.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Product Details

  • Series: An Andy Horton Marine Mystery (Book 6)
  • Hardcover: 224 pages
  • Publisher: Severn House Publishers (May 1, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0727880071
  • ISBN-13: 978-0727880079
  • Product Dimensions: 5.7 x 0.9 x 8.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 12.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #4,098,390 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

British crime writer, Pauline Rowson, author of the DI Andy Horton crime series, has been hailed as "redefining the genre of the police drama" by setting it against the atmospheric backdrop of the ever changing sea. Her cops are tough yet fallible. The DI Andy Horton series of crime novels and her new crime series introducing former marine commando, Art Marvik, are packed with "compelling crimes", "fast-paced" and "full of twists and turns" played out against the dramatic and powerfully evocative British marine landscape of the South Coast of England. She is also author of two stand alone crime thriller novels.

"Deserves mention in the same breath as works in the upper echelon of American procedurals (those by Ed McBain or Joseph Wambaugh for example) and their British counterparts, including the work of Peter Robinson and John Harvey." Booklist

'Like Rebus, Rowson's DI Andy Horton is a detective who does not always work within the rules. As with all Rowson's novels the ending is dramatic and deeply menacing. If you are a fan of traditional detective fiction in a vivid setting that makes you believe that you are there, you will love this one.' Mystery People Magazine

'Like Ed McBain, Rowson works many subtle variations on the procedural formula (including very interesting relationships between Andy and a couple of his superiors). A definite winner in the crowded field of British procedurals.' Booklist

Pauline Rowson is also the author of several marketing and motivational books and an entertaining and inspirational speaker. Visit her website at www.rowmark.co.uk. You can also follow her on Twitter and, Facebook and Goodreads.

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
The overall rating is 3. I thought that the narrator did an OK Job at 3 but I wasn't engaged by the story so it got a 2 1/2.

This is the first book by Rowson I have read and the 6th in the series. Her continuing character is DI Andy Horton and this story is set in the Solent area. A couple of her earlier novels had won awards which is why I picked this one up, maybe I should have read one of those because I can't see it here.

DI Andy Horton has every police procedural cliche that I can think of: a superior who hates him and wants to undermine him while claiming credit for his successes. The superior is a totally unsympathetic female character. He also so has an unfaithful almost ex-wife with a wealthy father and who tries to keep him away from their eight year old daughter because Horton was falsely accused of rape in some previous book. The almost ex-wife's lover is fat and pusillanimous. He wears leathers and rides a Harley. His mother left him as a child and he was reared by mainly abusive foster parents. He lives on a yacht moored at a marina. I could list police procedurals where all of these tropes appeared, admittedly not all at once, and where they contributed to a compelling read.

What DI Horton lacks is believability or any reason to want to read about him. I also wonder why all of the women in the book are either dead, disappeared, promiscuous, duped by men, or actively vicious. Any overweight character is depicted as criminal or immoral. Some authors are able to bring even minor, unattractive characters to life with a few lines, but Rowson is not one of them-- at least not in this book.

There is also one of my least favorite denouements where the villain explains in detail what was done to outwit the police and why it was done.

Read by Gordon Griffith not one of my favorite narrators but not actively annoying here. On my iphone Audible app I could put the speed on 1.25X which helped some.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Never less than entertaining, sometimes a little overcomplicated. It helps to know the previous books in the series for many actions of Inspector Andy Horton are heavily influenced by his past. The plots are somehow schematic and Horton's behaviour often predictible (he is a lone wolf with personal and professional problems, many of which are caused by his rather sociopathic and self-destructing nature), yet Ms. Rowson can certainly create tension and suspense. Everyone enjoying the work of Ian Rankin, Henning Mankell or Jo Nesbo will definitely like this one (and the other books of the series). A bit of dry cynical humour, a lot of police work that can hardly be called standard. I am already looking forward to the next book titled A Killing Coast.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Another great story with Andy Horton.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
It was an interesting read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Another great book by an author new to me. I am hoping to read more to be able to give an adequate review of this author. This book however was great.
Comment 0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse